Lyft Vehicles Review HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno



on September 6, 2012
I've had to use a shower chair for a few years now, thanks to MS and nerve damage to one leg. Until now, I've used a basic shower chair from a drugstore, typical of many around. The problem is that, the aluminum legs looked cloudy and kind of icky after a while, thanks to soap scum (yes, I clean it), and the chair itself has felt less than stable as I move around to wash and groom. I finally decided to get a proper chair that felt and looked better.

This chair is great! I love how stable it feels, I love the adjustable height, I love that the legs are washable as easily as the seat.

As for the size of the seat, my tub is on the smaller side of average, and it fits just fine. I've added a picture, so people can see what it looks like in a real tub.

2017 update: it's almost five years old now, no complaints at all. Still give it five stars!
review image
0Comment| 223 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2016
I had a shower chair for years in my tub, but when my husband became ill and had to use the same tub, he said he needed a new chair, that the one we had wasn't safe. I wasn't happy that he let me use it while feeling that way, but I get to use it too, so all is good.. This chair has his Engineer's approval and I must admit it does fit much better and feels very sturdy. It has never slipped or tilted or did anything but support us safely. He and I are very happy with it.
review image
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2015
This is a fantastic chair. I am a large woman, 300 lbs. I feel very secure sitting on this chair. It is comfortable and was very easy to assemble. We have a small tub in our mobile home. The chair fits perfectly in it.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 22, 2016
My third shower/bath seat, all were different brands and manufacturing companies, was getting so scary, I was deathly afraid to use it. I should have taken pictures of it to show you how bad it was. The legs, all four bent to the right so when I sat on it , I had to push on the shower wall to keep from falling. But enough of that seat. It was trashed just like all the others and on to a marvelous wonder. It sounds weird to say that about a shower seat, but if you've ever needed one, you'll know what I'm talking about. When I looked at the picture of this white plastic seat, I quickly scrolled past it. A plastic seat? What a laugh. Who would make such a seat? Who would ever buy such a seat? Anyway, after looking at over a hundred, I looked at the white plastic one again, but with more interest. It got good reviews! It was recommended for those of us who have had Bariatric surgery. So I ordered one. I was full of doubt, it looked really small and it was plastic. I am here to tell you I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! It is more than wide enough for my big bottom. It was easily adjusted to my height. It has funny looking legs with slightly pointy "rubber feet", but do they ever stick to the floor of my shower!! And, finally, it is sturdy. How sturdy is it, you may ask? Well, sturdy enough for my 260lb body (well I'm down to 225 now) and not give when I sit or move an inch while I shower!! Please, do not hesitate to purchase this seat. It will be the absolute last one you will buy!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2016
This bath bench is by far the best. It is super sturdy thanks to its round ball shaped feet that not only keep the bench from moving but also in adapting to different sized tubs like in my case. I love that it's made of all plastic so there has not been any rusting like in my previous bench. It also is extremely comfortable to sit it providing a lot of room and side handles to easily move the bench around. I highly recommend this product especially to those in need of an everyday super sturdy and reliable bench like for pregnant, injured or elderly people.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 25, 2016
This is the best shower/bath bench I've found. The ones with the aluminum legs aren't as sturdy as this one. I can't stand to take a shower and this is the best bench I've found to sit on while bathing. It's fits in the tub perfectly and is very strong (I'm plus size).

If you have one of the new skinny plastic tubs you better check the measurements to make sure this will fit.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2011
Fantastic, fantastic shower stool. A worthwhile upgrade from the traditional metal leg/plastic seat shower stools I've seen over the years. This bench is enormously sturdy which is my favorite feature. I broke my leg several years ago and needed a stool for long-term use in the shower. This Carex Bench never so much as shakes an inch. It has a heavy, solid feel, without being ridiculously heavy. Plus, the cutout sides make it easy to lift for cleaning. It's been mold resistant, was a snap to setup, and even has adjustable rubber tipped legs to provide extra non-slick stability. I can't recommend it enough. The only drawback is the not-so fashionable style, but it's better then the "medical supply" feel of the older model shower stools, and quite frankly it's so comfortable I just don't care. The extra wide base does take up more room in the shower - but I liked that it's not at all cramped. This could definitely accommodate a big/tall user with ease. Also, the cutouts that allow for water run off of perfectly sized - they don't dig into your skin or leave marks - which has happened to me with other shower stools. Great buy!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2018
As an occupational therapist, I've been recommending this bench to patients since it came out maybe 15 years ago (was previously made by Rubbermaid), and have said many times that, if I needed a shower chair, this is the one I would select. Unfortunately, I had the chance to put my money where my mouth is a couple of months ago when I broke my ankle and was not allowed weight bearing for 6 weeks. I did buy this seat and it's perfect for my needs. Here are a couple of reasons why I recommend it to my patients (and also my mother, who loves hers): plastic seat/metal leg benches get wobbly and need to be tightened up periodically, which many people neglect to do. Also, the seats on those models often curve upward on the sides, so if you sit toward the edge they can tip. The metal-leg variety are also often wider at the base (the legs flare outward) so don't fit in narrower tubs. As the photo shows, this model has a wide, flat seat and legs that go straight down, so it fits in most tubs and showers. It's extremely stable. I didn't need a back, but if you do be aware that you need to look for that model. I'm dinging Carex one star because of a design problem that they should have fixed a long time ago: the chair height is adjusted by unscrewing the foot section the needed amount on each leg, which in itself is great because it gives the user infinite height options. However, as you may read in many other reviews, the legs arrive with the foot portion screwed all the way in and it can be difficult to unscrew them. I had to use a wrench on 3 of the 4 feet to get them started. That is my only complaint and I still highly recommend this bench.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2018
I am very grateful for this chair. After suffering a 3 blood clots in my leg (deep vein thrombosis), I had great difficulty standing and was in a wheel chair for a few months and could only use one leg to stand up for showers. It was easy to put together. it is on good weight and wide. It fits wide hips comfortably (wider than most chairs online and in stores). It was cheaper than what i found in stores but not in quality. it has 2 handles on each side and a holder for a handheld shower head. This one does not come with a back but it look like it has a compartment for it. The feet do not slip and is not too rubbery to cause damage to your tub/shower or skid marks. You can screw the feet to be higher or lower. If you shower or tub is unleveled, you can adjust the feet individually to so that you can accommodate the unlevel floor. I was about to put this into a step in shower and tub. The surface is very easy to clean. You can clean it with baking so, household cleaner. I've had it for a year and it has not gotten moldy on me and mildew is not a big issue or even much of an issue with this chair. Again I'm very thankful for this chair as this has been one of the most helpful things during my recovery. Thank you Carex!!!!!!!! <3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2016
I'm on my fourth one of these - my wife is kind of a germophile so she's always bothered by things that get wet in the bathroom...
Honestly, I believe I could still be using the first one I bought, they are incredibly sturdy.

This was the second bath seat I tried. The first had aluminum legs. It was always kind of "wiggly". One day as I sat down one go the legs split and collapsed, very scary!

I have never had the slightest problem with this one. It's sturdy, easy to assemble & adjust & clean.
If you need a shower seat, buy this one!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse