Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only $29.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on February 10, 2017
I bought this TV in July of 2008. At the time it was top of the line and according to Amazon I paid over $2500 for it. It has been moved to different houses and different states, and even spent a year in storage while I was playing in the beautiful sands of exotic Iraq. The amazing this is that it still works. It may be showing its age as some of the "touch of color" has turned in to a bit of "touch of cracking," but the thing just wont die. I even wanted it to die so that I could get a new one, but it wouldn't. Sadly, (luckily) it wouldn't fit in the area we needed it to fit in, in our newest house, so I upgraded to a new Samsung 60" UHD (yea the 60' fits, but this 52' tv wont due to its gigantic bezel). Anyways...good job Samsung, maybe make more stuff like this and less stuff like exploding phones and washing machines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2009
This is the very BEST TV that I have ever owned!!!

I am so excited to share a few things with you about my purchase.

DELIVERY:
Delivery was VERY smooth...make sure you get the "white glove" service if you don't have someone to help you because the box is huge and it takes TWO men to carry it inside. PLUS the delivery men take it out of the box and plug it in and check it to make sure that it didn't get damaged during transporting. Worth the extra money!

SETUP
I had Dish Tv come and set it up for me because I bought a new HD TV receiver and I am a woman...so better to have Dish do it than me trying to figure it out...however, the connections and the book look very simple after all!

PICTURE SETTINGS V/S FACTORY SETTINGS
The picture is so perfect, that I have never even wanted to adjust it...I think the "factory settings" are PERFECT, and wonderfully bright and clear and I am VERY excited over the picture quality of this Samsung TV.

TOUCH OF COLOR V/S GLARE?
Regarding the "Touch of Red Color"...I can't even notice any red touch of color at all..it is SO SUBTLE... and there is NO glare or problem with it either in the daylight or the nightlight.
It's PERFECT...don't know what others were fussing about!!??

"FIVE DIFFERENT SIZES" of PICTURE...your choice!
Here is something no one has talked about (not in any of the previous reviews):
This is a feature that I LOVE SO MUCH...and that is: You have "Five different" sizes or ways that you can view your picture in! That is right. Here are the following sizes that you can control from your remote (even with my Dish remote):
1. you can use the "normal" size which takes on whatever the show is offering the program in...

2. You can use the "stretch" size which stretches the whole picture from side to side and it does fill out the "whole" screen...

3. you can use the "partial zoom" which "enlarges" the whole picture...

4. you can use the "zoom" size which really
enlarges the total picture on your screen... great if you have company that is sitting further away...

5. You can use the "gray bar" which has an about "4" gray stripe on each side with the picture in the middle (no gray strips on the top or bottom...and this looks very nice).

The "normal size" picture sometimes fills up the whole screen but sometimes has "black "4" strips on the sides of the picure (like the gray bars size), but it depends on the program or movie you watch...because the "normal size"
will change with the program...but you can change it to any of the "5 different size settings" with your remote...
I LOVE THIS FEATURE!!! Keeps you from getting bored...but most of all you can try all the different 5 sizes to see
which one makes the picture look the best...LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!...and can't believe that no one ever mentioned this
in their reviews that I read.

WHY I BOUGHT A SAMSUNG
The reason I bought this brand is because I went to several large stores selling TVs and looked and compared all
their tvs that were displayed next to each other...WOW...the Samsung totally BLOWS ALL the other brands OUT OF THE WATER PEOPLE!!! Go and see for yourself... I had to laugh, that at one store, they had the Samsung tvs and the Samsung Blu-Ray player completely far away from the other brands...or they would probably not be able to sell the others!!! LOL

DO I THINK I MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE?
Now I will tell you that I ABSOLUTELY made the BEST choice by buying this Samsung HDTV.

I am in BLISSFUL HEAVEN here all day!!! What an advanced television! LOVE IT!!!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon February 21, 2009
We're on week two with this amazing TV. We had no problems with the delivery. In fact, it was delivered and set up in our home two days after ordering it. I connected it to a Samsung BD-P2500 1080p Blu-ray Disc Player and watched Planet Earth. The minute the Earth appeared I started laughing. After watching a 25-year-old TV this was quite the shock to the system. We also have AT&T U-Verse. The HD programming is stunning. In fact, I find myself watching shows HD shows I don't even like because it's so hypnotizing. All devices are connected via HDMI. My favorite part of the TV (besides the picture) is that it comes with an optical audio out. This means that I have one optical audio cable that runs from the TV to the stereo receiver. This has simplified things for me trying to explain to my wife which remote runs which item and how to get the stereo sound on. Basically, the TV is an audio switch. Everything goes in, one cord comes out. Simple.

Previous reviewers complained about the glare on the TV or the frame. We have it in a well-lit room next to a sliding glass door. I have yet to be bothered by any glare. The TV is just too bright for glare to show. As to the glare on the frame, give me a break. The blinking "12:00" on the old VCR is more distracting than any glare on the frame.

The 750 is simply stunning. The picture quality is great, and the screen is huge. The sound is wonderful and the added plus of connecting it via ethernet and viewing photos off my Flickr account is a bonus. The remote lights up when moved which is great for older eyes in the dark.

We've waited two years for this. And I've researched this to death. With over 200 real-life reviews, I'm not going to repeat all the technical info. Although we're average TV and movie watchers we know a great thing when we see it.

I'd give it 6 stars out of five if I could.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2008
As a TV I cannot complain. The 1080p resolution is great. The 120hz update rate is amazing. Watching television, playing games, and watching movies is very enjoyable.

So all the fundamental reasons for me getting a new TV are met, however all the 'extra' features come up a little short. The DLNA feature currently useless for me. The Samsung server software can only host videos and pics that are on your local harddrive. I have all my stuff on an external harddrive. TVersity currently does not play well w/ the tv either. Hopefully Samsung or someone will release a better DLNA server app.

The RSS feeds to the television are nice, but are not configurable. So the only feed you can get is from usa today.

PIP is only possible with analog signals, meaning you cannot watch two HDMI inputs are the same time. (Who has a 52 inch 1080p tv and watches 2 analog inputs?)

The sound system is not great. Eventhough it comes with a (or extra) woofer, the sound is about the same as any other tv out there. I dont really notice a difference. I havent heard the sound from the 650 series, but I cant imagine that there is that much difference.

So overall I am pleased with the purchase because all of my requirements were met, but all the 'bells and whistles' came up short. I probably would have been just as happy with 650 series, but amazon had such a great price (low price, free shipping, no tax) on this one I cant really complain. If you are looking to save a few bucks get the 650. I am crossing my fingers that there will be in the near future a firmware update which will resolve the DLNA and RSS feed issues. If this becomes the case I will REALLY be pleased with the TV.

The one thing I really prefer over the 650 is the touch of color on the 750 goes around the entire tv, whereas the 650 only has it on the top and bottom. This is purely aesthetic reason and it can only be seen in a well lit room.

On a side note, CEVA delivered the TV 6 days earlier than the expected arrival date. The TV was ordered on thursday and it was in my house by the next week friday (6 days). I live in california and the TV originated from the east coast.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 31, 2008
[...]

Amazon tracking indicated it would take 2 weeks to arrive. CEVA tracking listed it at two days earlier. I received the call for delivery in less than a week - and this included the holiday period!

CEVA showed up with it yesterday. The heavy cardboard box had an 18" gash/tear in it and my heart sank. They removed the box and I noticed the screen was supported about 8" from the cardboard and there were no signs that whatever caused the gash had touched anything. We quickly plugged it into the wall and ran it thru some of the built-in menus. Relief - everything worked fine. With the 30-day return guarantee there was nothing more to worry about.

The previous day Amazon had delivered a new Onkyo receiver to replace my older Yamaha. I had already disconnected the Yamaha and wired all the components and speakers to this new receiver (to take advantage of its HDMI capabilities). It now only took a couple hours to make the final connections with the receiver, cable sysem, over-the-air antenna, HTPC and network.

Every single system worked perfectly, even though it sometimes took a few minutes to discover the correct input settings on each device to get everything communicating. The biggest surprise was the quality of the picture. After reading everything I could find on various forums I expected to have some tweaking to do before obtaining the best images. While critically inspecting the imagery for each type of input I could not see a need to adjust anything! Just for experimentation I did make a few selections of alternate settings, but always wound up returning to the original. I'll likely use an Avia program to verify adjustments later, but can't imagine any improvement.

The "halo effect" feature on the upper and lower bezel was obvious (albeit faint) to see, but it was not distracting. In fact, if there were a switch available to turn it on and off, I'd still leave it on - it's neat! The red bezel highlighting (the TOC) is so subtle that it is nearly invisible. If I didn't know it was there I'd likely not have even noticed it. Perhaps it would be more visible in a room with bright daylighting?

Another neat feature is the touch sensitive controls on the lower right bezel. They are invisible until you touch the area, causing them to temporarily sequentially illuminate. I haven't fully explored this feature yet.

Another nice feature was discovering that I could hook up the computer to HDMI connection #2 and play computer games without any special adjustments. There was no lag or any problem except that I'll need to upgrade the computer's video card in order to take the display all the way up to its full resolution. Nevertheless, the Samsung must have been upscaling the image since it was extremely sharp. (Same thing with the 480i DVDs we played on it - very sharp). When not in use we intend to leave the computer hooked up so the Samsung will continuously display it's screensaver which cross-fades family photos like a huge digital picture frame.

The Samsung has a TOSLINK out connection which I connected to the receiver. This vastly simplifies audio connections since all audio sent to the TV can be amplified from a single connection to the receiver. If you can connect everything via HDMI there will be significantly fewer wires and a much more simplified operation.

The only thing I would have preferred is if the base would swivel. I understand the 650 models swivel, can't imagine why Samsung wouldn't include that feature here.

We're very happy with this purchase.

EDIT- 6-18-08
After nearly 3 weeks of use we are even more impressed with this TV.

I have upgraded the video card on the attached computer so that it can now attain full 1080p resolution, only to find the text too small to be readable at a normal viewing distance of about 12 feet with my 60-yr-old eyes. Backing off the resolution makes the text large enough to read while retaining its razor-sharpness.

The attached computer is connected with a wireless hub to my home network, allowing it to stream pictures, music, or movies from any of the computers. The TV must be upconverting the movies to 1080p because they are displayed more clearly than when sent to a regular computer monitor.

The hub also provides a patch cable to the TVs' network port, which allows it to run all the InfoLink connection functions (weather, news, stocks) without the need to even configure that connection.

We added a PS3 a week ago to view blu-ray movies. What an incredible picture! Even though we are using inexpensive $3 HDMI cables, there was no flickering or other problem as reported on another Amazon review. My son tested out his new Metal Gear PS3 game and was impressed with the image and game play. We used the default settings and did not even switch to "game" mode.

We've now had time to run THX and TVBlink video calibration tests and were not surprised to find that all the default settings were already set to the optimum values for our personal tastes.

The set is now mounted on one of those entertainment center "stalks" which allows it to be easily rotated (for easier access to the rear connections). This mounting has taken care of the only complaint we had about this set - its' lack of a swivel base.

Edit - 7-16-08
After 6 weeks of use I must say that this has proven to be one awesome piece of electronics. I simply cannot believe how great this set has performed. The color and details have greatly exceeded my highest expectations. We have begun replaying our old DVD library because the upscaling capabilities built into this set appears to make them very comparable to the Blu-Ray movies we've viewed. It's like seeing a new movie!

It is quite a kick to be using the computer while watching the nightly news in HD via the PIP function.

A lot of people have calibrated their sets using the published settings on AVSforum.com. We tested all of those settings and found that they each resulted in a darker picture that has lost details in shadowy areas and the colors are dull, without the "pop" of the factory settings. Keep in mind that our entertainment area is in a dark, windowless room which should make viewing dimmer features easier. We tried compensating the calibration with various picture adjustments but were unable to attain comparable performance. After a week of trying to perceive any improvements we reverted our settings back to the original, tweaked, factory settings.

Several people have made similar observations, leading us to a conclusion that either there is a wide discrepancy between personal preferences and/or each of these sets have varying image displays. We have no doubt that many people do see improved performance after calibrating their sets - but before you spend a lot of money on professional calibration try the AVSforum settings first to verify if you see any improvement.

The only complaint we have is that we've now been spoiled by what this set can do. We picked up a new Samsung T260HD computer monitor (which also includes an HDTV tuner). This is a 26" monitor that has a similar TOC bezel to match the LN52A750. You can read our review here on Amazon - in a nutshell, we are disappointed with it's performance.
2525 comments| 196 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2008
I purchase this tv (LN52A750) around july 1st. after using this tv for about 4 weeks it burned. What a disappointment. i called samsung(Sep 05, 2008), they asured me, they will contact me within 24 to 48 hours to schedule an appointment to fix the tv. it is now Sep 17, 2008 still i have not received any phone call (No surprise according to other feedbacks. But i am greatfull for the excellent customer service from AMAZON.COM, They took the tv back today and they've already gave me full refund. I gave one star rating because this product failed and samsung customer service did not bother at all to take care of this defective TV.
It looks like samsung has very POOR customer and technical service.
By the way i recommend voltage regulator or Conditioner (APC LE-1200 from Amozon for about $50.00 , if you plan to buy any LCD or Plasma TV.

Update: 2 days ago oct 1 I received another LN52A750 and you guessed it; again was defective. this time picture quality was bad and i could not be able to adjust it. So they picked up the tv today.

By the way samsung co. just called to reschedule the repair for the first tv that i've already returned. wow they called me back after 25 days.

I received my Third LN52A750 on Oct. 11, 2008 and so far it works excellent. I think 3rd time was a charm for me. I love networking feature that able me to see all my photos and videos remotely from other rooms.

i will post additional comments when i have this tv for about 2 months to make sure comment is reliable and i'll change Star rating accordingly.

Update May 28, 2014: This TV still works perfectly. No problem what so ever. I'm very happy with my Purchase. But these days LCD is out and 3D LED is in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 2009
Overall Impression: I love this set, best thing since sliced bread.
Pros: Great picture, still can't believe it!
Excellent feature set.
Cons: None so far.

Unfortunately I have not completed the room yet that this was purchased for, and it is now temporarily in my bedroom. The sound for a TV is very good imo, plenty of volume, but not sure I would call it surround. Ran it this way for several days before the 7.1 surround receiver arrived and speakers were hooked up in 5.1 mode. Picture quality is excellent, with excellent detail, accurate color, and brightness. I have so far played blue ray movies via a PS3 which is just like being there, and upscaled from VHS and standard DVD player (good quality, but not as well as the engine in the Onkyo TX-NR906 receiver). Over air HDTV, satellite, or the ethernet capability has not been tried due to the current setup location, I will update once this has happened. I like the look of the "Touch of Color" bezel with minimal red at the edge, and so far in the month I have had it has not cracked. Note: I looked but was unable to notice the "halo effect" in complete darness that was mentioned in a number of reviews. Overall, I am completely thrilled with the set and still grinning from ear to ear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2009
I decided to upgrade during the christmas season from a 55 inch rear projection to this tv and I can say easily this TV is awesome. The picture quality is excellent. The features are abundant, to the point you won't use many. There are some issues, such as the click while on the remote which is like what most users say, its not very sensitive and accurate.

After calibrating the TV and watching some blu-ray disc's I'm amazed at the picture quality. The sound is not that great, but is offset since its hooked up to my A/V setup. Nothing fancy, but it makes a remarkable difference in sound quality. I also played PS3 games and was very pleased with the gameplay.

The 120hz feature is a nice feature and does take some getting used to. The art gallery is also a nice to have but not a necessity.

I compared this TV with others, phillips, sony, toshiba, panasonic and this beat them all out when comparing picture quality, design, and features. The HD picture quality makes me question why I didn't get one earlier, but then looking at the original price I had a sudden realization as to why. :)

Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase and hope to get many years of use out of the tv and would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2008
The only problem I've had with this set is that twice since I've owned it when I turned it on it started uncontrollably searching through channels and the only way I could regain control was to pull the plug, wait a few seconds and plug it back in. It always started acting normally after the power cycle, and since it only happened twice in the two weeks I've had it set up, I'm not going to worry about it (hopefully it won't become a trend). The picture is great! I'm running my Replay TV, DVD/VCR combo, HP Media Extender and Cox HD DVR through a Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K. It took me a while to get everything tuned properly (and probably still have some tweaking to do) but overall, it's King Kong!

BTW, I was a little hesitant to order something as big and sensitive as this TV over the internet, but Amazon was GREAT! I'm ordering all of my stuff from them in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2010
I purchased my Samsung LN52A750 in August of 2008. The picture is really good and in general I like the TV a lot. Early December 2009 I started to experience problems with the TV turning itself off and on. At first it would do this for a minute or so and then stay on and work fine. After several days of it doing this it just never came back on. It would constantly turn itself off and on and i was forced to unplug the TV. I went to Samsung's website and attempted their suggested work around. Since the work around did not fix the problem it was recommended that I should open a service call. I setup an appointment with the local service department that is affiliated with Samsung, they came out and in about an hour they fixed the problem.

So what was the problem? A pair of $4.00 25W capacitors which were replaced with 50W capacitors. I spent $2,400.00 dollars on this TV and it breaks after less than 1 1/2 years? This issue is not isolated to just me, there are plenty of people experiencing this issue. Please see link on the [...] thread ([...]) or Google "Samsung ln52a750 TV turning on and off" to see all the other folks experiencing the problem.

I spoke with Samsung customer support requesting that they cover the complete expense of the repair ($300.00) even though I was out of warranty. It is my feeling that for the amount of money I paid for the TV it should not break in less than a year and a half. I could have purchased a second tier brand like Vizio for half the price. I thought I was getting not only a better TV from a technology stand point but also a better TV in terms of the quality of the components.

Samsung refused to honor my request saying that the repair occurred outside of my warranty. They said that if the part broke again they would cover that repair expense. The repair tech installed a replacement part that was double the capacity of the original equipment! What is the likeliness that the new capacitors would break? I told them that refusing to honor my request would result in Samsung loosing me as a customer. They told me that was my choice. I told them that I would post warnings to friends on Facebook not to buy Samsung TV's because of their poor customer service and substandard parts. They said that was my choice as well.

I feel Samsung has totally dropped the ball on this. They did not offer me any type of compensation for all the time and money I spent getting their shoddy TV fixed. Saying your sorry can only go so far. I have lost all respect for Samsung and will make sure I try to tell as many people as possible to go with Sony or some other brand for their TV purchases.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse