Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 154 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 160 reviews
on December 11, 2014
This is quite large, unless cooking for a large family with a mortar as your only tool I can't see needing anything much larger. It fits over 4 large avocados. The stone is nice and rough for things like flowers and small seeds, which this can grind to a fine dust. So it is versatile and large. It handles small quantities as easily as large. Seasoning mortars is a simple process that does not require and great skill, you basically just rinse it, let it dry, grind up some brown rice, and dump it out, and done. You can grind in peppercorns, chili pods or other spices if desired to "season" the stone itself.

One possible issue with some is the bottom is rough. On a fine surface this could scratch. Same with the sides. Typically it is good traction. However if you don't like it rough you can paint the bottom with epoxy paint/resin and lightly sand it for an easy glossy finish. The ones with polished sides are more aesthetically appealing in my opinion, so if you are really into the aesthetics of your kitchen, you may opt for a glossy outside as polished granite is quite beautiful. Those tended to be smaller and more expensive.

The natural stone of this mortar is also appealing and unobtrusive and would likely work for many rustic themed kitchens. It is a nice piece to display next to dark woods, and green plants =) It is granite, so unless you drop it from a great height onto concrete it should last for hundreds or thousands of years, it is what the Rocky mountains are made of after all =) Gets you more in touch with your food, the texture, the smells releasing. It is a slower and more gentler method to grind food than a blender or food processer. High speed commercial blenders warm foods which can oxidize your super-foods. It is fun to experiment with various foods and preparation. It may not seem like much of a difference in mindstate, but just not hearing a whirring blender that you have to shout over, or the annoying rattle of a coffee grinder, the stone is much earthier.

It's just a mortar!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
This mortar and pestle is perfect. It’s got a nice large capacity (frankly, if I could fit a larger one into my kitchen I would, since making sauces in this thing is so incredible) and is solid, solid, SOLID. The interior of the mortar bowl is JUST perfectly textured enough to grind things fine, but not so coarse as to flake or break off. Never a worry about rock dust (or worse) in your food.

Yes, it weighs a LOT. But you need that weight in order to pummel spices into submission and create delicious, creamy sauces.

I have now made aioli a number of times, and it’s incredibly easy – just thrown in a handful of peeled cloves of garlic (I slice each one about three times across the grain first – smashing cross-grain is the only thing that takes a little longer in this monster), add a pinch of coarse salt, and begin mashing. When the garlic and salt is a coarse paste, start drizzling in extra virgin olive oil. Use an up-and-down “pouncing” motion with the pestle, pushing down at the far side of the bowl and pulling toward you as you raise the pestle. It takes a minute but you’ll soon get the hang – you need to hold the pestle loosely so it sort of jounces up and down. Keep up that motion as you drizzle in the oil, and it soon begins to emulsify – even without an egg yolk!

I also use this for nut sauces that I use on pasta – cashew sauce, and peanut sauce with fresh ginger are my particular favorites.

It makes extremely short work of herb sauces, too. And of course, will pulverize peppercorns, juniper berries, cardamom pods – you name it – in short order.

It also looks GREAT on my counter top! I could not be more pleased with this mortar and pestle. It is amazing!
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon September 19, 2014
This is the LARGEST and the highest quality Mortar set that I have ever used! For me, I prefer to use this set when I am crushing lots of herbs, spices and then mixing the wet ingredients into this bowl after I have crushed my herbs. The benefit of this is that the pestle is so heavy and has a wide bottom, it does a very quick job of crushing the herbs first.
Then when I add each of my liquid ingredients, I use the pestle for my stirrer. So in a sense, this set I use for a mixing bowl.

I have used this set to make sauces and then placed this bowl with the sauce I prepared into my microwave (with inverted saucer on top) and the sauce thickened and it was wonderful. By the way, instead of flour to thicken my sauce, I use cornstarch and mix it first into my herbs BEFORE I add my water and other wet ingredients.
After I microwave this, I let it sit for about one minute on my counter and the sauce thickens on it's own.

***Helpful hint - This set (both the bowl and the pestle) are very, very ROUGH at first. What I did to fix this is to wash out the bowl and the pestle well and let them dry. Then I seasoned both of these with Canola Oil. I rubbed a generous amount of this oil in the OUTSIDE and INSIDE of the bowl with my fingertips. Then I wiped this clean with a clean cloth. Then the next day, I repeated this all over again and the result is that the set is SMOOTHER, LOOKS BETTER and so so easy to clean.

Highly recommend this set.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
I was a bit worried that even four cups was going to look like a small device, but what I did not think about is this is a thick device so it definitely looks really capable and strong. Now I know I probably could have made my own with a chisel if I wanted to. But for thirty dollars on Amazon prime, it is hard not to take it. I can always sell some items to make up for the cost. This thing really does make a kitchen look special and more sophisticated. I wanted something that did not need electricity to be used. It looks sexy and just reminds me that the past did some things better. Treat it with rice and then some bread to give it a coating. When it came in there was rock dust on it.

It took a while to get to actually buying this, so glad I finally went ahead and made the purchase. There is a granite one from Thailand, but it would take so much longer to arrive. If you are an outdoorsman there are plants you can collect and grind with this and turn into liquids or whatever. This makes all that possible. I remember looking up on the internet how to make food dye naturally. They show you ways of squeezing the plant color out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
This thing is a beast. It's got a lot of heft and makes grinding spices a lot easier than my old, cheap, porcelain mortar and pestle. It takes maybe 15 to 20 minutes of cleaning and prepping it for the first use (grind rice to flour, smash garlic and herbs) but if you like cooking, it's kind of fun, and you only have to do it once. Just don't drop it on your toe. It weighs a lot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
This is everything I hoped it would be. It arrived in a sad way, in the manufacturer's box that was inadequate, at best, packaged in an Amazon box alongside a pack of reading glasses that it, according to its purpose in life, pulverized, but Amazon gave me my money back for the glasses.

We tried mint in the mortar first. We have been dehydrating our mint and crushing it in a processor, but couldn't get the pieces tiny enough to just drop into a glass of iced tea. This did the job and in no time! It was so much fun that my daughter took over and finished the entire container of mint and is now out harvesting more. Am I clever, or what?

It's huge, heavy, and perfect for anything I can think of. It's easy to clean, too. I didn't season it, perhaps I should, but the trial run with mint went very well.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
This is very similar, if not identical to the highly recommended 7" Thai mortars found here and online. Both models have 7" od, 5" id bowls and a 7" pestle. I don't know why this is listed as an 8" mortar, and the listing should probably be changed. Nevertheless, it's a good value for the money considering that you get free shipping; and it is probably more than adequate for most needs, which is why I gave it 5 stars. BTW, the 8" mortars have an id of 5.5". Not much difference imho.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
I love, love, love this mortar and pestle. Got it as a gift for my brother-in-law who is an avid cook and gardener. Great size. Plenty of heft in bowl and pestle so you can grind easily. The bowl won't slide around on you, I don't believe. Nice looking so that it can sit out and, though I haven't ground anything in it myself, it seems just the right proportions for it with a rough bottom and a bowl of just the right depth. So much better than the little marble one I have. You could whip up some guacamole, grind herbs, coffee beans - whatever else you would need. I think I am going to order myself one. It's my favorite Christmas present go give this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
As mentioned by others, not a 4 cup mortar and pestle. Seems decent for what it is though. A bit roughly shaped, with a couple of chips on the rim and a few flat spots on the outside edge. Inner bowl is bowl shaped though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2017
It has been used several times every week now and we just did't know how much we would end up using it. It is so easy to use. Pounded the rice in it to make sure all the loose stove was gone and have never seen any bits of stone in anything
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse