Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Def Leppard All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on February 22, 2006
I ordered this camera after doing a lot of research both online and visiting local stores. I couldn't be happier with my choice. The Z740 camera works great and is very simple to operate, I was able to start taking great pictures immediately.

This is my second digital camera and I'm impressed with the improvements in technology over my old DC4800, particularly the speed of snapping a picture...not missing those "Kodak Moments" anymore! The Zoom is awesome! You need to be very steady or maybe use a tripod to avoid blurry shots...practice. The flash is great, doesn't wash out the subject. For me, this is a perfect fit! The free SD card saved me some $$ as well.

I bought the Kodak battery charger travel kit at my local Target store, the camera fits well in the small bag and the rechargeable batteries are a must.

I recently took this camera with me to NYC and had a blast taking a wide variety of pictures indoors, outdoors, daylight, dark, people (co-workers..moohahaha) and cityscapes. Picture quality is beyond my expectations and most were taken in auto mode, I can't wait to explore more of the features.

I have to agree with one of the "downsides" posted here, the lens cap does come off way too easily, which puts you at risk for scratching the lens, be sure to get a filter to protect it.

Overall, a great camera for a good price!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 28, 2010
I have had this camera for over 4 years and it has been nothing short of amazing!!! It has been droped, kicked, doused in water, had juice spilled on it and yet, much like a timex watch,it takes a licking and keeps on ticking! I am disapointed that Kodak does not seem to make a SLR Camera if they did I would invest in one! Kodak made amazing filmm so it stands to reason they make amazing cameras. I bought a fujifilm 12.2 MP to replace my Kodak, as I THOGUHT I LOST IT! I was so disapointed in the fujifilm brand I am spoiled with my Kodak. Mega pixil does not equal better, let me tell ya! I then found my Kodak and I am returning the FUjifilm and never looking back. If my Kodak ever does finally crap out on me, I will just buy another Kodak easy share z740, if they are not longer found I will up grade to its newer version.
UPDATE: I bought this camera in April of 2006. It has been amazing, as i wrote. I ordered a Nikon D5000 as an intorduction to SLR cameras,I am ready to upgrade. I will continue to take pics with my Kodac easy share Z740. My son, who is 10 loves using it and takes great pics with it, he is takign a photo class throguh his school. So, again, this camera may even out do the Nikon... stay tuned.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon October 31, 2005
I bought the Kodak z740 primarily for the high resolution and the 10x zoom, both of which are worth every penny. Once I got the camera, I discovered that it has far more to offer. It is surprisingly compact and lightweight. I found it easy to learn and operate, plus it has all the different shooting modes.
Here's what I love about it:
1)You can figure out how to use it with very little trouble. (But read the manual, to get some helpful tips.)
2)All the different shooting modes allow you to get shots you might otherwise miss.
3)The burst mode, for action shots is awesome. I was able to get sharply focused shots of ducks flapping their wings.
4)The camera has good ergonomic design; the grip is comfortable and the buttons can be worked with ease.
5)It is designed to accept accessories, such as filters and a wide angle lens.

A couple of hints:
1)The flash pops up automatically when the camera is turned on. This is normal. If it bothers you, just hold your finger over it, when you power up.
2)The wide angle lens gets in the way of the flash, so wide-angle shots may come out too dark. If you switch the camera to night mode, it should solve this problem.
3)Kodak sells accessories for the camera, but they are pricey. Look on line for other companies that sell compatible accessories for less.
4)It's a great camera. Have fun with it!!!
review imagereview image
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2015
This camera is wonderful! It takes very good quality pictures with little effort. I like all the settings that help you get the type of picture you want based upon either subject or conditions. Also, the seller was top notch. He included a card plus an instruction sheet that named issues to watch for, etc. I recommend both the camera and the seller. I was looking for a camera that I did not have to do numerous manual settings on but could just easily take photos of my fast moving toddler. Sometimes I get a blurred shot (which is going to happen with how fast he is) but this camera is quick enough to still get some surprisingly good quality shots. For the budget minded that don't want to drop serious money on something like a Rebel, I think this is a good option
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 19, 2014
The camera has been great. My pictures remain fantastic. Wish I could post a picture of the quality I am getting with this camera. Be sure that anyone who purchase THIS camera ... The SD Card cannot be bigger than a 2gig. Never needing anything bigger with my old camera figured I would upgrade. It is NOT the right thing to do as the camera WILL NOT work on anything bigger than that 2gig. I didn't do my homework and almost sent the camera back. I am soo thankful I didn't and this seller was so great about it all. Fantastic person to deal with here and easy going to boot. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 17, 2005
I took time to review many different models. I and my family are average users, looking for the best price versus features versus ease of use. After reading the rave reviews of the Z740 I decided to purchase it. Amazon had the best price hands down--about $30 less than anyone else. There was no sales tax required with Amazon, and it was delivered inside of 4 days (free shipping).

We have not been disappointed! This camera is very easy to use, and it takes amazing pictures. With 10X optical zoom and 5 megapixels, the clarity and color are superb. TIP#1: Forget digital zoom when you evaluate cameras--digital zoom makes little dots bigger and is fairly useless because the pictures become less crisp when using digital zoom. You want as much optical zoom as you can get. TIP#2: Get extra storage for your pictures. I purchased a 1 GB SD card at Staples (about $65 after rebates and discounts) and can easily store at least 400 high quality pictures.

As a bonus I decided to subscribe to the Kodak Gallery ([...]) to share the pictures we take--a great service and easy to use.

This is a great camera, and Amazon is a great company. A very satisfying online purchase.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 15, 2014
Takes really good pictures ... will function well as long as I follow some pretty strict do's and dont's .. cant use internal memory at all .. will only work with 'sd' card and it has to be 1 mg or under..will not work with any sd that has greater capacity .. now find I could have spent $20 more to get the same camera, without excintricities, brand new (different brand name)...but /...going to try to use it ..again. (had to send it back already to have software re-installed) ...(would welcome the opportunity for return/refund)
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 15, 2013
Although I have not been able to use it very much at this time, I like the pictures that it takes. I needed a camera that would
show better close-up pictures and was easy to use. The camera is fine but the door to the camera card is missing. It does
not cause me any problems so I think it will be okay. I would like to order the USB cable so I can plug it into my computer to
upload my pictures. I am planning to join a camera club and eventually will upgrade to a different camera in the future. I am
pretty new at this so I think this camera will send me in the right direction.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 3, 2014
This camera takes the best shots in the world. However, indoor shots don't work well even with the flash. Taking low light shots indoor or outdoor doesn't work. Shots that have action in them often don't work. It is best for outdoor shots of scenery or people. We have gotten some shots that are just incredible, like sunsets, and water, and people. Only about every other shot turns out. It takes about 8 seconds to turn it on and focus on something, so you can't get any special moments that are time sensitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 29, 2006
I purchased this camera and was going to return it because of it's size (actually purchased a smaller camera with a larger LCD and returned it for lack of zoom and the gadgets). I love the zoom and the LCD is clear. My one disappointment is that the optical viewfinder is not very clear at all - gives a distorted view as someone else mentioned. I'm still on the original battery pack it came with after about 150 pictures. The software is very easy to use. I am a beginner with a digital and really enjoyed using all the different modes during a family trip to Disney. I printed pictures by downloading them to my computer and uploading them to a local drug store. I really obsessed over the purchase of this camera and after using it on our trip, I am very happy with my purchase. The camera is great for beginners, easy to use. great color, etc. The 4 stars is for the optical viewfinder.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse