BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 29, 2017
Simple but it works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2010
I bought this item for geocaching and it works great. Inital startup takes some time to do on the computer and a driver from the geocache site has to be downloaded to interface with the unit. However, it is very easy to use and works well for geocaching. You simply connect to the site and download the coordinates. It shows the destination as a flag with direct path. The course you traverse is in another color to show how close you actual are to the destination. I am very happy with this unit and glad I chose this one. Also, the price here is much cheaper than other sources.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2016
Very archaic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2016
very nice gps
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
I bought this GPS for a surveyor friend of mine and he is thrilled with it. He says it does everything he needs it to and with lightning speed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
PACKAGING WAS EXCELLENT- UNIT WORKS GREAT- TOP SHELF!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
Can't down maps like my old one did and was not as good shape as It said it was going to be in next time I don't buy used
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
Very nice piece. Although listed as used, it looked almost new. Very nice to buy from you. Is going to get alot of use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Magellan Triton 400 is a very easy to use GPS with most of the features and functionality you would expect to find on higher priced units. My needs in a handheld GPS are fairly basic since we are casual hikers, however we do live very close to the Appalachian Trail in an area that has a lot of side trails, some of which are poorly marked. On two recent occasions my son and I have lost the main trail and have traversed some very heavy forest heading in what we considered to be the general direction of our entry point. With the Triton 400, this would not have happened as the unit's auto trail clearly shows where you have been.

Here are my observations on the device:

Likes -
* Very fast satellite acquisition
* Accurate speed and distance readings (as measured in my car)
* Very nice color screen
* Basic menu functions are easy to navigate
* Uses standard AA batteries
* Includes USB cable for connecting to PC
* Good companion PC program (VantagePoint)
* Supports GeoCaching

Dislikes -
* Preinstalled map is VERY basic (better maps are available for sale)
* No written manual (on included CD, but it doesn't do much good in the field)
* Small internal memory (but does support SD cards)

The VantagePoint software installed fine on my 64 bit Vista PC and it provided an easy to use interface to the GPS. It was handy to have the PC show my Waypoints that I set on the GPS. Since a lot of the other reviewers mentioned that their firmware needed to be updated due to stability issues (which I did not experience), I used the VantagePoint's "Magellan Update" feature to confirm that both the VanatagePoint software and the GPS firmware were already at the most current levels.

As noted above, my main concern with the Triton 400 is very basic preinstalled map. It only shows the most major roads (Interstates) and not much else. The Magellan website has plenty of maps for sale, but they do tend to be somewhat pricy. A related issue is the small internal memory that is only large enough to hold the default map, so you will likely need to install an SD card. It should be noted that some of the maps can be ordered preloaded on an SD card so all you would need to do is insert the card and enter the GPS configuration menu to tell it to use the new map.

This is a very solid GPS, both physically and functionally, that meets my needs. If you need more detailed maps or topo maps, you need to consider the cost of adding them at a later time.

Recommended, with the above caveats.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First off, know what you're getting. Many of the lowest ranking reviews are simply because the reviewer expected a GPS that would help them drive around the city or walk around town. This GPS is absolutely not for this purpose.

Second thing you need to know, when you open the box, the thing is next to useless until you load some topographical maps (beyond the extremely basic one included) into it. There are free ones as well as maps you can purchase depending on your desired use. This process is pretty easy, but not at all intuitive nor painless. This would take a pretty techy guy 20-45 minutes to do. My dad and grandpa would never have a hope of figuring it out as it involves their computer and quite a few steps. You'll also want to do a firmware update to solve some of the crashing issues (so I've heard from other reviews; after my firmware upgrade I have not had issues with crashing).

After you get it going, it will take you about 30 minutes to an hour to figure out what most of the icons mean and how to navigate the menus. (It will probably take you a day or two of pretty heavy use to become near proficient at it...the Triton was not intuitive according to my experience).

But then, you'll have a handheld GPS that you'll probably like to use for things like hiking, hunting, boating, and golfing. If you drop it, it keeps working (Mine fell out of the car onto the asphalt from about 4 feet and suffered no ill effect). Magellan says you can have it in a meter of water for up to 30 minutes. I didn't want to risk trying it. The unit truly is handheld and pretty ergonomic. The screen quality is acceptable. Overall, I am greatly underimpressed by this unit. It is useless for driving and in the city use (which would greatly increase its usefulness). It performs only the basic functions of a GPS (waypoint marking, route marking, geocaching, etc). It doesn't seem to do anything remarkably better than GPS units available 10 years ago (with the exception of support for some of the upgraded maps) that you could pick up used for a fraction of the price.

Nevertheless, if you are looking for a topographical-only, rugged, and durable new handheld unit, this may be for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here