Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Techno Source Rubik's Revolution
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Price:$39.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 9, 2007
It's almost a cruel joke on Rubik's fans. Buy it thinking it's an advanced version of the old favorite and find out that the pieces don't even move. The "games" that are programmed are nothing more than pressing lights as fast as you can. Clearly meant to lure in people hoping to solve a puzzle, but there's actually nothing to solve. Cheap plastic too. The idea that it costs anything more than a dollar is outrageous. The gall, the gall . . .
1111 comments| 190 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although it's not terribly complex, this is a pretty fun toy. It's mostly about trying to beat the clock and develop quick reflexes so that you can press the right buttons and turn off flashing lights fast enough so that the cube doesn't turn itself off and make an irritating ehh-ehh-ehh beeping sound.

I think you can ignore most of the negative reviews this has gotten on Amazon -- they mostly seem to be from avid fans of the old, original Rubik's Cube who didn't understand that this is a different toy, and somehow feel cheated that the Rubik brand has been used for a new purpose. But if they had read the packaging or tried the toy out in the store they would have known this is a different product altogether and maybe not got so upset. I tried this in the store and enjoyed it, same with my kid and same with our relatives. It's a fun toy -- lighten up!
55 comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2007
I purchased this at a toy store thinking it was some sort of giant electronic Rubik's cube. It is not. It does not twist or turn. It simply looks like it might. Instead it is a solid chunk of plastic that plays Simon like games, in which you press buttons on the center of each side. If you want an oddly shaped Simon game, this might be the toy for you. But if you are considering this item because it has the "Rubik's" name on it and it looks like the classic puzzle you should probably reconsider.

I feel very misled and wish I had not purchased this item. The packaging does not state what it does or does not do. They are leveraging the shape and name of the cube to sell something completely unrelated.
55 comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2007
My mom bought this for her three grandchildren when it first came out. My 3 year old and my 6 year old really like it. Now, my 3 year old really can't do much with it, but my 6 year old is pretty good at some of the games. He brought it to his boy scout meeting and the other boys all wanted to play.

It's entertaining for adults too... as other reviewers have said, it's like Simon and Bop! Challenging too. It is NOT a rubik cube by anything other than name, but it IS fun.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2007
This product has some bad reviews so far but people are not reading the product description as it does state it is a electronic game. This game is alot like a simon or a bop it.
Our kids have our old rubiks and never has much use for them. They do love the bop it and simon type games though.
This game does have several different games and this game does help develop hand eye coordination and memory.
The price seems high but even the plastic no frills non electronic rubik is 10.00 ore more these days.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2007
when you open it, you will discover it has nothing to do with rubik's cube.

It is a very different and annoying "game" - you gotta remember the sequence of annoying lights..

no problem-solving skills whatsoever.

sham marketing.

[...]
33 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2007
I was mislead into buying it because of its visual resemblance to the original Rubik's cube and of course the name Rubik. But it does not even remotely resemble the original cube in concept and functionality. It DOES NOT TURN! The recorded voice that talks to you is harsh and irritating. For me it is a worthless piece of junk. I just bought it a couple of hours ago and it is definitely going back to the store.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2007
My mom bought one of these for $40 (from Macy's) for her grandkids, my kids. They started using it, at the default loudest volume (which there is no intuitive way to reduce) the sounds it frequently makes during game play are quite irritating (and loud). For that reason alone, I would not want my kids to have one of these (we are going to return it to the store). If there was a way to permanently set it to the lowest volume, then it wouldn't be so irritating, but from what I can tell there is no way to do this - each time you turn it on, you would have to go through this non-intuitive procedure to reduce the volume, and I guarantee you my kids wouldn't do that unless I yelled at them multiple times asking them to (which is about as irritating as the toy itself). It looks like the original Rubik's cube, so of course someone like myself who is familiar with the original is going to expect this new Revolution toy to function in a similar manner - I spent almost 5 minutes twisting and turning it (almost to the point of breaking it) to try to get the pieces to turn like the original toy. For $40, I don't think it was unreasonable to expect it to be an electronically-enhanced version of the original Rubik's cube, which it certainly is not. What a stupid and irritating toy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2008
This toy is very misleading. It has nothing to do with a rubiks cube since the pieces don't turn. It's basically a very annoyingly loud simon game. The volume was so loud and impossible to adjust that my son was scared by it and wouldn't play with it. I am hoping to return this. Do not buy this toy. It's a complete waste of money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2007
Our whole family (from 3 to 60) has been enjoying this game since the 12 yr old opened it up for Christmas. He thinks it's fanastic because it is challenging, exciting to play and he especially likes the thrill of playing "pattern panic." Our 10 yr old thinks its really cool with all the colors and she says, "It keeps you going, making you think because you gotta be quick." Even the 3 yr old is trying to master it and constantly wants her turn! I like the fact that it's kindda an old fashion toy that's fun--providing hours of entertainment--and priced right. I think those of you who were disappointed need to chill and consider what you're dealing with here...a different place and time in terms of a TOY...it's not your father's Rubik's.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here