Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Alexa on Mobile Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 81 reviews
on August 31, 2009
Depending on what you're expecting, this product is either the best thing out there or a severe disappointment. First, let me say what's right about this product.

The fact that this is a self-contained unit with an OSD and a remote for ~$100 is something that's pretty rare. Other manufacturers, like Denon and Sony, have the OSD generator in their receivers so you must have a compatible receiver to operate it via the TV.

More good news is that the dock doesn't control the volume. I consider this a plus because I'd much prefer a line-level out and allow my receiver to control the volume, some may not prefer this. Docks that control the volume invariably have poorer sound quality and given the step down you're already experiencing by using compressed audio and much better speakers, introducing more distortion is simply not a good idea.

Lastly, when using the OSD, the options for navigating the lists are good, if inelegant. You can choose larger steps to scroll through massive libraries which makes finding the artists/albums/playlists you want a lot easier. This isn't to say it couldn't be easier still, but given other dock manufacturers' ways of doing things this is one of the better ones.

Now the negatives:

The OSD is very ugly. Six colors, none great, large, blocky, pixelated text (that does scroll) displaying very basic information. If you want something pretty to look at, this isn't it. If you want to be able to control your iPod from across the room without frills, you've come to the right place.

Video access can only be done via the iPod itself and only on 5G video iPods (Apple's fault, not Onkyo's), but I've never tried this to see how it works. I've only used it for music playback. If you're looking for something that does video, you're going to have to find something that works with your iPod as what will work on 5G iPods won't work on 6Gs or Touches or iPhones and vice versa.

The remote is finicky. Sometimes there's a delay, sometimes there's not. Whether I'm dealing with the Harmony or the included remote (or my receiver's remote using the connector cable) it's twitchy. The remote sensor is very directional as well. You're going to need a very clear line of sight to the dock from your controlling position. I should also mention the remote's construction is about as cheap as you could imagine.

Lastly, my dock stopped recognizing the iPod about 15 months after I bought it. It received moderate usage, but in no way was treated poorly. Maybe it's an aberration, but take it as you will.

So to sum up, if you want a way to control and navigate your iPod's MUSIC LIBRARY from your couch and don't mind a very austere display, this isn't a bad product. It sounds great, navigation isn't a chore, and it works. If you want video, care about a slick interface, or require an RF solution (no line-of-sight for the remote) this product just isn't for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2008
Physically this is a solid, nice looking dock. It's pretty easy to install and use, although I wish it used HDMI or DVI or something to eliminate the big mass of cables in the back. It will work on a non-Onkyo tuner (although I did test it on one).

But the on-screen interface is as horrible as many of the reviews mention. It's like the display of something you might find from the 1980s. And the remote is poorly laid out and counter intuitive.

I was ready and planning to not use the on-screen interface at all. I really just wanted a simple way to charge the iPod and play music from it through my stereo. But you have to use the on-screen interface because the iPod controls are disabled once you plug it into the dock. You can't even start playing a song on the iPod and then plug it into the dock and let it continue playing - it'll immediately stop as soon as it's plugged into the dock, unlike for example the iPod interface in a MINI Cooper.

So I'm returning it. If it were 1/4 or 1/3rd the price, I may have kept it. But at full price it's not worth it.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2008
The iPod dock is quite expensive for what it does - let you take out a stereo audio signal from your iPod. The Video out is quite useless - the menus are a shame to look at on the TV, after the gorgeous ones on the screen of the iPod itself. But... the black dock works like a charm, so easy to set up, has a useful remote, charges my iPod, looks neat next to my home theatre setup, and is less expensive than the white Apple dock. For Onkyo home theatre owners, an R1 signal permits you to control everything with a single remote - but I use my Harmony 880 which does the job well enough with my Sony Home Theatre.

After scouring Amazon and other sites for a good iPod dock to connect to my Home Theatre system, this is the one dock I found fit my need best. And Amazon's price was the lowest.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2008
Difficult to setup, not plug and play, I needed to call Onkyo but tech support was very good, she had me up and running in short order. The on screen fonts are so bad they are laughable, everyone makes fun of them. I have used it with two iPods and an iPhone. There is limited support for video out, but this is listed as a limitation in the documentation and I have not been able to view video. The product picture does not show the wires coming out of the back of the dock, there is a power cord, an interactive control cable, a combo video, left and right channel - I wrapped the whole bunch together with Panduit spiral wrap to minimize clutter.

It was nice to see what was playing and to be able control the iPod from across the room, the onscreen display makes it feel inelegant and out of place in an expensive home theater setting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2010
The Onkyo DS-A2X dock is a fantastic way to integrate your I-pod with your Onkyo receiver. It offers a great number of features which really stand out such as being able to stream video from your I-pod to your receiver, having an on-screen navigation menu, and charging your I-pod. The remote is fantastic, and because it is IR, you can control it with your Universal Remote. I have loved mine and would highly recommend it for anyone that wants to integrate their I-pod with their Onkyo receiver, and do it with style. The one thing I have against this dock, and hence only 4 stars is the price. The price tag is way too high on these. I bought mine a few years back now, but it was $80. The newer Onkyo dock is even more I think. Anyway, if you can find it for cheaper, it is well worth the money and a great addition to your home theater.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2009
I ordered this product to work with my Onkyo 705 receiver and ipod. It works very well. My remote for the receiver runs the ipod dock which makes things easy. However, the on-screen display is not what I expected. I thought it would display what my ipod normally dispays on its screen. However, that is not the case. It only displays information (songs, artists, albums, etc.) in a typed format and looks more like an old "DOS" program than a windows-based program. Also, this information stays on full time when using the ipod so if you have a screen that is suspect to burn in (CRT, some plasma) you can not leave the screen up and running while listening to music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2007
I recently bought an Onkyo receiver with the R1 system and wanted a dock for my iPod. After reading many reviews, I chose the Onkyo dock for it's advertised seemless integration with the Onkyo R1 system-ready receivers so that I could control it with my receiver remote and get the on-screen display.

I am very happy with this purchase. Once configured properly, I was able to plug in my iPod, turn on the receiver and away we went. The on-screen display makes it easy for toggling through playlists, albums, songs, and artists. The line out quality is superior to using the headphone jack (which I had been previously doing). Additionally, I can watch tv shows and movies from my iPod directly on my tv.

Using the more advanced functions of the iPod (like watching a video, or pictures, or shuffling songs within an album, playlist, etc.) involves a little bit more manipulation with the remotes. You have to change the mode so that the OSD no longer operates, and then access functions through the iPod's screen directly (you can still use the included remote for these steps). Now that I figured all this out, it's not that much of a bother. But it would have been nice to have all functions available through the OSD so that this "switching" didn't have to happen.

Overall, I am very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend this dock to anyone with an Onkyo receiver, or even without it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2008
After initially getting to grips with the user interface it does what it says its supposed to. I found it a little difficult to use the onkyo receiver remote to control it. The instruction book wasn't very clear either on how to link the dock to your receiver remote but the small dock remote works just fine. And yes the on screen display is somewhat dated but most of the time I play my music with the tv off anyway. The music quality is great and I am quite happy with the purchase. My wife is listening to some jazz right now on our home theater while reading a book so its already being put to use.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2008
This product sounds great, is easy to install, looks good. Best of all, it comes with RCA jacks (not a custom bridge plug like the Harman Kardon iPod bridge). So it will work with any receiver, not just a few Onkyo receivers.

I don't have the Onko it syncs with, so I don't know about on screen display that others have complained about. But the remote works great for me, and the sounds is MUCH better than using a mini jack from your iPod.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
I have had this for about 5 years now and it is still performing at peak! No problems even after Apple changed the interface and I needed to purchase a devise to work with it but I have no regrets!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse