Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 133 reviews
on August 13, 2017
My favorite author of all time! I started reading his books in around 2009 and have worked my way threw them all, and now I'm rereading them. From the core point of a twenty something, they just don't write like this anymore! A thrilling page Turner that I couldn't put down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2017
just another great book by a great author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2008
The thing I love about Ruth Rendell is that in addition to having a good who-dun-it, she also explores how British life is changing and what ordinary people think of that. She does that again in this one. I guess I'll concede that she sometimes allows characters to do this in a self-conscious way that might seem a "tad" dated. But her characters aren't supposed to be hip urbanites who wouldn't possibly use a term from the 90s. They're supposed to be small-town police officers who are generally well-meaning, but a bit befuddled by it all. And that comes through. I just get lost her in books and forget the events aren't real. She's wonderful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2016
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2008
Ruth Rendell writes superb mysteries, but I enjoy her Wexford characters best. This is a classic Wexford with some surprising twists related to female multilation. A must read if you like Wexford. Not to be missed - the best traditions of the British mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2009
Ruth Rendell is unique, the best of all the "noir" writers. I even like her best when she leaves her detective and signs as Barbara Vine, telling an individual story that's not related to the others. She doesn't work crime, she works the mind of the killer. Only compared to Patricia Highsmith. Any reader who likes sicology must read her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
Predictable...but still kept me reading. Reminds me of a part 2 of THE BEAST WITHIN, the movie from the early 70s. Would make a great B horror movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
Discovered I had already read it but happily reaf ot agaon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
Predictable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
Not one of his best, I am one of his fans but this was not one of his best but it was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse