Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on December 1, 2017
Incredibly poor quality even for a Chinese manufacturer. Not very intuitive to operate. The small screen is hard to see. The map shown in the ad is an extra $50. Could not correctly set the time. Sent it back. Wasted my time and messed up my hunting trip. I will never buy a Magellan product again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 29, 2017
Simple but it works
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2011
My Triton 400 was adequate when I bought it: not much of a database, not much of a display, but it did the basic GPS functions and that's all I asked. It crashed every once in a while, but would reboot OK. After a few months it went completely dead: blank screen, unresponsive to any inputs or any attempts to reset, by key or by USB control. Magellan was no help. I suggest you save your money and look elsewhere for a GPS.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2016
Very archaic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 11, 2016
very nice gps
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 13, 2014
PACKAGING WAS EXCELLENT- UNIT WORKS GREAT- TOP SHELF!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2013
Can't down maps like my old one did and was not as good shape as It said it was going to be in next time I don't buy used
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 10, 2011
Very nice piece. Although listed as used, it looked almost new. Very nice to buy from you. Is going to get alot of use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 13, 2009
Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Luckily I love a challenge or I would have given up on the Magellan Triton right out of the box. First, there are no written instructions (the included CD links you to PDF instructions). Typically I am the ultimate avoider of instructions... I pride myself in my ability to figure out nearly anything without them (so what if I occasionally have to unscrew a board and flip it around to make it work?!?) However, I wasn't so lucky with this little GPS. For some reason I was unable to figure out how to hook it up to my computer and download geocaches. (Typically there are "Quick Setup" directions in electronic boxes that include how to hook it up to a PC. (Hint: See this portion of the Magellan website for good info: [...] ). After perusing Magellan's PDF file, I actually found Triton blogs/forums set up by random people to be more helpful than Magellan's site. After I figured out how to connect the GPS and download geocaches to it I wanted to download my free map from Magellan's website. This process took quite a bit of Googling (as Magellan's customer service was closed at 5pm... and I am super determined) but I eventually found the cure (click on "Comments" below for a solution if you receive the message "ERROR: There has been an Internet Connection Problem: Your map `Topo USA' can not be downloaded.").

While it was a beast to set up and get going, the reward was much greater than the pain to get started. First of all, if you have a child you must geocache at least once. This is something I had never done before getting the Magellan but had heard about it off and on over the last few years (typically from geeky outdoorsy types that made me shrug and not want to pursue it). Let me tell you, I have a boy who loves video games (I limit it to just a few times per month) and doesn't seem to have a great desire to be outdoors unless he is playing team sports (he doesn't see much of an entertainment value since all of his toys are inside). However, geocaching seems to be the ultimate combination that works for kids 5-10 (maybe older or younger). It mixes electronics with adventure seeking, treasure (albeit toys from vending machines or just a log and a pen to jot your name), some primal desire of exploration, the great outdoors, hide and seek, and a bit of "fear" of being caught by some outsider who is not supposed to know about the treasure.

While the Magellan was my first dedicated GPS device, I do have other GPS devices. I have a Magellan RoadMate for the car and an iPhone for everything else and then some. However, I would never take the iPhone out on a hike with me (I have dropped the Magellan several times, once down a nice steep cliff-like wall and it lived to tell about it) and I wouldn't trust the iPhone around water (the Magellan is water resistant and rubbery-rugged). Also, the iPhone needs access to a tower to download the maps (they are pre-stored on the Magellan). So, while the iPhone has geocaching apps, it's not coming with me on a bike ride, hike, and tree climbing. Of course the RoadMate isn't designed for anything other than finding restaurants, getting to addresses, and making sure I don't get in the wrong lane in LA.

As for accuracy (a must with a GPS device and especially for geocaching) I can state that we have found every geocache thus far (you need to be in a VERY precise location to find a tiny treasure) and it hasn't led us astray once. Additionally, it is able to pick up my location indoors with great accuracy as well. (So precise in fact that I will occasionally hide a snack or a toy in the backyard or house and store its latitude and longitude and send my child to find it.)

Downside:

- Eats batteries quickly so pack extra when going on a hike.
- Hard to set up with a PC if you are looking for something that makes sense out of the box
- Customer service is open limited hours (if you work 8-5)
- Hard to download Magellan maps if you get the "Error"
- Without a paid map (or at least a downloaded free map from various websites online) the loaded map is very basic and renders it nearly useless for most people. There are promotions occasionally that offer a free map so be on the lookout!
- Internal memory small and SD card (which can be bought inexpensively on Amazon such as: Kingston 2 GB SD Flash Memory Card SD/2GBET [Amazon Frustration-Free Packaging]) is needed if you are to download and install other maps

Positives:

- Orangey color easy to see when dropped on a hike
- Rugged and well made
- Precise/Accurate
- Can load/store GPX files which include hints and other data that can help find a geocache (not available in many models in this price range)
- Easy to load maps from included software (if you choose to purchase them from Magellan or download for free from other entities). This is different then actually downloading them from Magellan's website which was a nightmare (I understand it is due to my firewall but is common... again click on "Comments" to see the fix)
- You don't need a screwdriver to replace the batteries (so nice when you are out on a hike)
- SD slot to store additional maps
- My GPS was loaded with the most recent firmware and came with the most recent software and has not had a single problem (and I have been using it nonstop!) It seems as if those old problems have been corrected with the latest firmware/software based on the most recent reviews from both Viners and non-Viners.
- Clear color display which is a fine size for my young eyes but may be a factor for those who need a larger screen due to vision concerns
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Magellan Triton 400 is a very easy to use GPS with most of the features and functionality you would expect to find on higher priced units. My needs in a handheld GPS are fairly basic since we are casual hikers, however we do live very close to the Appalachian Trail in an area that has a lot of side trails, some of which are poorly marked. On two recent occasions my son and I have lost the main trail and have traversed some very heavy forest heading in what we considered to be the general direction of our entry point. With the Triton 400, this would not have happened as the unit's auto trail clearly shows where you have been.

Here are my observations on the device:

Likes -
* Very fast satellite acquisition
* Accurate speed and distance readings (as measured in my car)
* Very nice color screen
* Basic menu functions are easy to navigate
* Uses standard AA batteries
* Includes USB cable for connecting to PC
* Good companion PC program (VantagePoint)
* Supports GeoCaching

Dislikes -
* Preinstalled map is VERY basic (better maps are available for sale)
* No written manual (on included CD, but it doesn't do much good in the field)
* Small internal memory (but does support SD cards)

The VantagePoint software installed fine on my 64 bit Vista PC and it provided an easy to use interface to the GPS. It was handy to have the PC show my Waypoints that I set on the GPS. Since a lot of the other reviewers mentioned that their firmware needed to be updated due to stability issues (which I did not experience), I used the VantagePoint's "Magellan Update" feature to confirm that both the VanatagePoint software and the GPS firmware were already at the most current levels.

As noted above, my main concern with the Triton 400 is very basic preinstalled map. It only shows the most major roads (Interstates) and not much else. The Magellan website has plenty of maps for sale, but they do tend to be somewhat pricy. A related issue is the small internal memory that is only large enough to hold the default map, so you will likely need to install an SD card. It should be noted that some of the maps can be ordered preloaded on an SD card so all you would need to do is insert the card and enter the GPS configuration menu to tell it to use the new map.

This is a very solid GPS, both physically and functionally, that meets my needs. If you need more detailed maps or topo maps, you need to consider the cost of adding them at a later time.

Recommended, with the above caveats.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here