Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Nina Nesbitt PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 90 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 93 reviews
on March 12, 2017
I give the oil 5 stars. I give the container 3 stars. The oil is top-shelf. The container leaks...the tip cover won't stay on...the tip leaks where it's melded to the plastic. I store the oil with the original cap and red seal, but it still leaks out if I don't store it upright. For $10, I expect a container that's up to the task. I've probably already lost $1 worth of oil. Please, please, please improve the container!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
I have used Hot Sauce for years I picked up the habit in Alaska fishing kings (Chinook) and silvers (Coho), they can really mess with your gear and all the sand and muck, I had to clean my reels a lot and started using this up there instead of the abu oil, I like it bcs it sticks to the metal better (bonds better), and you can see where you oiled. it last longer too. I just bought another bottle I wish it came in bigger containers. I would just store the reels in the sauce during off season and let them drip dry... Just Kidding. I do use it a lot and the opposite of sparingly. Hey a smooth reel and nice carbon drag washers with drag grease can really help your fishing day.

Update 10/30/16, I had a big surprise on my 6600c4 with an 8'6" ugly stick this past Friday I was getting it ready for striper and I put some Berkley Pro Braid 30lbs on it, first cast backlash, 2nd, third all the same crazy over spin, I put on all the brakes and tightened the spool control and it still back lashed, this oil can really change some reels casting and make them almost too fast. I finally cranked down the spool control and it started working okay. So with the Hot Sauce, 30/8lbs braid, and a super smooth c4 (modified to c6), you gotta be careful. I am putting thicker braided line (50-65lbs) on it this week to see what happens otherwise I am going back to mono 30lbs on it. This oil is smoking fast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
Yes, it's oil, it's red, and it works. Is it really that great? Considering that I disassemble and clean my reels after every outing, I'm not sure that I will see the benefits of red oil over the ordinary color of ReelX. And at a cost of about eleven dollars for a tablespoon and half of oil, Hot Sauce should be "hot." I didn't notice it at the time of purchase, but I did notice at the time it became necessary to clean up the leaking oil mess on my desk that neither the Hot Sauce label nor the Amazon listing indicate the volume that is being sold. It was my impression that there are interstate commerce regulations that require this information. In any case, I made a good-faith attempt to calculate the volume of the little leaky bottle, and my arithmetic confirmed my sight measurement of 1.5 tablespoons: I calculated the approximate volume of oil in the bottle to be 24 milliliters. For those who don't want to bother with the conversion factors and multiplication, at a cost of eleven dollars per bottle, this hot stuff costs $1735/gallon. Muy caliente! At 20 drops per milliliter, it works out to 2 cents per drop. That won't break the bank, but it seems like it should provide the marketeers enough revenue to spend an extra cent on a decent container. I hope this bottle lasts a long time, because I won't buy it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
I know what your thinking: "This stuff is expensive" but, this stuff is awesome, a drop or two on every gear is all you need. On some of the bigger parts, use 4 drops. After oiling, use it as much as you can out of water. Take off the spool by turning the drag counter clockwise and reel away! My Penn Pursuit II is as smooth as it was out of the box. After some inshore saltwater fishing, my reel was full of sand and had an annoying squeek. Now it's running like it's brand new. A note to saltwater fishermen: wash your reel with freshwater after each use, and before using reel oil. Make sure your reel is dry, before you use this, too. Best of luck on the water and do your reel a favor and buy this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
Bought three classic name brand high quality reels at a garage sale for a few bucks a piece.. they were seemingly shot, grinding and rough all around. A few shots of this and they were good as new! Very impressed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
This stuff is great reel oil.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
LOVE this stuff. It's the only lubricant I recommend for quality reels. A little product goes a long way, so 1 bottle will last you a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
Good stuff, just be careful, not to use to much. It attracts dirt like flowers attract bees. I carry my poles on a quad and run from fishing hole to fishing hole, the reels became covered in dust and I had to actually scrub it with a toothbrush to get it clean.
It's definitely a 'spot' lube. Works great as long as you don't over do it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2016
Hot sauce it self seems to be a good product , but very unhappy with the container cap is useless so if it tips over it leaks out
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2017
i like it, but it's life span in the reel could be longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here