Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 181 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 285 reviews
on December 9, 2015
I bought and read this book for a college leadership class and I did find a lot of useful wisdom out of it.

This book presents the challenge of leadership as a challenge to be a mentally/emotionally healthy person that ends up inspiring others towards that health as well.

I gave it a 3 star because I feel the content of the book is great, but that the presentation of the material could have been better.

It is not at all a difficult book to read and it makes very worthwhile points that if one takes seriously and attempts to apply to his own life, could indeed change everything. Self awareness, social awareness, self-management and relationship management encompass such a wide range of personal development, and they do cover a lot of very worthwhile material here. They present a lot of information in charts and make it easy to outline with take-away messages but there aren't a whole lot of super-clear action steps. For those who are in management, want to get better at it, but are stuck wondering how to get to the marvelous place that is described in this book here, it will be another book that gets read without any resulting change in behavior.

It does cite some academic research and provides quite a bit of information about how brain-function works when it comes to these concepts, but does so in a way that the casual reader won't notice, but also that an academic reader that expects a great deal of citation will find inadequate.

I applaud the fact that they are getting this kind of information out there, and if the reader does do the work of taking the example stories out of this book and truly imagining what can be possible if they achieve such awareness and do practice relating to others with this level of sincerity and care, then you couldn't help but be a fantastic leader of any organization, but there is little about this book that will shake you and make you do so.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
An essential book on leadership. Seriously, there are a lot of leadership books out there, why should you read another one? Daniel Goleman does a great job of going to the scientific aspects that determine how different leadership styles affect people. He explains the science in an easy to understand method, and helps you understand how to create the same results, in the people you lead. The book explains why emotional intelligence is critical in leading, and why your method of leading may not have had the intended effects you had hoped for. If you want to become a better leader, you need to read this book.

I should add, I quoted this book extensively during my Masters in Organizational Leadership program, at one of the top universities for Master's in Business degrees. I don't know why it was not one of the required texts, but it should have been. My professors all found the insights I shared from this book to be very worth while, and I received straight A's in my classes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
I feel a little as though the doctors (at least Goleman) are applying their emotional intelligence "brand" to leadership. However, there's a lot of common sense to it! I don't have a psychology degree and I know enough about organizational behavior to be dangerous, but, I've been leading in the military for more than 12 years and I'd like to think I know a little bit about the practical applications of leadership. The doctors present a lot of really relevant case studies to back up their recommendations and illustrate the principles in action. I give it 4 out of 5 stars because it's verbose. Their main arguments are clear because they repeat them many times. But the arguments are solid given their case studies and examples.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
Mr. Goldman did a fantastic job of delving into the functions of Emotional Intelligence and how to become an emotionally intelligent leader. This has opened my mind to so many more ideas to be an effective leader, and also has helped me recognize the major flaws from my current leaders. Look forward to implementing these new ideas!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
I only purchased this book, because it's required reading for a promotional exam. The book is a easy read, not too complicated, and thank God not too long. It's simply all the things my parents already taught me, "treat everyone from the mailroom to the boardroom with respect", "laughter is contagious", & most importantly "it's NOT what you say, but HOW you say it that makes all the difference". So thanks mom & dad .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
If you want to learn how to get along with others, read them, work with them, deal with them, understand them, handle conflict, then this book is for you. It's a true eye opener. You'll literally "see" yourself & others in it and will get a better idea of what makes people tick. You'll gain insight on how to better handle people based on their needs. If you want to get ahead at work or in life in general, get this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2016
Interesting book with good examples. The beginning was more helpful, but I sped through the vaguer ending. Helpful in terms of studies and statistics of how emotions play into the workplace and our relationships, but it isn't a super hands on book with a lot of examples or suggestions. I'll read more on EI by Daniel Goldman as this didn't quench my thirst.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2017
This book is beyond repettive. It says that your emotions affect other people so be nice, genuine and compassionate. And smile and laugh. Over and over. This book should be 10 pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2008
I just had my first personnel when I read this book. With only twenty-some years and no leadership under the belt I had to manage my company. You might think that's easy, but believe me... it isn't. Having the knowledge how to lead certainly helps though.

Actually, Primal Leadership isn't so primal at all. It takes re-reading the book over and over again and practicing what it preaches for quite some time. The book covers so much issues that you might spend quite a lot of time trying to lead, while you know you should lead differently. That's exactly the difference between knowldege and wisdom. When you know something, you might actually don't do it. Having the wisdom, you just practice what you preach.

Now my business is growing faster than ever and I must say this book is one of the key factors in providing leadership and getting operations and projects running smoothly. It may not give you sales or good ideas, but it will definitly give you leadership.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2015
An interesting development of an aspect of leadership that has long been ignored that being the importance of relationships in developing teams that have resonance. Brief summary of resonance is the expression TEAM -- Together Everyone Achieves More. I first came across this book attending a leadership class that included Sgt. Malarky -- Easy Company -- 101st Airborne -- Band of Brothers. The leadership styles of Sgt. Malarky, Capt. Sobel, and Captain Dick Winters were identified with the styles found in this book. Having seen organizations rise and fall because of resonance or dissonance, I found this book very useful in clarifying the manner and methods that result in greater success in any group endeavor. For those used to a command style or a pacesetter style of leadership this book will be an eye opener. Specific examples from large corporations are used to illustrate the concepts. Want to be a better and more effective leader -- read this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here