Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Price:$88.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 99 reviews
on August 28, 2007
I've had the recorder for about a month and am very pleased with it. I've dropped it a few times and it's still working as it should. (After I dropped it the third time, I bought a neck strap so that I can now easily use it when driving, walking, etc.) I use it only for making mental notes/reminders. I have not used it to record lectures, etc. I use it about 15-30 minutes a day and the battery is still strong. I set up my four folders as follows: a: urgent/to be done today. b: To do (personal) c: To do (work); d; Tech stuff. The only thing I do not like is the color.

TIP: When making a list of items, record each item individually. You can then delete the item once it's been taken care of instead of having to listen to it over and over again until the complete list has been taken care of.
33 comments| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2007
Sometimes I think people buy a bike and think they'll get a Ferrari instead. This little Olympus recorder is an outstanding machine for what it was intended to do; take notes. After reading some of the reviews, I'm thinking that some folks were expecting to receive a Zoom H4 digital field recorder. No, no, no! The Zoom H4 is a phenomenal mini-recording studio for $300.00.

This VN4100PC was about $30.00 delivered. If I need high quality audio, I use it at its highest sampling rate, then goose it a little after transferring it to my computer. It sounds just fine.

If you plan on doing some transfering to your PC, be sure you buy the VN4100PC not the VN4100.
22 comments| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My husband used his old tape-based voice recorder for years at work to record meetings. When it finally gave up the ghost, I decided to try a digital model in its place.

I was a little worried that my tech-o-phobe husband wouldn't be able to easily figure out the Digital Voice Recorder, but within a few minutes of opening the box, he was recording, erasing and listening to recordings - all without ever looking at the instructions.

The small size and light weight of the recorder make it even easier to carry around than the old tape model. It's slightly smaller than a candybar type phone, and much lighter in weight.

To the casual eye, this will simply appear to be a cell phone. You could easily take it out of a pocket, hit record, and return it to your pocket without anyone thinking twice about it - they'd just think you were turning off the ringer on your cell phone.

In use, the recorder performed flawlessly - in voice activated format, the recorder caught everything with no clipping, and never missed any of the action.

We're very pleased with this purchase!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2008
First off everyone is right about the color. It is gold, not silver as portrayed in the picture. But that's not really important is it? At least I don't care. I had to buy this because my son is having his Bar Mitzvah next year and this is what the Rabbi asked for. The Rabbi has to speak and sing his parts of the ceremony so that he knows what to do. I, being a pack rat, still have my tape recorder and always thought this is what we would use. So my first trip to check out this new technology, that I thought only doctors and lawyers used, was to Amazon. I ordered this one because it was rated highly, inexpensive, and shipped for free (thank you Amazon). Upon receiving it I started to play with it. I used it at work to record my miles and any other important info I needed. Since I'm driving a lot this meant pulling over and taking notes. But with this I was able to talk and keep going and then just transcribe later. I found this invaluable. Its easy to record and erase and pause and stop and play. I haven't played with all the features but what I was using was easy and I'm far from a techie. I used it only on the highest quality setting and everything was clear, much better than any tape recorder. Small, light, fits in my pocket which in my job is important because I have to carry my personal cell phone, a work Blackberry, and a work cell phone. If you are looking for something to organize your day with, or take quick notes, this is a great little item. I have to order a new one since my son now has exclusive rights to this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2008
I have two girls, one just turned seven, and the other is eight. When one has a birthday,Both get a good gift. This time it was a digital recorder. Wow. What a hit! This particular product is very easy to use, and they play with them All the time. I just showed my 8 year old how to tell stories with sound effects; receding voice, tapping shoes on the floor for walking, her sisters birth was a popping toaster, etc. They really enjoy creating anything out of their voices, musing with their creative flow on their own, at their own level. What a really great free-flowing self-creating stimulus to their budding lives. All self exploratory and self learning; on their very own. I purchased the unit that cannot download and save, for fear of getting sucked into being a Librarian for them. They are still on the origional batteries; note reviews that state you Must put unit on Hold setting before changing batteries, or you fry the unit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2007
This little recorder does everything it claims. There seems to be some confusion in other posts regarding pc connectivity. Not sure why this is, these are two separate products and a check would be price at time order is placed. I didn't need that feature. The choice was between the Sony and this one. I opted for the ability to add an index mark. Sony didn't seem to have this, but does permit file split and append to a recording.
With microphone set to low, dictation is clear and background pickup is reduced, can record voice with radio playing. With microphone set high will pick up a whisper. The voice actuation feature works well.
The total recording time in least quality is more than I would ever need, I left it at default setting one down from max. I did test at lower settings and they seem ok for voice at least.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
I use it all the time. My husband first bought one for work and he loved it. So I bought one, just because I'm in the yard a lot and don't want to hurt my smartphone. It is the length of your hand and not very wide, it easily fits in a pocket or if you put the cord on it, it will fit on your neck. Records easy, Playback easy, great clarity, reasonable priced, and so easy to operate with a lot of memory. Great recorder for anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2008
This is a great work-horse recorder. Perfect for carrying around in a pocket or in the car to record those brief reminders for our to-do lists, or for recording longer things (like lectures, radio shows, etc).

The controls are self-explanatory, directions clear, display legible, and sound quality very good. It has an "Erase All" function which is nice so you can delete all your memos, once you've transferred them to paper or your computer. Like most devices like this, it has a "hold" button to lock it from accidentally being turned on.

This is a bargain. I'm buying another so when I lose this one, I've got another handy!

With this device in my pocket, I'm freed from the tyranny of a to-do list that constantly is missing that item I thought of yesterday and forgot ... and then pops (somewhat painfully) into my mind with an, "Oh, ... darn, I forgot I wanted to ___<fill in the blank>____.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
Has lasted forever to begin with. I keep it handy and read into it a multitude of things - but mostly inspirational, or educational quotes or notes to myself. Have secretly recorded the grand-children's banter (or bickering) and then play it back to them! Grab some dialog off the internet; record motions at meetings; even a bird song I want to identify later. Love it, love it, love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
I don't use it as frequently as I used to, but back when I bought it (read: years and years ago) I was very much, embarrassingly enough, into the paranormal. It picks up white noise and if you believe in that sort of thing, I remember hearing what sounded like voices, but your mind can trick you into hearing stuff, so I'm not sure if there was anything. It's pretty powerful. Now I just use it to record class lectures and the like, nothing interesting. It's very handy when you need a recorder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here