Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno

Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ Telescope
Style: 80MM EQ Refractor|Change
Price:$125.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 6, 2014
This is a review specifically for the Celestron PS 114mm EQ.

I got this as a gift from my daughter. After using it a few nights, I did check the mirror collimation with the $28 Celestron 1.25" collimation eyepiece (which I already had). The mirror alignment was very very close, so it needed only minimal adjustment which had no observable effects.

On the third night I was able to see the moon (again) and the Orion nebula at various magnification (20mm eyepiece with and without Barlow). I was also able to see - with a Celestron Ploessel 9mm eyepiece - Jupiter and it four moons, the two main cloud stripes on Jupiter itself, and maybe some weaker ones. And the shadow of one moon on Jupiter itself, a tiny black dot near one of the poles.

I do like the lightweight aluminum mount as well, it is solid if the legs are not completely extended, and it is light enough to carry around without getting a hernia. The finder scope works well for me, just in case I re-align it every time I take the telescope out.

This telescope is very sharp, and a very good value right out of the box. And easy to focus. Five stars!!

EDIT: Recently (February) I did buy and install the Celestron motor drive ($33 on Amazon) and it works perfectly. Once the motor drive speed is adjusted properly with the small knob (which is fairly easy to do), it keeps say Jupiter centered for close to an hour with a 7mm eyepiece. Note that the drive speed only needs to be set once, for a given latitude.

Note that the Celestron 127EQ and 114EQ are quite similar in design and price, nevertheless this one has a much longer tube and does not have a correcting eyepiece in the focus tube, which seems to make it significantly sharper, or at least much easier to collimate.

Recently (April) I got an inexpensive laser collimator (lk1 from seben dot com, identical to the orion lasermate) and tried it on this scope, even though it did not seem to need it. The whole job is very easy, takes less than 5-10 mins if you know what to do (there is no focuser lens in the focusing tube, this is NOT a Bird-Jones design!). The adjustments were minimal and there was no noticeable change in sharpness, as I said above mine was flawless out of the box. Look in the picture section to see my recent picture of Jupiter.

Best additions to this telescope are imo the $30 Celestron motor drive (I love it!), a better quality achromatic $40 Celestron 2x Omni Barlow, and a 9mm Celestron Omni eyepiece($20 ; the telescope seems capable of a lot more than what the rather basic included eyepieces suggest). You will then be in telescope heaven, for very little money.

I have also found that this scope is quite well suited to astrophotography of the planets, in my case in combination with the very reliable Celestron clock drive (have not changed a battery yet on that on in three months of use) and an inexpensive webcam (a logitech C310 in my case).

PS. Added pictures of Jupiter and the Moon (April 2014). Added more pictures of Jupiter and Mars, on the latter I can clearly see one of the polar ice caps (April 2014). Took a nice picture of the Cassini division on Saturn (May 2014). Added another excellent picture I got of Jupiter on a very clear day (March 2015), you can clearly see multiple rings as well as details of the main ring clouds.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
66 comments| 227 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 4, 2013
This is a perfect scope for the price range! The whole assembly is moderately heavy. The tripod legs are not very rigid but if you tighten the top screws it will help alot. My first order had to be replaced due to several metal shavings on the back side of the objective lens. I was impressed at first untill i saw the shavings, but i must say my replacement has cured the negativity i had towards the product. The eq mount is solid and tracks very good at 180x magnification. The replacement came quickly and seems to not have any major issues. Rest assured Amazon Customer service has you covered if you have problems. Other than the metal shavings causing distortion in my original order; the replacement seems to be great. Do yourself a favor if you order this and purchase the astromaster accessory kit. The astromaster kit works with this scope and is well worth $50. I also suggest getting a sighting compass (brunton9077) it will really help with polar alignment. This product is capable of showing jupiter quite well and several nebula. Although nothing like the photos most of us see on tv you will still be stunned by the beauty it can reveal. I would not recommend this for anyone under 13 years old. Don't be shy about an eq mounted telesope, the standard manual has enough info to get you accustomed to it. You also get wonderful software with this and it very well could replace the need of buying star charts. The included eye pieces and accessories are of medium low quality but are fine for planet viewing. The 4mm alone is more than enough for this scope @ 225x it will give good veiws of planet and nebulas. Also the astromaster kit comes with color filters that really help contrast the cloud bands of jupiter and the outer rings of saturn. This product would make a teen or adult an awsome holiday present.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 21, 2013
If anyone out there ever wanted to try out amateur astronomy but didn't know what telescope to buy or if you're an amateur looking for a lightweight smaller scope without compromising quality of views too significantly.

Let me say from the start that I'm a refractor man and proud of it! I've always found chromatic aberration a minimal disturbance compared to the sharpness of resulting image due to a clean unobstructed tube of light. (and, yes, I know about and use off-axis aperture stops on my reflectors when higher magnification, but they are only practical with 8" mirrors or larger.) Refractors are virtually maintenance-free and, except for rare occasions, the tube remains completely sealed (i.e. nothing can fall in). I still have two old 8" and 13" Coulter Odysseys that I take out occasionally, but I've always found them awkward to use and move around and the views not all that satisfying despite their greater light gathering power (a slightly overrated attribute).

I have two large refractors (a 6" Celestron and a 4" Tal) that I use and love, but they weight a ton and hard difficult to haul around. The Celestron takes at least 15 minutes or more (depending where you are) to set up properly. For several years, I've been looking for an inexpensive, lightweight scope with good optics I could keep fully loaded and assembled that I could quickly and easily take outside and start viewing.

Several years ago I picked up a 90mm Meade refractor which was so overall terrible I didn't think the scope I wanted even existed. In November, I came across the Celestron 70 AZ Powerseeker for a super low price and sent to a young but sharp cousin of mine. I got such a favorable report, I decided to gamble on one for myself. I was so pleased with the quality of this scope, I decided to go one further and try this 80mm equatorially mounted version for only about twice the price.

I can wholeheartedly recommend this scope without the slightest hesitation or reservation. You can find it on many online sources for only around $100 and $20 shipping...an unbelievable low price and easily the best telescope deal I've seen in my over fifty year "career" as an amateur astronomer. The cost scope is actually less than the fifty year old price of a nearly equivalent (though inferior in EVERY respect from lens to mount to eyepieces) scope the Edmund Scientific Company sold back in the the 1950's and 60's. The Edmund 3" refractor was considered by most to be the best for the money back then.) This Powerseeker has 3.15" high quality objective lens, comes with eyepieces that are actually usable, as well as a sturdy tripod (providing you don't extend the legs more than half way) AND an equatorial mount which is the preferred mount for astronomical use. Once you get used to it, you'll be hooked. Besides, if you rotate the polar axis all the way back until the back end rests on the adjustment screw, it becomes a first rate alt-azimuth scope, perfect for terrestrial applications. So a German equatorial mount is actually both mounts in one.

I would belabor the point but the optics are unexpectedly good. Even deep space objects come through with unexpected clarity and detail, (I've long felt that the supposed "great" advantage of reflectors over refractors with respect to viewing deep space objects has been greatly overrated), stars focus to near pinpoints, the mountains, craters and other features of our moon come through with striking detail. Saturn's rings are clearly visible and resolve nicely even at low power, Jupiter's bands are clearly delineated, (the famous Red Spot is hard to spot these days as it is more orange than red and doesn't stand out as it did years ago), the greenish tinge of the Orion nebula is visible even when viewed only three miles west of downtown Miami, the tightly knit four-star trapezium in Nebula are beautifully resolved.

For those of you that may be scared of an equatorial mount, don't be. Positions of celestial objects are located using the same latitude and longitude system on earth. Imagine a hollow earth with a bright light at the center projecting the latitude and longitude grid onto the celestial sphere. The only difference is that they use the old nautical terms: declination for latitude and right ascension for longitude. Point the tube and mount to geographic north, set the polar axis to your latitude then rotate the tube around the declination axis and right ascension axes to locate your object. You lock the declination (latitude) axis and then you just have to rotate the R. A. axis to track the object.

I'll only be separated from this scope when they pry it from my cold, dead hands! I've been using it almost nightly since I got it. Fortunately, I live in Miami where the skies are clear most nights throughout the year and we have a nice stable turbulent-free atmosphere. On most nights stars twinkle so little, they look more like planets.

Though it's possible, I would not ever attempt astrophotography with this or any scope. I agree with John Dobson that amateur astrophotography is not a hobby but a disease! For a tiny fraction of the cost of the necessary equipment, you can buy books of Hubble photos of nearly anything in the universe whose quality will so far surpass any photo an amateur could possibly achieve through our atmosphere ridden planet as to make the effort seem a complete and useless waste of time, energy, resources and certainly money.

In closing, you cannot go wrong with this amazing little telescope, the views of everything are great and it's just so damn easy to haul around and set up. If you support it under the polar axis, it can be lifted with one hand EASILY.
1414 comments| 259 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2018
I could not say enough good things about this telescope. Because of the price, I was expecting something cheaply made and flimsy and delicate to where I would have to be really careful with it. NOPE! This thing is definitely worth the price. On the first night, I took it out to look at the moon just to test it out. This shows great detail and it was easy to operate and use the finder to locate the moon without having to more the stand or telescope itself.
As other users pointed out, the stand is kinda flimsy if you extend all the way out. The way I see it though, the quality of the telescope outweighs the quality of the stand. For the price this is a great deal. My friend who has a telescope for which he paid 10 dollars less than this one was convinced to get rid of the other one and get this one. And a couple of other friends are getting it as well. I totally recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2017
The 70EQ is seriously cool. Tripod fully extended this telescope has a confident pose. Looks way more expensive than what may be reasonably expected commensurate with the price point. The German equatorial mount is itself a conversation piece. The paint on the telescope optical tube is a quality metallic black. I was able to clearly see far off points in detail - no filter, no special lenses. I just ordered a smartphone attachment for photographs and will order a premium set of lenses. With this telescope, I can photograph the moon and use it to search slopes of the front range for Big Horn Sheep.
Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2016
I received my order a few days ago and I am definitely impressed with the overall quality of this item. So far I have used it to observe the moon and I have to say the images are just beautiful. This telescope offers a great combination of price, quality and portability. Some reviewers have taken issue with the finderscope. Granted, it is plastic and not expensively made, but it is only used to point the telescope at whatever you want to look at. In my opinion it performs this function quite well. For the price this item sells for, you have to expect some cost cutting where possible. It does take a little time to become familiar with the equatorial mount. Patience is the keyword here and the internet has tons of good information to help the novice. I would recommend this telescope.

2 weeks later: finally got a clear night and decided to see if I could find Jupiter. I first did a rough polar alignment, then swung around to the south and located Jupiter. I had to loosen the tube mounts and rotate the tube around some so the eyepiece would be in a comfortable position. After a little maneuvering I had no trouble picking up Jupiter with the 20mm eyepiece. It was easy to see the two major cloudbands on the planet and the 4 largest moons. It was also easy to track the target with the slow motion controls even though my polar alignment was less than perfect. I then tried the 3X Barlow lens with mixed results. The image was larger but did not seem to be quite as clear. Be that as it may, I am satisfied with this equipment so far. Next time out I hope to observe a deep space object or two and will report the results.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2017
Scope is good. Sharp, and long for this price range - got it for my kindergartner for christmas and she will get a lot of love out of it once it warms up here. (We took it for a test run after dinner on xmas day, but it was VERY cold and we didn't last long)

The deducted star is for the *awful* instructions (I gave up and relied on pictures of the assembled mount on the internet for what goes where. The instruction manual photos are a dark blurry mess) , and the terrible tripod legs included. If you don't have a good tripod, plan on investing because you will get frustrated - the slightest movement (like focusing) makes the whole thing wobble like jello and takes forever to settle down. I threw the mount on my CF photo legs and it's a night and day difference.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2017
This is a great little telescope, the tripod is flimsy though for the weight of the tube however. The legs should be for the shorter optical tube or the mount should be transferred to a pier to give less vibration. The optics are also very basic but work. I still have the tube and transferred it to a "GOTO" and eventually it will be on a pier. The mount and tripod were transferred to a shorter optical tube and donated for outreach programs. Overall this worked out perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2017
This is very impressive for the price. I struggled to buy a scope where I could see pretty good without spending a fortune. Im happy with the quality of the optics and the stand is rick solid. Way better then the sinilar priced crap at toys stores. The 3x barlow is however useless!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2015
When I received the telescope, the main tube had a huge bend in it. I had to disassemble the main mirror from the back of the telescope to pop out the dent, not realizing that I messed up the alignment of the main mirror when putting it back together. Should have sent it back for a replacement. I was still able to use it afterwards but unfortunately I believe the defects caused it to lose a lot of its star-gazing potential.

I don't blame Amazon or the packaging the telescope came with, but I should have returned it when I found out it was damaged.

Besides that, decent telescope for the price. I was still able to see Saturn and its rings after lots of work getting it back to original condition.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 191 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here