Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 687 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 843 reviews
on November 4, 2014
I want to congratulate folks at Phillips/Sonicare on hiring the most talented engineers money can buy. With a precision of a swiss time piece they manage to estimate the life cycle of the battery to die right after the warranty expires. When I say “right after” I truly mean it. So you are stuck with a great piece of hardware that you have to throw it away because the batteries are non-replacable.
This is my 3rd (and last) toothbrush from them. In anger I had purchased Oral-B 7000 and could not be happier.
Sonicare vs Oral B
Sonicare handle feel more ergonomic than Oral-B
Sonicare vibrations feel more intense, Oral-B feels more mechanical
Sonicare non replaceable battery (deal breaker for me at this point) Oral-B removable battery
Oral-B separate display showing your brush time, warns you if you are pressing too hard. In addition, it has a nice LED light on the toothbrush itself showing you if you press too hard.
Sonicare- I always hated the crud one had to clean between the head and the unit. In addition if you are not religious enough about it, you will start getting mildew right under the rubber seal on the bottom of the handle. None of those issues are possible with Oral-B.
My overall feeling is Oral-B is more of a no nonsense get the job done type of toothbrush. While Sonicare is still riding on its ultra high rpm technology making you feel like your teeth are cleaner.
Bottom Line- both are great toothbrushes, but unless you are ok shelling our $150 every 2-3 years, Oral-B is a better buy.
Last but not least- Your experience may vary, but my teeth are cleaner with Oral-B. Not sure if a smaller head does a better job or it’s the technology itself, but I have definitely less plaque.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2015
This product comes with 2-year warranty and it is exactly designed for 2 year life-time. I am very disappointed with the customer service and the return policy.
Here are the facts:
In every 3-4 months, you will need to change the heads and it is a commitment
This item is over 100 US Dollars and that means, you are paying $50/year for the body only.

Experience:
After more than a year of use, it started not working. I called the customer service and went through some troubleshooting and re-setting documents. It seemed OK for a while. Then, one day in the middle of the night, it started by itself (while plugged into the charge unit) making a lot of noise. Couple days later, it is not even working...I again called and this time asked for a replacement. Oooops, they can't help me because it has only a 2-year-warranty. Then, I complained and the conversation turned into a questionnaire where I am asked if I dropped it and caused the issue.

Recommendation:
Overall, I was happy with the item until it got broken. If it starts giving you issues. Ask for a return immediately. Do not wait/ go through troubleshooting experience.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2016
I had this product for almost 6 years and it was a very serviceable toothbrush during that time. About half way through the product's life it began to no longer charge and I was sent a replacement charger that helped address the problem, but it quickly redeveloped. Thankfully the product has a good warranty and the manufacturer was able to replace the item for no additional cost. I continued to use the replacement for several years after they sent it out and it worked just as well as the original had. After about 3 years of use the item abruptly stopped charging as well. I tried everything I could, including several different chargers, but the product had reached the end of its life.

From this I was able to ascertain that this is a high quality product that really does make you feel like you have just gone to the dentist after every time you use it. However, it's useful life appears to be roughly 3 years based on the two that I have owned thus far. Given the design of the product, once the battery will no longer charge it effectively kills the entire product as it cannot be replaced. However, for the price 3 years of usefulness is worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2015
Sonicare toothbrushes work very well. My teeth feel cleaner than they ever have with a traditional toothbrush. I bought one of these (Flexcare), and it lasted 3 years and 4 months.

I had used the basic Elite series for a while, but the screw-in brushes got gross and smelly, so when the toothbrush died, I got the flex care. I like the snap on brush heads for these brushes. These are great brushes and do a great job cleaning, but I think they are too expensive and they include features I never used (and would bet most people don't use).

When this one died, I decided to go with the most basic Sonicare toothbrush that had the quadpacer and this style of snap-on brush head. At the time of this review, that ends up being the Gum Health Sonicare, which is $80 vs. the Flexcare at $130. So far, I'm happy with the gum health toothbrush, but it's only been a week. It's not quite as sleek as the Flexcare, but given that I never used the advanced features of the Flexcare, I feel like I've made a smarter purchase this time around. We'll see how long it lasts though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you are looking for an excellent electric toothbrush that will make your dental hygienist happy....look no further. This is it.

This "kit" contains:
1 Sonicare Flexcare rechargeable toothbrush handle which is the "business" part of the tooth brush.
1 ProResults brush head that fits on to the handle. This brush should be replaced every three or so months.
1 Smallish (3.5" x 3") multi-voltage "deluxe" travel charger with "cord wrap" and "brush head storage" (two tiny pins on the back hold extra brushes, should you have them...yippee!)
1 "Hygienic travel cap" which is a clear plastic "dust" cap that fits over the brush when not in use.
1 "Luxury soft travel case" which is a cheap plastic fold over case with a "Phillips" label on the front. This case will only hold the toothbrush, not the charger so if you are taking a trip the poor little multi-voltage charger goes without it's own case.

Sonicare makes several toothbrush models. FlexCare is a good choice because it allows the user to select three brushing modes: regular, sensitive, or massage. These three modes operate for two minutes each. There are also two additional pre programmed brushing time routines: the "Go Care" which is a one minute routine for the person with poor-to-fair dental habits and the three minute "Max Care" combined clean and massage cycle for the truly obsessive-compulsive.

Are these timers really necessary? No, absolutely not! Are they helpful? Yes! I admit to cheating on my brush time. Having a little buzzer going off every 30 seconds is a helpful reminder to switch to the next quadrant before my sleep befuddled head hits the medicine cabinet.

Another nice feature is a battery life gauge which lets you know when its time to recharge, should you be the kind of person who does not store the brush on the charger when not in use.

The charge on these brushes lasts a long time. In fact, you can travel with just the brush handle for up to a week with out the need for the charger.

My household has been using these brushes for a while now. We have the FlexCare model that comes with two handles and a UV sanitizer charger base and a travel base. The reason for purchasing this new single unit is that someone (who shall go unnamed) tried to replace the brush and somehow, someway bent the metal pin attachment on the end of the handle. I have no idea how this happened because this metal pin is in no way fragile....but there you have it! Unfortunately, Phillips does not sell just the handle, you have to purchase the entire new kit and this kit is the least expensive one available.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
This toothbrush molds no matter what you do. You'll not want to put it in your mouth. I had to switch to a different one. The pictures are after I scrubbed it had with straight bleach. I plan to contact the company in any case...
review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
Updating my review here. I meant to do this a while ago.

First off phillips replaced both of my handsets so I actual have a spare when one does die.

second I made a remark to my dentist about how the sonicares kept breaking on me and he actual told me that the newer models have some give in the post to stop people from brushing too hard with them. If you press too hard you will over time damage this "feature". Apparently you can recede your gum line by pressing too hard with the sonicare and other electronic brushes. I think phillips could of done a better job explaining why this new design is in place and warn people. For those of you like me who didnt know about this now you do. I left my original review below.

**********************************
I've been using the sonicare toothbrush line since 1998.

My first unit lasted until 2002 when I purchased a elite model because my sonicare original broke (battery still worked but unit wouldn't vibrate).

That elite model lasted me until may of 2010.

I bought a flexcare elite with uv sterilizer in may of 2010 it died in April of 2011!

I bought this flexcare in April of 2011 and it died the exact same way today as the last one did.

The brush began to vibrate violently for probably 3 days and then this morning it "clicked" and lost all power. I can here it vibrate still but the head gets none of the power. I now have 2 base units that have died in the exact same way.

I will call them tomorrow but I find it completely unacceptable that I will now need to buy a new one every year. Such a successful product with such a successful legacy and they have clearly decided to "cheap out" just like every other manufacturer on this planet. I hate the race to the bottom and try my best to buy premium items that I would hope last.

i will update my review after I talk to phillips and see how they will handle this.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
This toothbrush really does a great job of cleaning even with a soft brush, so long as you apply a bit of pressure. The one drawback is the built-in timer that, so far as i can tell, cannot be turned off. The company has decided how long you should brush and to carry out their intentions, the timing mechanism beeps once a minute. It's not the sound that is so objectionable but rather the fact that the beep slightly zaps the brush off your tooth surface, breaking your rhythm and causing the brush to miss the spot it was about to brush. This happens twice per cycle and after three minutes the brush automatically turns off.

I don't appreciate that my toothbrush has that much of a mind of its own. I would much prefer making my own brushing decisions!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
The brushes worked exceptionally well, and for that reason I paid their premium. HOWEVER, they break. This is my second try with Sonicare, I thought maybe they upped their quality with all these positive reviews. I was wrong. They made it smaller, added some more buttons, but is still breaks too soon.

This flexcare one first broke within the warranty period and they sent me a new one. The replacement broke 1 month after the warranty ended and they refused to replace it again. Now I have two landfill hazards.

For what these cost, they should go like the energizer bunny.

I’m now in search of an alternative to Sonicare, I suggest you do the same. And if more people rate this low for breaking, maybe they will improve their product. Like I said, when it works its great, but it should last.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2011
I bought this toothbrush as a replacement for the last Sonicare toothbrush that I left behind in a hotel room. I've been using this product for over two years and I love it. It has several options for different cleanings, even a sensitive setting, and it is easy to use. It is timed for two minutes so you get a full brushing. It even has a setting for a quick brushing that lasts for one minute instead of the usual two minutes. It has a nice little interrupting vibration to let you know when to switch quadrants of your mouth. Using this toothbrush leaves your teeth with the same feeling as having your dentist performing a cleaning. It will take a little getting used to at first, but it is worth it.

The battery stays charged for weeks and the travel charger is pretty compact. The full charging takes about 12-15 hours. The battery indicator is pretty accurate and will let you know when you need to charge it. Even on the lowest level and it turning orange, I still get another 2-3 days of brushing out of it. The replacement brushes run about $20 for three. But those can last 2-3 months each.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here