Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
Is a bit of a puzzle at first (which knob to turn which way) to get it adjusted to the ideal position, but when you do you'll realize what a lifesaver this clever accessory can be. I first used this on a second visit to a factory to shoot video of high speed machines in action. My first visit was shooting still photography. It was then I realized the odd odd angles I had to personally bend to shoot a still would be impossible to hold for any length of time for video.

This accessory was the idea solution. Each end has a threaded stud. One is the standard 1/4-20, the other is a larger diameter thread. Either end fits perfectly into a Manfrotto SuperClamp stud hole. I used the 1/4-20, attaching it to my tripod. While the setup looked a bit "Rube Goldburgesk" it worked great.

Be advised once the articulating arms are extended your camera is "out there" on the very end of it. You need a serious mount or tripod to counterbalance it or the whole thing may tip forward. I my case it would have been right into a running CNC machine! My "anchor" was a Ravelli APGL3 Professional 66-inch Three Axis Head Camera Video Photo Tripod (shown in the photo). The two together worked perfectly providing all the fussy adjustments I needed to get a clear view of the action and a steady video. The camera was a Panasonic Lumix G6.
review image
33 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
Better than I expected. I mount a DSLR (Cannon T5 with 18-55mm stock lens) and it holds it comfortably. I accidentally bought two and realized I needed the second one to extend my camera further since I've clamped it to the ceiling. With both extended quite far horizontally 18" vertical and 2'+ horizontal or so) they still holds the camera safely. The clamps on the arms are friction grip, but they can take enough tightening to easily support the leverage. Extended like I have the camera will bounce a little when starting to film video but settles down quickly. To be expected with so much extension. For photos though, a remote trigger would be needed. Mounted on only one arm, I expect it could hold a DSLR with a small telephoto comfortably.

If had a complaint (picky) it would be that the camera mount can't be removed. Since I have two joined, it would be nice to to removed the camera mount from one, but this is a cosmetic desire and not a function desire.

Overall solid performer. With only one I
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2014
I decided to use my GoPro Hero3+ as an overhead camera during product reviews for my YouTube channel. I saw the Manfrotto 196B-2 and knowing the Manfrotto name and quality I decided to go with it instead of the regular articulating arm. I made the right choice. This arm is AWESOME. I found that the operation of the arms was simple. Making adjustments took a few simple twists and pulls and in no time I had the arms set up exactly as I wanted. The camera bracket easily supported my GoPro and GoPro tripod mount. I was able to great great overhead shots that made my product reviews standout. I would recommend this to anyone looking to to create awesome angles for a light weight camera.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
I bought the articulating arm thinking it would be adequate to hold my Canon 5D3. It's not. It does however serve well to hold a flash strobe or a pocket sized camera, so I kept it for future simple off-camera flash work when I don't feel like setting up my studio strobes.....
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2010
If you think you are securely going to hold a DSLR with this - don't - because you won't.

This plus a superclamp and a compact like a Canon PowerShot G11 10MP Digital Camera with 5x Wide Angle Optical Stabilized Zoom and 2.8-inch articulating LCD though and its very useful.

In the end - I really wish I bought the double arm version (two rods per section) because it tightens down on teeth not friction.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 3, 2015
I use the Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT Articulated Arm to mount a video LED light in places light stands won’t fit. The baby pins on both ends make attachment to 5/8" receivers and Super Clamps a snap. Plus, baby pins are threaded with 1/4” and 3/8” sockets for accessories such as brackets, Arca clamps, adapters, etc.

The reason to buy an articulated arm over an extension pole is flexibility of positioning: three adjustment elbows allow nearly any angle or position. The plastic (Manfrotto calls it Technopolymer) butterfly joints are not as fast to adjust, smooth or solid feeling as a Magic Arm fiction wheel but lock tight with a modest load.

Although Manfrotto calls the bundled 143BKT bracket a Camera Bracket, it’s a jack of all trades and can hold a video light, flash unit, audio recorder, mic, ball head, quick release, umbrellas, monitor and more. Fit and finish are excellent: smooth cast aluminum, black enamel, beefy T-screws, metal thumbwheel with 1/4" bolt, neoprene pad on camera mount and a 1/4 to 3/8” thread adapter. There are also two 5/8" light stand sockets, i.e., baby pin receivers: one to mount the bracket on a stand or arm and the other to attach a baby pin or extension arm. The second socket pulls double duty with a smaller hole on the side to mount an umbrella.

This arm is light duty and not a substitute for a Magic Arm. It definitely will not support a DSLR or six-bulb light head. Buy it if you need to support a small flash, LED, flag or point and shoot camera. I found it a great problem solver for light loads: works with dozens of accessories, fits in a camera bag and can take the place of a light stand in many situations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
I use this with my Matthews C Stand to suspend my Nikon D7000 or a light in virtually any position within the reach of the stand. Make certain to use sandbags on the C Stand, though, so it doesn't tip over. I've been able to set up product shots that I could not achieve with a regular tripod. You can position the camera directly over something as large as a shirt laid on the floor, something that most tripods would have difficulty doing. Although my tripod can extend 18" to the side, a shirt on the ground would still be too large to photograph straight on unless the tripod had legs over 6' tall. This bracket allows the legs of the C Stand to be out of the shot.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
I purchased this to extend my camera from the tripod. I wasn't sure at the time of ordering if it was going to fit the quick disconnect tripod adapter or not, but it fit perfectly. I have a small go-pro type camera that I've used on it, and it works pretty well for that. It isn't as rigid as I had hoped for and the camera is kind of bouncy with it extended. I don't believe this would hold my dslr camera at all. I would recommend getting some sandbags for your tripod as well. With it extended, I was nervous about the tripod tipping, however the camera I used was light enough to prevent it. I did rotate the legs to make sure it had the best support though. The unit works very well for what I purchased it for, which was getting my camera on a tripod located closer to the subject. And over the subject. For my uses, I would definitely buy another one, however if you're planning to extend a heavier digital camera, I would probably opt for another option.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2015
Built solid and the arm joints don't sink (weigh themselves down from gravity) the arms have stated in place for many months now, I would recommend this for anyone wanting to record videos from a fixed angle.

After buying this two section arm, a desktop clamp, and a decent video camera and a usb to hdmi and an old monitor. I was able to create a relatively inexpensive viewer for the seeing impaired.

Two section arm https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000OPWSYM/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_38
Desktop clamp: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0010CLAMY/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_32
Usb-mini to hdmi: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IZYWLR8/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_42
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
I have to say, I really thought this would be bigger and longer. It's definitely pretty small. But it works like a charm and does everything I need it to do. :) Very happy with my purchase. Now I can start making overhead craft and food videos!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse