Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 172 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 305 reviews
on June 28, 2016
I've been hooked on Sonicare tooth rush once I tried it. Love that it has a self timer so you know when to move from front to back, side to side. Learned to dry it off after every use when after a few months I noticed some discoloration under detachable brush head. Not sure if it was mold but was difficult to clean the inside. I do like this toothbrush and recently got the newer model and they solved the cleaning issue by making the way the brushhead attaches not have s bunch of open space when bacteria and mold can grow. I give the newer version 4 stars, very haiku with it. My teeth feel clean and smooth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
I've been using this toothbrush for close to 8 years now. It's a little pricy, but it's Best investment I've ever made. My teeth really are noticeably cleaner, and this isn't according to me, my dentist and his hygienist make these comments.

I initially bought this toothbrush per dentist recommendation, due to the numerous cavities that I had.. I am pleased that since 2009, I've only had 1 cavity! Part of the improvement is owed to this toothbrush.

I change my brush heads ever 3 months. Toothbrush works good as new, even all these years later. I highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2008
I ordered my Sonicare 3 months ago. I believed the first unit to be defective because the toothbrush head would not screw on flush with the base. Ultimately, this would cause a lot of bacteria to build up so I sent for a replacement. Amazon was great about sending a new one right out and I received it within a couple days. Unfortunately, the new one had the same problem, but not as bad, so I went and ordered the Sonic Seal. Check it out if you are thinking about getting this brush! If it weren't for this miracle little seal I definitely would have returned the brush because the gunk that builds up in the crevices is so disgusting. The last thing I want to add to my To Do list is 'clean toothbrush' !!!
I don't understand how Philips can justify selling such a cheaply manufactured brush at this high of a cost.

Well, it's 3 months later and I am happy to report that my teeth and gums are healthier than they have ever been. My teeth are much brighter and my gums don't bleed anymore. I don't floss less, but I'm noticing that when I floss, there is less to floss after brushing. I brush 2-3 times a day and have only charged my brush 3 times in the past 3 months. Even better, the brush itself is still in good shape. I think some reviewer's brushes get worn out so quickly because they are brushing their teeth too hard. You aren't supposed to use the Sonicare like a standard toothbrush because it will lead to the degeneration of your gums! Even though I feel like I shouldn't support Philips for misleading their customers, the Sonicare, for now, has held up to it's end of the bargain. I only hope that it will last more than 2 years. Oh, and make sure to fully drain the battery and then charge it back to 100% for optimal battery life.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2008
I picked out this brush by going to amazon and finding the best reviewed toothbrush, which was this one, so there are already a ton of great reviews explaining how good this thing is, but it was so good I had to add my own as well.

I really like Philips gear, i think they have great quality (already have and love one of their waterproof electric razors) and this is no exception. The whole toothbrush unit is sealed totally, not even any metal contacts (the charging base is similarly featureless, the charging takes place by induction). The heads are very solid and simple, and they have a big powerful magnet projecting out the base, so it's easy to store all your spare heads by sticking them on the side of the bathroom cabinet. The head of the brush is also really small, so it's VERY easy to reach around your mouth and polish every single surface in their, which was never possible for me with a manual toothbrush head. And it all feels very tough, the carrying case that comes with it (room enough for a disassembled body and one head) is also really nice, simple and tough.

Using it is easy enough, although it did take a few days to get used to the way it works (like never scrubbing, just slowly polishing the teeth with the head, and never taking it out without turning it off first to avoid toothpaste spray going everywhere). The 'quadpacer' thing is annoying at first but now I like it, it's easy to move over every tooth in a corner of your mouth and at the little pause move on to the next without thinking.

It did work as advertised with stains, I had some coffee stains on my lower front teeth, and within two weeks they were almost entirely gone, in fact all my front teeth are much white now. And another advantage is that you really do have that 'straight from the dentist' clean feeling. Sometimes i'll catch myself running my tongue over my teeth just enjoying the smoothness. It's a massive difference compared to manual brushes.

The single thing I don't like about this brush is that the charger is not 110/240 like most chargers are, so I had to go out and buy a 240 -> 110 voltage convertor to use it here in Europe, but that's not a big deal compared to amount I like this brush.

The battery life is fantastic, I keep it off the charger and use it until it runs down after advice I saw here at amazon. And it has a lovely way of saying it has a low charge, a little burping vibrating beeping spasm after your two minutes are up. Very mac-like too with a little white light in the switch that indicates low power and charging states.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
So I bought this after seeing all the advertisements about how great sonicare is, and don't get me wrong, it is.

But the brush leaves much to be desired for.

The brush head screws into and a rubber pad rest on an area inside the handle that and this is what delivers the vibrations. Yet, in this area water gets trapped and start to allow mold and other things to grow within the area. Take off the brush head and you see black mold inside and all along where the brush screws in. If you are not grossed out by this you should be. It is impossible to clean this area well. I have tried basically everything and still specks of mold remain and it grows back quickly. Not sure how this effects my oral hygiene but I wish I had known beforehand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2009
I first heard about Sonicare tooth brushes from Oprah Winfrey about 15 years ago. It's not that I often watch her show, but one time I did and at that time she wholeheartedly recommended Sonicare. She was absolutely correct!! Now, I wouldn't be without a Sonicare tooth brush even for even one day. These tooth brushes will save you mucho dental bills and will be instrumental in promoting tooth and gum health. Of course you still have to floss!

I have had 3 or 4 of these brushes over the past 15 years or so and not one has stopped working due to mechanical failure. Just like the energizer bunny, these brushes keep on going and going. The only weak point with the tooth brush is that the battery wears out after 5 or 6 years. Sonicare could remedy this by making their brushes with a detachable battery pack so you could easily replace the battery. However, if they did this, it would reduce the number of tooth brush sales they make and and would reduce their coporate profit because the brushes would probably last 15 to 20 years. Planned obsolescence is alive and well in the Good Old U. S. of A.

I have read on other reviews that you can increase battery life by charging the battery fully and then using it (discharging) until battery power is fully depleted. This I have read will eliminate to some extent the "battery memory issue" where batteries do not hold a charge as well or for as long if you do not fully discharge it before recharging.

In 5 to 7 years from now when you need a new Sonicare, make sure you remove the nickel cadmium battery and dispose of it properly. Ni Cads are nasty on the environment and must be properly recycled. There are instructions in the owners manual on how to disassemble the unit for battery removal.

Respect your teeth! Buy a Sonicare tooth brush!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2017
Given as a gift reciaie/t loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2009
I recently recieved this brush through amazon. Wow, what a diffrence i can see already. After waiting the recomended 24 hour charge time i used my brush and it was one of the deepest cleans i have gotten since i went to the dentist.

I am a chewer, and from that i have some stains on my front teeth that i have always hated. After using this tooth brush only three times i see a difference in not only teeth color (much whiter) but also gum health. My gums are becoming healthier with every use.

Some things to be ready for:

1) The brush head is very small for my mouth, it is perfect for someone with small teeth and a small mouth. I wish the brush head was a little bigger.

2) It tickles at first. Very much so. I didnt have any problem with it realy but it did make me laugh a little when i did the back of my front teeth. This tooth brush will progressivly get stronger over 12 uses. I think this feature is nice because if you have never used one before it can be a bit much at first.

3) Make sure you turn it on when its in your mouth and turn it off before you take it out. I had to clean my mirror three times so far because the vibrations sling toothpast every where lol.

All in all this is the first sonic toothbrush i have ever used, but because of the results i have seen so far and the price i am now a sonic user for life.

-Kalvin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2012
I bought this after the dentist recommended this particular brand of toothbrush to my wife. We bought this particular model because it came with a spare head. I was always skeptical of electronic toothbrush condemning them for making humans more lazy. I felt this was for lazy people who do not want to move their hands around while brushing.
The fist time, I even found it uncomfortable to have a vibrating brush in my mouth. Just felt very odd. At times when the non bristle part of the brush touched my teeth I thought my teeth would break with this amount of vibration. But, I learnt to use it properly in a couple of days and I can feel my teeth so much cleaner than ever before.
In the words of the dentist "Each time I use it, my teeth feel as clean as I have gotten it cleaned from a dentist"

If you have never tried out an electronic toothbrush, I encourage you to try it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2009
The best investment I made in my dental care was deciding to purchase this Sonicare toothbrush. It's great for cleaning teeth--I mean my teeth really feel squeaky clean after using it. I do not feel that sticky film on the ridge of my teeth, as I do when using a regular toothrush. Another great feature of the toothbrush is that once powered up, it doesn't need to be recharged for well over a week (I'd think more closely to two weeks). I'm in a job where I'm doing more and more travel, so the convenient travel case that comes with it is heaven sent.

Some of the other reviewers commented that the little pause/beep that the brush gives to indicate that it's time to move on to another quadrant in your mouth can be annoying. I agree; it is a little annoying. I tend to ignore that beep/pause, and continue in my normal brushing routine. To each his or her own.

I've had my toothbrush now for almost 2 years, and I hope it will last for years to come. I recommended the toothbrush for my mom as well, and she loves it too. The toothbrush may be a little costly, but it is well worth the cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse