Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews(1 star, Verified Purchases). See all 1,633 reviews
on May 19, 2008
Flip Video Ultra Series Camcorder, 60-Minutes (Black)
I bought a flip video about 6 months ago and have tried installing the software as well as down load pictures several times both on my mac and pc computers. I have been unsuccessful for the last 3 times and have also lost the videos on the camera. I called customer support today and was only told to clear my memory for my pc computer, which is more than half empty, and to dowload a perian patch for quicktime for apple. I did this also and now get a different error. I am not a computer novice but this has been impossible to work. I will keep on trying.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
No, did not work. Was received with corroded batteries and contacts in the battery compartment.
When I reported the problem, a refund was issued promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2008
I've tried installing the software for this camera on 4 different machines:
- a large, recent Dell workstation running xp professional
- a Macintosh G4 workstation running Tiger 10.4
- an older Dell laptop running xp professional
- a Mac powerbook pro running Tiger 10.4

On all platforms, the initial install either didn't work (interrupted with errors) - or if it did, all functions of the camera that were advertised to take 10 or 15 minutes actually would have run for 10 or 15 HOURS (according to the computed time of completion once the number popped up.) So the camera is useless to me for any computer interaction.

Having said that, the camera itself was a very pleasant surprise after having read some of the negative reviews. Mine actually appears to be a pretty solid little unit - seemingly worth well beyond what I paid for it. I think, given it's function, both the image and audio quality are surprisingly good - markedly better than any cell phone generated video I've seen, for sure.

Another positive note - tech support seems to be hanging with me in trying to fix my problem - except that I need to interpret all their instructions for the Mac since I can't convince them I'm not working on a PC (I just settled on trying to get this to work on the Macbook pro.)

Given the reviews in general, I'm glad to see I'm obviously in the minority with this problem - I suppose this will culminate on a camera replacement.

- Al

P.S. The firmware update didn't solve any of my issues either.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2008
I've pampered my Flip Video Ultra and ordered it from Amazon on May 9, so I probably got it within one or two days later, Amazon usually provides FAST delivery. But this camera worked fine during the Warranty period, but now it has has failed (September 20) and the display is stuck on the opening screen. So be careful folks. These are made cheaply and mine didn't last but four months, conveniently (for Flip) right outside the warranty period. So I'm stuck with a useless piece of junk that I've used very little. I've pampered the camera, so this isn't the result of dropping it or any abuse. It just failed. New batteries didn't help.

Wait till somebody comes out with something more reliable before you purchase one of these. Or stick with a good digital camera.

I put a plug in for the camera when it worked on a blog I write at. Now I'm going to have to give a quite different review to warn people about these things But I've got a support request in with Flip. Maybe they'll try to help me out. Anybody else had bad luck with these cameras? Does flip offer support beyond the 90 day warranty? Or are thse things going to fail within a year? I'd like to know the MTBF rate for these things. Let me know in comments if you have any experience with these cameras failing. I'm not getting the feeling that these are made solid like the Apple computer. If Apple comes out with a video camera similar to this one, I'll spend the extra dough to get one.

I've added a short comment on the famous website Bad Attitudes to express my disappointment with this camera. Please see my blog post for my true feelings on the reliablity of this camera and my attitude about the "staff" at Flip Video:

[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2008
Buyer beware at Pure Digital
I received from Amazon my (Flip Video Ultra Series Camcorder, 60 Minutes (Orange) on July 31st 2008 Initially all went well and the quality was great and no problems with software. however I noticed a problem getting the camera to start and stop, it continued to worsen and I decided to contact tech support on October 11th 2008. After several email exchanges I was given a RMA# but no offer to send a prepaid label, believing that as it was still in warranty, I paid $7.00 to ship UPS. Than on a web search regarding problems with this item I was amazed at the number of very negative responses to their customer service and did discover that some has been issued prepaid labels and when I challenged them about that was told that it was not their policy to pay shipping, however they would make an exception and attached a prepaid label (now was too late as I has already paid shipping and requested a refund which was denied) I requested was action was being taken on my start/stop problem and the only answer I got was that it was being returned to me. They were unable to save any of my video's (that was not an issue)
So I urge you to consider well before you make a purchase
If you ever need customer service, BE AWARE
I am awaiting return to see if the problem has been fixed
I did receive a refurbed item and thus far it has worked fine, however I did not get a refund on my shipping charges therefore I will not rate this item any differently
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2009
I have now had my camera for 8 months. At first, I loved the product. I could put the camera in my purse and catch cute moments of my kids whenever I wanted getting a pretty good video. However, after 4 months of owning it the camera started to freeze up on the first screen. Not only could I not take videos, but my previous videos are now trapped in the camera and I have no way of accessing them making my time with the camera a total waste of time. I contacted the company through email (you can't reach them by phone) and they told me to leave the batteries out and put new ones in 24hrs. later. This worked once. When I asked for future help, the company informed me my camera was out of the 90 day warranty and I was pretty much on my own. I can't believe in this day and age there are companies out there with this poor of customer service. I will not buy their product in the future and will do my part in warning others. They really should have replaced the camera. It is defective.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2008
i purchased this item for a christmas gift for my teenaged daughter. here it is april, and we are still experiencing technical problems with this piece of junk. i have sent it back for repairs, and it is returned with more problems.

save your money, and buy something else.

*UPDATE* well, here it is may 20th, and i am still having rounds with their so-called 'customer service' it goes in for repairs, and comes back in worse shape than it went in. the camera crashes, now the case is loose because it has been taken apart by Pure Digital and put back together shoddily, so it won't even hold batteries.

have contacted them yet again, they promised to send me a new camera, but it has never arrived! now they will not return any calls or contacts by email.

keep in mind-this was a CHRISTMAS gift! this has been ongoing for months on end.....

fortunately, i have kept my credit card company informed of this ongoing saga, and now all that is left to do is a charge back. i will be contacting consumer affairs in our state to report this company for their business practices.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2016
When I received This product it was in very poor condition. There was sticky stuff all over. Almost like it was covered in tape, then the tape was removed so it collected fuzz abs other gross things. It was disgusting, I didn't even want to touch it. Very disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2008
The Flip Video camcorder is a very cool little toy. It shoots video excellent. However, and just sharing my own personal experience, my Macbook did not recognize the camera when I plugged it into the USB port. My Macmini G4 did recognize the camera and it even showed up on the desktop but the camera's onboard software did not work. I downloaded the software from Flip video's website to my Macmini and the computer froze up every time I tried to install the software (it stalled out and I got what Mac users call "the spinning wheel of death").

Consequently, I sent the camera back to Amazon...very disappointing as I really liked the camera. Flip Video could certainly improve what is already a great product by working out the bugs on the back end...the software. Also, another improvment would be the file type in which the camera saves the video files...mpeg4 files would be great as Mac users use Quicktime and Imovie. Just as soon as those improvments are made I will gladly purchase another Flip camera
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2008
This was bought for me as a birthday present and I was delighted to open the box today on what looked like a well presented and easy to use product. However, it does not work! The display is stuck in the 'set time and date' mode and will not budge at all. Removing and reinserting the batteries makes no difference. We are returning to Amazon to get a replacement on the assumption mine was a lemon, so hopefully I'll be able to give this more stars if I ever get a working one. I remain skeptical though, as it appears from other reviews that the technical QC on this product is dreadful. It looks like more care has been spent on the packaging than on developing a consistent product. To paraphrase what others have said: "An excellent idea, dreadfully executed"
Overall, very disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here