Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 195 reviews
on May 14, 2015
Not as great as Dead Even and First Counsel or The Tenth Justice but not completely boring like the conspiracy theoryworks "of the Culper Series Ring". The game that is played is arrogant and uppity and it is kind of repellant being a U.S. citizen who already knows aout the disgusting practices of Washington to have to read this while I'm looking for a thriller; I don't wish to read about the games in a thriller. I recommend the first three books I mentioned highly giving them 5 stars. Sit this one out unless you work in Washington perhaps you'll enjoy it then if you can stand it. It really sickened me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
Politics!! What else does one expect? This statement in itself can generate political comments. The time line was pretty hectic and unrealistic but the plot was good. Meltzer points out that there are crooks at all levels of society and government and not to trust any of them. By society I'll include the religious society since they'll lie and hide behind the bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
My first Brad Meltzer experience and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I've just ordered several of his other books and am looking forward to reading them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
I am reading it now. I'm about 150 pages into it and am enjoying it. I'm not sure I like it as well as some of his more recent books but I do think its is a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2011
The Zero Game refers to a game where Capitol Hill staffers try to put pieces of legislation into law. The person who bets the most, must then make that happen. So when a harmless, tapped gold mine is put into play, Harris' friend Matthew, who's Rep. is on the Appropriations committee, bets everything he's got--then is killed. Harris decides he must figure out what's going on. So Harris gets Viv, a 17-year-old Capitol page, involved and before you know it, they're flying cross country in a Gulfstream (claiming to be on a trip for a Senator) to enter this mine 1.5 miles deep. They don't understand what they discover, but end up making an appointment back in DC with a scientist with the NSF. All the while, they're being chased by a highly skilled killer (but not highly skilled enough to kill our two main characters, of course).

"The Zero Game" started off intriguingly, went off in a rather odd tangent, then came back and finished pretty strongly. Unfortunately, a good bit of it was pretty implausible. The relationship between Harris and Viv was quite unbelievable. And the chases within the Capitol itself...I mean, c'mon. There's no security cameras in parts of the Capitol? Really?

In the hands of someone like Crichton (RIP) this would have been a much better book. Not that this is bad, it's just not that great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
Good story with good characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
The story was a little far fetched. The idea that a top of the line killer could not do in a government employee who had no training makes it hard to maintain the illusion of the story. Of course you can't have your hero killed.
Also, a supposedly sophisticated 10 year employee of a senator did not know that the zero game was a scam on him also makes it hard to maintain the illusion of the story. This is especially true at the end when it is revealed that the game was a scam on him. I ended up saying to myself, really, this guy did not know nor had a clue that the game was a scam.
I actually like the book, since the story moved right along and I could visualize what was happening. I would recommend the book to those who enjoy mystery fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2010
I wish I could give a review for 2.5 stars instead of 3. The description via Kindle for this book was completely inaccurate: "Harris and Matthew realize...they're about to be the game's next victims. On the run, they turn to the only person they can trust: a 16-year old Senate page..." This led me to believe the main characters in the book were adults or maybe I just hoped that Meltzer wouldn't make an annoying teenager a lead character. I was wrong. The premise of the book was really interesting-- enough that I bought it after reading the sample. I really enjoyed all the "behind-the-scenes" interaction between political staffers. But in the end, I found the young character so distracting I couldn't pay attention to anything else or force myself to continue reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
I bought this book on the recommendation of a family member I got bored a lot throughout, but I truly connected with the characters especially Matthew, Harris, and Viv. Meltzer is a great writer and if you like political action thrillers that start out slow and then whip you along at break neck pace, then this is a book for you. I wish Meltzer offered a workshop on character development because he did a great job of making you care about each character and the story lines and personalities of the protagonists were well developed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
everyone should read this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here