Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Nothing More GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 154 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 282 reviews
on October 9, 2015
Three witches of Discworld: Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, and Magrat gather together to fight the evil power of a new king in Lancre. Many references to MacBeth, with Pratchett's trademark sarcastic wit. No deeper points to be made, as in Thud! or Jingo or Pyramids. Just a rollicking good tale. It lagged in a few places, and frankly sounded like he was getting a lot of help with the writing. Which he was, as this was published in 2013. Still a good read, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
This is the first real book about the witches. Granny Weatherwax appears in Equal Rites but now she has company in the form of Nanny Ogg and Magrat. This might just be the most dysfunctional coven ever. Like many of Pratchett's early books this takes a few well earned shots at an institution. In this case royalty, ghosts, and most especially MacBeth. Shakespeare had it coming and this wry interpretation of the Scottish play is perfect. Pratchett's stylistic ploys of having many footnotes and no chapters should be familiar to all Discworld readers and hopefulluy aren't a surprise. The style has all the manic energy of the early books.
The plot asks the question, "What happens when a country gets a king who doesn't love it?". Well with the help of Granny and Co you'll get to find out. In many ways this is an exploration of the Nanny and Granny axis that featured in later books and shows some of Granny's power and her limitations. If you love the witches this is where it really begins. MacBeth didn't desreve the reputation that Shakespeare gave him and this won't help much either but you'll laugh all the way to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
For the seller: Book arrived on time and in promised condition. Thanks!

For the book itself: Pratchett is a phenomenal author and anyone who enjoys the likes of Douglas Adams or wishes Tolkien was a bit more sarcastic will LOVE his writing. The books are nearly never explicit, but they do have a few tips of the hat to adult humor; but the characters are so varying and lovable and the stories are so fantastic and endearing that you needn't worry about an advanced child reader.

Much like many kids' movies have several nods towards the chaperones in the audience, Pratchett's books allude to more adult humor, but are hardly ever graphic in description. The Discworld series is the perfect wedding of satire and fantasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2016
Terry Pratchett's Discworld series is always amazing, and this volume is no different. When their small kingdom is overtaken by a power-hungry duke, three witches must decide wither to break their "no-meddling" rules and re-instate the rightful prince to the throne. However, they must also fight against the power of rumor as the duke employs a theater troupe to tarnish the witches' reputation. The story plays out kind of like a alternate re-telling of Shakespearean stories, and is full Pratchett's signature sense of humor. As with most Discworld novels, this is a fairly stand-alone story that can be picked up without having followed the entire series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Terry Pratchett! (sorry to be so damn redundant; can't imagine really how to review or sum up Discworld books or Mr Pratchett.)
You just have to read them. Engaging, funny and just classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
I haven't read much of Prachett on his own; Discworld as a series seemed so large that I didn't know where to dive in. This was recommended to me as a starting place and I absolutely loved it. There's enough here about the surrounding world that I'm starting to have a feel for the surrounding universe, but there's also an absolutely wonderful stand-alone story with some unforgettable characters. If you're hesitating over your first step into Discworld, start here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
Started reading Terry Pratchett's Disc world series because my other couple of authors didn't have anything new out at the time and I needed something to read while plodding on an elliptical at the gym lol!! This is a great series of books, though it took a while to be able to visualize Pratchett's dystopian world.... the friend that recommended the series told me to picture London in the Elizabethan period :) albeit while being contained on a planet that sits on the back of a HUGE turtle, that sits on the backs of HUGE elephants.....yep, wrap your head around that one!!! With that said it is a very good and funny series of books that can be read as stand alones or in order, though in order would be better if you plan on reading more than a couple! This has been my favorite up to this point, but the others before it were really great too, his twist on words and spellings will have you LOLing constantly!! I've read 6 of the 20 something and this was my favorite so far, but they're all truly good reads!! I'll be reviewing the other books in the series I've read so far and will be doing a copy and paste of this into those reviews!! Have turned a few fellow readers on to this series and will again I'm sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2017
This was the very first Terry Pratchett, Disc World book I ever read. It is the story that me hooked on the Disc World series and I have been reading and re-reading the whole series ever since. Granny Weatherwax is one of my all-time favorite characters in this series and this book gives her a lot of play. Nanny Ogg is probably my second favorite and she is highly featured in this one as well. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for some lighthearted reading that will have you laughing out loud. *S*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2011
In 'Wyrd Sisters', the kingdom of Lancre -- a tiny mountainous realm near the magical Hub of the Discworld -- is in danger. Its previous king has been murdered, and while that alone isn't much of a problem (being one of the usual ways for kings to exit the world), the kingdom itself isn't taking to the new ruler. It can sense that he doesn't care for it. Unfortunately, he's being pushed along by his highly ambitious wife -- who pretty soon realises that the presence of three witches nearby could pose a significant challenge to her reign. She's also concerned about the missing son of the dead king -- who the witches have packed off with a traveling theatre troupe.

And who are these three witches? Well, there's Granny Weatherwax (Esme), a curmudgeon of the highest degree famed for headology, indomintable will, and impenetrable boots. There's Nanny Ogg (Gytha), matriarch of a clan that would put anyone in the Ozarks to shame, who had an adventurous girlhood and doesn't much appear to have let up even in her advanced time of life. And then there's Magrat, junior member of the group, a soppy young thing who firmly believes in . I've always enjoyed the contrast between Magrat and the others, as Magrat is such a delightfully accurate parody of the New-Age-y types, whereas Esme and Gytha know that the intent and focus of the witch matters a lot more than the type of crystal she's using or the precise incantation she utters. This leads to a really excellent scene where they summon a demon (despite Esme's misgivings that demons shouldn't be pandered to) to try and get some answers out of him -- using a washboard for an octagram and a copper stick for a sword of art. They also demonstrate a degree of irreverence for spirits which I thoroughly appreciate.

In 'Wyrd Sisters', the trio begins their practice of interfering in as precise a way as possible. They're not supposed to, you see, and in this plot, it's particularly complicated, because a kingdom ruled by witchcraft just doesn't work (and they don't want to have to be solving everyone's problems all the time anyway). So they have to find a way to fix things without fixing them. It's the sort of thing they explore even more throughout the rest of the Witches series.

As for that theatre troupe, they're balanced precariously on the edge of time between when actors were just wandering vagrants in search of an innyard and when they started becoming just a little bit more, building their own spaces, settling down, making the crowds come to them. During the course of the book, they start construction on the Dysk. The troupe is led by Vitoller, an excellent Burbage analog. Their chief playwright is a dwarf, Hwel (a hilarious pun if you know much about the pronunciation of consonants in 16th-century English), through whom Pratchett exercises a great many of his Shakespearean illusions. And then there's Tomjon, the missing prince that the witches convince Vitoller and his wife to adopt. Suspecting that they've fulfilled a traditional fairy-godmother-type role (though not so much as they will in 'Witches Abroad'), all three witches give the baby blessings -- though certainly not your traditional kind. No, they give him far more sensible gifts: that he will always make friends, that he'll always know all the words, and that he'll always be whoever he thinks he is. These gifts have the side effect of turning Tomjon into a staggeringly successful actor, who declaims his first words in iambic pentameter, and who can halt a tavern brawl just by standing on top of a table and starting to talk.

I love the witches, and there's so much delightful about them, but my real glee in this book is with the theatre troupe. There are the obvious Macbeth references, but Pratchett clearly knows his Shakespeare, because he slips in a ton of other allusions as well -- Julius Caesar, Henry V, Hamlet, Richard III, As You Like It, A Midsummer Night's Dream, even Henry IV, Part 2. (And lspace.org has a really excellent annotation if you're interested in sussing them all out). There's also a lot of heart and psychological truth (or, as Granny would call it, headology) in the book. I've seen it described a lot as Monty Python meets Macbeth, but I think that's selling the story really short. Take, for instance, the dreams of Hwel. It doesn't matter that he's a dwarf who doesn't like mining and who has rejected the dwarvish lifestyle in favour of taking up acting. It doesn't matter that he gets called a lawn ornament when he goes out drinking in Ankh-Morpork. It doesn't matter that he's a parody of the greatest English scrivener of all time. What matters is that he's a writer, always trying to make his work match the beauty of the vision in his head. I think anyone of a creative inclination knows that feeling. That kind of incisive poignancy cuts through so many of Pratchett's works. These are humour books, they're parodies, but there's still something so real about them. Pratchett uses humour in the absolute best way -- to reveal humanity's soul.

Overall, this is the start of one of my favourite series of all time. 'Wyrd Sisters' is a really entertaining story, and very cleverly crafted. It's one of my go-to books when someone asks me to recommend them something. Pratchett's writing is super-accessible without being in any way dumbed down or juvenile. It's just wonderful, which is why these are some of my favourite comfort books. I can pick them up any time and be happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2017
About the audio book version:
Bad voice casting. This narrator doesn't "get Pratchett's" humor or wit and so it's effectively removed from the story. It takes what is usually a brilliant and dynamic story and makes it boring and hard to listen to. I LOVE Pratchett's writing and stories, but I could not force myself to listen to more than an hour of this one before I turned it off. I'll need to actually READ this book...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse