Beauty Summer Reading Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Electronics Gift Guide Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on November 25, 2016
Don't know why, perhaps due to rising demand and production bandwidth, but be forewarned quality control is an issue. Assembly is easy enough, though have gap where back separator does not fit snugly after tightening nuts as firm as they will go (see pic). No water level sticker on tank received, so had to measure water manually according to calculations (4 gallons). Siphon was not air tight (even though release valve closed firmly), so had to manually pump instead of siphon. S4 monitor only flashes, not working as of yet and now have to take a apart top of unit to figure out why, currently not resolved after verifying connections and looking at simple solutions on website.

Unit itself does seem sturdy and smooth. Will see how it holds up, plan to use frequently once kinks worked out. Just one minor thing after another with getting started. Might want to anticipate exercise in patience rather than immediate physical exercise upon receipt.
review imagereview imagereview image
55 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on April 26, 2017
An excellent product. Smooth, great workout. I even like the sound.

The reason I'm writing now, two years after purchase, is, I broke one of the wheels. I proceeded to order the wrong replacement, so I emailed them pictures to ask for the right parts. They wrote back asking for the serial number to get the right unit AND to see if it was under warranty. (Hadn't even occurred to me.) Turns out it was, they're sending me the wheels, they're refunding me for the wrong part, AND included a link for the Puri-Tabs which I didn't know they provide for the life of the ROWER! They're also replacing all eight wheels even though there's only one broken one.

The question I ask myself before rating anybody on anything....how could it have been better? There's always something, so I never give highest rating. In this case, it couldn't have been better. Five Stars. Easy call.
review image
20 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 28, 2016
I was introduced to this rower when I joined Orange Theory Fitness four months ago. Since I started using the rower during my OTF sessions I have grown to love the overall workout this thing gives me. In fact, I loved it so much that I purchased the Waterrower Club for my home gym. The overall quality and construction is superb and I'm very satisfied with my purchase. I would highly recommend over any other home gym equipment available. One of the best features is how its so easy to stand up and move out of the way for storage. You can't do that with any treadmill or elliptical. This thing is amazing and worth every penny. Assembly was straightforward and took about 30-45 minutes. Solid, quality construction.
review imagereview image
29 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 8, 2016
No way! I have used a few rowing machines and was unsure about purchasing the fan - based units. I had never tried or even heard of the water based rowers. After reading the reviews of several top name brands, I decided on this one.

Great decision! I can get a killer 20 mins full body, aerobic workout and even with bad knees!

Is quieter, another, and delivers more skulling-like resistance than the fan machines. Probably the best big purchase I've ever made!

From CA to Utah, the thing arrived in about 3 days! The company that sold it, iFitness is very responsive. Thank you!
20 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 28, 2015
There are plenty of detailed reviews that cover all the main features so I'll just include the items that matters to me:
Shipping was super fast. It arrived 3 days after I placed the order.
Assembly was a breeze. Took about an hour (was in no rush; probably could have done it faster)
It is SO quiet! I was afraid it would disrupt my neighbors (apt building) since I like to work out in the early AM but there's only the whooshing sound of water. Love it!
Love that it stands up like a grandfather clock when not in use. Perfect for a small condo!
I haven't done much with the gauge except track time and distance but it looks like there are workouts and other metrics to track.
The enclosed dvd is helpful to figure out correct stroke mechanics but I haven't looked at it since day 1.
Compared to a treadmill or elliptical It's not as hard of an aerobic workout as I expected unless I really work it. In other words its difficult to do a "medium" workout. Instead I balance easy and then hard strokes. Not the fault of the rower; just a fact with rowing I guess.
Careful working your way up to long durations. The first week I was hobbling around like a 90-year old since I was using a bunch of muscles that had been ignored up until now!
Overall a great product. Well constructed, appealing to look at and a solid workout companion. No regrets at all!
37 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on August 26, 2015
We debated a long while before purchasing this. We first saw it on House of Cards (the American Version) on Netflix. We have a weight bench and free weights and a treadmill upstairs that are rarely used (hope to start using more). My wife and I realized we needed something on the main floor of the house that would be used and would be easy to use and to get us back into exercise. The WaterRower is outstanding in that capacity.
The design and overall look are amazing. Beautiful piece of furniture that is easy to store in a corner if visitors are coming over. Otherwise we leave it in front of our television.

We also purchased a mat to place the WaterRower upon:Supermats Solid P.V.C. Mat for Rowing Machines (3-Feet x 8.5-Feet)
I also wanted a machine that we could use into our older years and rowing seems the perfect exercise for that (low impact on joints compared to running, etc). As someone who has not exercised in some while, I find the workout very strenuous. As mentioned, however, getting your form correct is key. I spent weeks only rowing for 5 or 10 minutes, slowly, to get the technique down. Helps if you have someone who can view your form and technique as well. WaterRower provides a DVD that shows correct form and practice. There are also numerous videos on their website that give excellent information about proper rowing technique (and demonstrate how NOT to row).
Once you have the proper technique mastered, the exercise is quite arduous. The great thing is you can vary the resistance yourself by speeding up or slowing down your strokes and power you exert. Great workout for most all your major muscles. In particular my quads and abdominal muscles (weak core over the years) have been stressed. My lower back initially was a little stiff but that improved in just a week or so with exercise.
Having it at home makes it easy to use and do. We did purchase a mat to place the WaterRower upon.
Have only been using it about 8 weeks but am looking forward to years and years of use.

Assembly is pretty easy with two people. All makes sense and slips together well. Does take some time however. Filling the water chamber is not too difficult with the included siphon. You also will get a 'lifetime' of chlorine tablets from WaterRower. Register your product.
$1200 is a lot of money but if you compare to gym memberships and the ability to avoid driving to a gym over years, it is money well spent. Also, we leave it where I will feel guilty if I do not utilize it. It is much harder to hang clothing on this compared to a treadmill!
Look forward to years of use of the WaterRower. Next I need to put in my BluRay copy of Ben Hur and go to the sea battle...'Ramming Speed'!
17 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on October 31, 2015
Edwina Gail Lenz: Seriously, the reviews of realistic rowing on this machine were true (IMO). It took me about an hour to assemble because I contracted a certain little Boston Terrier to assist me with the install (darn contractors). Then spent 7 or 8 minutes just rowing, checking my form etc - and just to see how it felt - I was very surprised when I stopped that I had worked up a sweat and could tell instantly that this is going to be great for me and my training. Additional benefits for me is the fact that the rocking motion from rowing is naturally soothing to the human mind - actual scientific studies show that rocking and moving the body in a steady state is proven to calm and sooth the mind. Also, this machine has no chains or metal parts clanking or banging - it's smooth as butter and the only sound you hear is the water rushing round the circular bin. It really does feel like you are pushing the water because, duh, you ARE pushing the water. I absolutely love this and plan on using it daily. It works 80% of the body - upper and lower - big and small muscle groups. It rocks! (pardon the pun) LOL
36 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 17, 2017
Rowing is one of the best total body workouts that you can ask for, so I saved up for a while to be able to get this machine. I am thrilled with it because it went above and beyond all of my expectations. First off, it is pleasing to the senses, from its appearance to the sound of the water in the tank as I'm using it. I can close my eyes and fool myself into actually being on a lake or river in a boat.

What I found really useful is that you can adjust the intensity easily through water resistance alone and seamlessly change from full body to isolation just by using upper body or lower body alone or switching your grip on the handle. In a 30 minute workout, I was able to switch through bicep curl, lats, quads and glutes and full body such that I felt as if every area of my body got attention.

This is an expensive piece of equipment, so you really need to be committed to using it to enjoy it. I think it will be a tremendous aide to helping me train and to keep me able to take part in my other physical activities.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 10, 2017
What an amazing machine! The thing that amazed me the most was how well built this thing is. It is a tank!! It is heavy, however, the quality of the materials is incredible. I've used it several times already, and I can tell you it is an amazing work out. It was easy to put together, however, I would recommend using a 3/8 inch ratchet with a 5mm hex bit if you have one. If you don't have one, go get one. My hands and fingers would have been busted up if I would have used the supplied hex wrenches. Overall it is an awesome work out machine! I highly recommend this to anyone looking to get into shape...or keep yourself in shape!
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on June 24, 2017
Great product. I needed a new form of cardio because I had injured my ankle from all the running i do.
This was a great substitute. I was worried it would be too complicated and either I would end up quitting on it or else I would do the exercise wrong and get some stress injury.
Neither concern was justified but I do recommend watching the packaged video if you haven't rowed before. There are a few delicate points to the rowing movement that are worth being aware of.
After a few weeks of this I went back to running a few days a week and didn't miss a beat. Now I cross train and run some days while I row the rest.
My back has been a lot stronger since I've started using this (about a month). My pull-up max has bee increased by 5 in that time.
review image
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse