Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on August 20, 2009
The Oppo HM-31 is the best-looking HDMI switcher I ever had. The top of the switcher is black brushed metal, and the front and sides have a glossy black look. There are three LED lights to indicate which source is selected, plus an additional LED to indicate power. To the right is a Select button, so you can toggle through the inputs if the remote goes missing. It's tough to make something as utilitarian as an HDMI switcher look good, but Oppo pulls it off. The included remote is a weakness, as it has the slim, credit-card-style design, although we appreciate the separate buttons for each input. I definitely prefer full-size remote.

The three inputs and one output will allow you to switch between three connected devices. As mentioned above, there are discrete remote codes for each input, which make it easier to program with a universal remote, and universal remotes make it much easier to integrate an HDMI switcher into your home theater setup. For example, with an activity-based universal remote such as a Logitech Harmony, you can simply select Watch TV and it will change the respective inputs on the switcher, the TV, and the AV receiver without your needing to remember which input is which. Unlike most of my other switchers, the HM-31 does include some custom installer-friendly features such as an RS-232 port and an IR input.

The Oppo performed as advertised. The HM-31 is one of the few switchers with an HDMI certified port, although we found that the HDMI version didn't have a real impact on performance. IT had no problem passing 1080p/24 video along with DTS-HD Master Audio soundtracks in bitstream format. The speed of switches was pretty quick about 4 seconds which was more than acceptable for me.

Great little switch
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2008
We have a Sony HDTV with only one HDMI input. The TV is still an excellent performer, and I was not ready to spend another $2,500 on a new TV, but I really wanted a Blu Ray player. I also felt like "why get a Blu Ray if you aren't going to get HDMI as the input."

I looked and while there are several HDMI switches available, this one is CLEARLY head and shoulders above the rest.

Set up was a breeze. We use Dish Network Vip 722, and a Panasonic Blu Ray player.

There was absolutely no degredation in picture or audio quality. Using the TV is input 3 is great. You simply click the "on" button for the Blu Ray player and it switches to that input, no need to touch the Oppo remote. Once the movie is over, or you are done watching, it, click power off, and about 15 seconds later it auto switches back to TV.

Yes there is a brief lag between sources, but that is a small price to pay for this level of quality and simplicity of use.

This is not only highly recommended, it is a MUST HAVE for the HDMI input challenged.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2009
Finally getting tired of trying to explain to the wife how to switch the HDMI cable for the 360 and BR player (TV only has 1 HDMI port), I decided to try and give this product a go.

I've used splitters in the past and always could see the video degradation. Most people don't notice things like that, but working with tv sets and entertainment systems daily, I've learned to see differences.

Unpacking this item was a bit surprising as the splitter itself comes in a sealed cloth bag with a velcro opener. Seeing the item has a glossy black finish, this is a nice addition if you decide to move and don't want it scratched.

It was very lightweight and very easy to set up and get operating. And having read previous reviews, I hooked up my DVR to port 3, as its always on, and the 360 to port 1 and BR Player to port 2. The auto switching between port 1/2 and 3 is great. Once I turn the 360 or BRP off, it goes right to port 3 for the TV. The ONLY complaint I have is it does take a few seconds to switch over, maybe due to it waiting to see if the signal comes back.

Other then that, I highly recommend this device.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2008
I have to admit, I was a little skeptical given the price of the other options I was looking at. However, I have been very happy I ordered it. It was packaged nicely which I know is not critical, but a nice attention to detail. It is a sleek looking small black box just like the pictures. The LEDs are subtle, and not super bright. To me, this was a big plus... I have too many winking lights in the dark room as it is. The lights on the front of the device that show the device is on, and which input is active are just right. Install was of course no problem. It switches inputs to the active device perfect. I have a Scientific Atlanta HD DVR (which is crap, I need a Tivo HD), a upscaling DVD player, and a Sony PS3 as devices the OPPO is switching. No problems with any content either 720p, 1080i or 1080p. I've only had to use the remote for the switcher when I've wanted to leave the PS3 on (downloading) and turn on the DVR to watch TV. Great device. If you need an HDMI switcher, this one works great for a nice price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2009
I bought a Samsung BDP1600 Blu-Ray player from Amazon and one of the pleasant surprises was how well that unit up-converts non-HD signals. As I have added other media sources (HD cable, Apple TV, Netflix, etc) I have run out of HDMI terminals on my TV. I looked at a lot of switches, but often the feedback from prior users cited degraded or erratic signal quality.... I sure didn't want to lose the upgrade I'd gotten with the Samsung Blu-Ray. The feedback for the OPPO seemed to be the best, and I've heard good things about their other gear so I took the plunge. I also bought new v.1.3/Cat 2 HDMI cables from Amazon; very good value. I have had this unit installed for about a month and tested it vs. a direct connection to the back of the TV and I can't see a difference..... which makes me happy. Set-up was quick and easy and the remote works well.... but boy is it easy to lose in the sofa.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2008
I would give it a "5" if I had a "typical" setup switching among components under the TV. However in my application, there was a fatal flaw caused by my TiVo and HDCP encryption. Thanks, movie industry, you just penalized an honest guy who just wants to watch TV in the other room.

First, the good.
The Oppo flawlessly switched HDMI among 3 inputs. It's smart enough to auto-select a live input if the selected component is turned off. It's very small and cool looking. There is no power switch, it's always "on". It just works.

Now the reason it didn't work for me.
I have two TiVos and DVD player in the basement, and distribute the HD signal to various rooms. Two rooms upstairs get fed by component video baluns. In the living room, I ran an HDMI cable, and hoped to do the switching using the Oppo in the basement, next to the video sources.

The problem was that when I turned off the living room TV, the TiVo (or DVD) still saw power on the HDMI port and freaked out when it couldn't do the necessary key exchange for the HDCP encryption. The TiVo's behavior in this case is to put out an error screen on all outputs - so if the TV is off in the living room, and you want to watch upstairs, all you can see is an error message!

Bad news, courtesy of the movie industry who insists on DRM right to the display, thus thwarting me from watching legally obtained content in my own home, and slowing down the real hackers by a couple of weeks until they cracked the code. Brilliant!

In the end, I purchased 2 additional HDMI cables and now each TiVo and the DVD have their very own cable to the living room. Thus when the TV is off the HDMI cable is completely dead and the TiVo doesn't freak out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2009
I went through bunch of the HDMI switches. Ironically, the cheapest brand less "HDMI Switcher" for $20 worked flawlessly with all my devices. Nobody knows how reliable it is though. The rest were hit and miss and only worked with some devices, including very reputable and expensive brand name switches. Mid-range priced HDMI switches are a lottery with no "winners". Usually your luck depends on the set of devices you have.
I also got OPPO switch and it proved once again - you can rely on OPPO. Should have bought it the first. Yes, it is a bit expensive, but it works, it is a pleasure to own and use, well engineered, well packaged(Apple-like style) and will serve you well for a long time to come.
OPPO offer rock solid products, period...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 24, 2008
- All the important Features have already been described very well. I have been VERY IMPRESSED with the OPPO Product lines, and this one does not disappoint.
I haven't found anything that WORKS so Impressively!

I gave it a 4.8 Star Rating as the only little issue is the AC Plug-in to the unit, is a bit 'flimsy' and just slightly moving the Small, Sleek, Book-Guide Sized Switch, makes the switch re-boot.
I am following-up with OPPO tech support, on this small issue.

Other than that, it's an ABSOLUTE MUST HAVE, Hands-Down, as part of your HDMI Home Theater Arsenal. It simply 'switches' Automatically between whatever HDMI DEVICES (Blu-ray player and HD Cable Modem for me), without any Video or Sound LOSS ... that' so COOOOOL!
Up to 3 HDMI devices (Inputs) + 1 HDMI (out-put) to your HDTV.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 5, 2008
I purchase this switch based on reviews and future compatibility with HDMI 1.3 standard. However, the practical reason for getting the switch is that my HDTV has only one HDMI port and I have several HDMI components. I connected a Sony Play Station 3 and Scientific Atlanta DVR set-top box using the switch. I had hoped to use the digital-out on the HDTV to route digital audio to my AV receiver, but overlooked the fact that my HDTV was not HDMI 1.3 capable. However, am able to route digital audio to both my HDTV (via HDMI) and AV receiver (via digital-out on PS3 and DVR). This was important because its not necessary to have my AV receiver on to have sound from the DVR and PS3 (except that its through the HDTVs speakers). I had hoped to pay less for a switch, but am satisfied with my purchase due to flawless operation and configuration options.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2008
Great little unit, functions as an HDMI switch just fine. Detects an active source and automatically switches to that input, (can manually choose the input too of course) the gloss black finish and clean appearance make for a classy looking device, indicator LEDs are not overly bright as to be distracting in a dark room. Right now it's switching between my PC connected via DVI - HDMI adapter and my Toshiba HD-D3, and outputting to my Pioneer PDP-4280HD and i've never had an issue with handshaking etc. The remote control is handy, but I've programmed my universal remote to take over that function. No complaints, device works well and looks good. Would recommend to a friend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse