Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 9, 2014
Even though this $300+ fan is rated as an outdoor fan, it has started rusting after less than 5 months. My installation is on a fully covered patio and not close to any saltwater, so be aware of the quality of this product. Minka Aire clearly does not stand behind their product with their response quoted below after I sent them a picture of my now rusting fan:

"Hi Patrick, I sent your email to our QC manager with the pic, but unfortunately our warranty doesn't cover the finish of the fans as their subject to environmental conditions beyond our control.

Thank You
Denise @ Minka Group
800-221-7977"
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
Love Minka-Aire fans. They are modern, beautiful, quiet and work well. Although they may cost more than the fans at HD or Lowe's, I have found they are worth the extra $$ in terms of quiet and durability (Have purchased 7 M-A fans in total over the years, 1 HD fan.) I've had one Minka-Aire fan for 6 years that is as quiet as the day I bought it. There are three speeds to this particular fan (6 if you count that the fan can rotate clockwise or counter-clockwise), and the light dims. The fan can work by a hand held remote, or one can purchase a wall mount remote that can fit into a Lutron rectangular faceplate for ~$50. The only downside to this fan is that the light is on the dim side; if you have a desk or dresser in the room, you may want to have an additional table lamp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
We replaced an old wood-grain and brass ceiling fan with the brushed nickel 52" ceiling-hugger Minka Aire fan. This fan is gorgeous, and so simple to install. I thought the brushed nickel might be too industrial-looking, but it is not.

We ordered the outdoor (or "wet") version because we wanted the wall-mounted control and not the remote, even though this fan was going in our living room.

The light is slightly dimmer than our old model that had 4 lights, but we expected that and had a plan to install recessed lighting anyway.

Overall, I am happy we spent the money on this fan. It's perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
This fan is great, super easy installation, very quiet, excellent air movement! I didn't give it 5 stars because the light is not bright enough for me, but I would still buy and highly recommend this fan!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2012
Paired this fan with 2 of the Vaxcel Nautical outdoor pendants in the brushed nickel w/seeded glass. Just the look I wanted on the patio!
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
I had it installed over my outdoor spa. The quality is superb, quiet as a mouse, wireless remote works like a champ, looks awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
Very elegant looking fan. Quiet operation and attractive controls. Bought two fans. One arrived with the fan motor DOA. Returned without issue and ordered a replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2012
Installed this on my patio and I just love it. I got the hand held remote control since my walls are all brick and I had no easy place to install the hard wired remote. They need to change the installation directions. You can install the fan body into the ceiling pan in only 1 direction and they did not state that in the directions. I was getting very frustrated until I realized what the problem was and turned the fan body around. After that the install was slick and easy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2014
DO NOT BUY! The fan is possessed. The light on the fan works, but the fan will work for a few months then stop working for a few months, then magically start working. I've had parts replaced, reset the frequency, blah, blah, blah. Waste of money. The company will only deal with resellers, not consumers. I'm sorry I bought it at Amazon. If I had bought it at our local light store, this would have been remedied by now. I am off to that store to purchase a new non-Minka fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse