Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 40 reviews
on September 4, 2010
I bought this bag along with the Lowepro Fastpack 350 to compare them to see which one would be best for me. The previous reviews of the Wolverine that mentioned not being able to fit a laptop in the laptop compartment had me worried, and I wanted to make sure I had a bag that would work for my upcoming trip. The outer dimensions of my laptop are 14.5 x 10.5 (15.4" widescreen Sony Vaio). It does fit in the laptop compartment, but I have to slide it diagonally in towards the top of the bag first, then work the bottom part in. It's not easy, but the upside is, there's no way the laptop will fall out if you forget to zip it up. I don't have a 17" laptop handy to see if it will fit in the bag, but if I had to guess I would say no.

Other than that, this bag is everything it claims to be. It has enough pockets and compartments to please the most serious packrat, the construction seems top notch, the shoulder and waist straps are comfortable with lots of available adjustment. It's not a small bag, but is comparable to the Fastpack 350 in size (which isn't nearly as comfortable by the way). The Wolverine is a little heavier than the Fastpack 350, but the Wolverine's material is more durable. The included rain cover is a nice touch as well. The thing I really like about it is that it looks just like a normal backpack. There's nothing about it that proclaims to the world that it could be stuffed full of camera equipment.

Another nice thing is the camera padding is removable, and once removed the lower part of the backpack is accessible from the top compartment opening. So if you don't need to use the camera storage area, the space becomes more useful.

End result, I will be returning the Lowepro. Although it is a nice bag, I think I will get more use out of the Wolverine. I'll try to remember to update this review after my trip. Hopefully I will still be pleased with it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
I had been looking for a flexible carry-on travel case where I could pack my camera equipment, inspection instruments, and computer. With all the pockets and cushioned lower section it easily holds everything I need for a 1 day trip. The back compartment easily fits my 16" laptop ( recently replaced by an i-pad) and the side compartments fit my video camera and point-and-shoot camera.
I waited 3 years to complete this review because I wanted to see how rugged and well built it was. Having used it regularly for the past 3 years I can tell everyong that not one single clasp, seam, buckle or zipper has broken. I was concerned when I saw the plastic clasps but they have shown no signs of breaking. The backpack is hard to clean and but I go into very dirty environments such as construction sites and fire scenes. However, that makes it look even more rugged and well-used. It comfortably fits my Nikon D90, speed flash, and an extra telescopic lens. I carry two small flashlights, my i-pad, and the upper section carries an extra set of clothes and/or tape measures, multimeter, or calipers. I recently discoverd there is a built-in cover that can be pulled out and draped over the backpack to keep it dry during a rainstorm. It fits in an overhead bin on the larger planes easily. On the regional jets you'll need to unzip the lower camera section and lay it flat to fit in their overhead bins. I consistantly get compliments on the versitility and the looks of the pack. It rides comfortably on my back and has a removable aluminum back support.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2012
I had been looking for a backpack for my Rebel T2i that could also carry other things I might want during an excursion. Although it was more than I wanted to spend (which was under $70,) I couldn't help but get this backpack. NO REGRETS!!!

As other reviewers have stated, it is big but not overwhelming in my opinion. I'm a 5' 6" female. I can see it being crazy heavy if you really filled it up to the gills.

There are SO MANY POCKETS! You can put camera stuff, phones, iPods, wallets, water bottles, lunches, probably a thousand pens or pen-like objects, etc. In fact, it has pen loops in the top outer pocket and they ARE open on the bottom. This is nice because I bought Amazon's lens pen - it fits great and I don't have to worry about the cap getting stuck in the bottom of a pen loop.

Other reviewers are split on the laptop pocket - I have a Toshiba L755 15.6" laptop and it fits fine. The outer edges measure a hair under 15" x a hair under 10". As one reviewer said, if you put the top in first and then slide the bottom in, it fits fine. I don't see it ever being difficult to get in or out but there is a "system" to it.

This bag is sturdy, I don't think dirt will really show on it. As long as nothing too expensive were inside, I'd have no qualms about tossing this around. You could probably lock most of the zippers with a luggage lock if you needed to. Plus, I like the look - it reminds me of something from the Army-Navy store.

If you don't have more than 2-3 lenses and prefer a carry-all bag to a straight DSLR backpack, this is the bag to get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
I was in the market for a bag that acted as a backpack first, and camera bag second. I needed space for a change of clothes, laptop/ipad, overnight essentials, so on and so forth. But I really only needed space for the camera body, and 2 lenses.

All the bags I found had space for numerous lenses and flashes, but little space for carrying anything else.

This bag seemed like it had a very large compartment for additional goodies, but also a nice convenient pocket for my camera.

I think I underestimated the size, and overall usability of this backpack. It's big, I mean really damn big. Way bigger than I was looking for. The pictures certainly don't do it justice.

This seems like it's for someone who is going backpacking through a foreign country, or on hiking trips on a regular basis. If you are planning to use this in a city, going through the subway (like myself) then this is not the bag for you.

Otherwise, it seemed to be made of very good materials, and was undoubtedly very rugged. It just didn't fit my needs, so I ended up returning it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2011
This thing is a beast, but in a very good way. I own a Crumpler The Brazillion Dollar Home for traveling, and a couple of Pelican 1510 Case with Foam (Black) that my gear is usually stored and moved around in. I've tried backpack combos by Lowpro and Tamrac but really wanted something more utilitarian. The Wolverine is just that. A typical pack up for me is a large camera body, a couple of small primes, two large pieces of glass, a speed-light or two, remote triggers, and some grip gear. If I'm taking along the MacBook then this is perfect for the 13" model, but I'm sure the 15 squeezes in just fine.

As soon as I received mine and tested the fit and capacity I quickly took to making some changes. The first big thing was removing the waste and hip straps. The second was the removal of the aluminum support beams. I've saved these in the event of taking this much gear backpacking someplace, but really there is not enough upper storage in this bag to support a really long outdoor hike ranging several miles and back, so I just didn't need the extra bulk. This bag has become my primary outdoor travel bag for my camera and laptop. I don't use it very often, but this is the first one I reach for when I need the storage space and just have to take a ton of kit with me on a day hike or quick trip.

Great build quality and durability. Heavy, but worth it. This thing is a work horse.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2012
Took this pack on a day hike to carry my camera gear and a few supplies. Overall I am very pleased wit the quality of this product. The camera section held my Cannon Xti with a 24-85mm lens attached and a 70-200mm lens. The big lens was a little to long for the compartment and pushed against the divider between the top and bottom sections of the bag, but this was not a big deal as I did not have anything heavy in the top. The top compartment was a good size for a couple of sandwiches, a windbreaker, and some other basics, but don't expect to bring supplies for a multiple day hike. The canvas is very thick and durable and this makes the pack pretty heavy. I removed the aluminum slats and the waist band for this trip because the pack felt comfortable without them. This product lost the 5th star because the waist strap cannot be removed without cutting off the leather patches covering the ends of the straps attaching it to the pack. I hated to cut something on a brand new pack, but I melted the fray with a lighter and it holds fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2011
Just got this in the mail today & am not as happy with it as I was hoping to be. It also def looks better in the pics then in person. I think in the main picture they photoshoped out the VERY bulky waist pads, & buckles, & straps which are huge & just hang everywhere. The main waist strap was made for really fat people so when you tighten it you'll have extra strap hanging down to your knees if you're smaller. Also the base of the backpack is about twice as wide as the top which makes it look funny. Also, the color isn't spot on, it's less green in real life. Then one last negative is it doesn't seem to hold much gear. My canon 1D & extra batteries fill most of the lower compartment, not sure where to put the 70-200. The divider between the top & bottom comes out so I might have to leave the lens on the camera & point it up. This bag is better for people with only a few lenses.

For the positive, it fits my 15" laptop; it's very customizable; has a waterproof cover; seems like a pretty well built bag. Also, they put a decent amount of thought into all the pockets, & compartments. I'll probly update this review in a few months.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2009
I bought this bag as well as the "AW 17 Inch LAPTOP SLR Photo Video Digital Camera Backpack Bag 200mm LENS-Free Raincover" for direct comparison. I knew I would return one, but they both looked like a compelling buy.

I was especially looking forward to the Wolverine BP202 Backpack because I liked that it was made of canvas with the appearance of an adventure field pack. But upon receiving it, I was disappointed in the workmanship, difficult zippers, lack of symmetry and relatively little interior room for such a deceptively large exterior appearance.

The camera storage section was difficult to access and would not accommodate all of my most frequently-used equipment: Nikon D700 with 24-70mm AF-S lens and Nikon MB-210 battery pack, a separate Nikon 17-35mm AF-S lens, a Nikon SB900 Speedlight, Nikon SB-26 flash (now used as a slave). Forget about a second camera body, e.g., Nikon D300. The laptop sleeve did accept my 13" HP, but the zipper did not make it easy.

The fit was bulky and even with all straps fully extended, the main strap with the reinforced hip pads fit around my diaphragm, not my waist. The dinky little chest strap was a pathetic effort. I am a 6'1" 220lb. male.

Rugged appearance was not enough and I am returning The Wolverine without hesitation.

I retained the AW 17 Inch LAPTOP SLR Photo Video Digital Camera Backpack Bag, as it easily met all of my storage needs, offers quick accessibility to my equipment, fits properly and is more comfortable. A real bargain at $79.95 + shipping. See my review for that item.New AW 17 Inch LAPTOP SLR Photo Video Digital Camera Backpack Bag 200mm LENS-Free Raincover
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
I went out on a limb and decided on this backpack knowing I needed something for a big snowmobile trip. I was very glad I got this one. It kept everything snug and protected through a very crazy weekend in the Wyoming mountains. My stuff never got wet, I loved having such easy access, very comfortable- even with a heavy tripod and 2 cameras and lenses, the wait never bothered me... lots of wimps on here wined about that and I just didn't have the same feelings at all.
Only 3 minor complaints:

1. The huge rubber eye cup on the Sony VG-10's view finder sticks out so much that it has to bend a little to zip it up. (big deal)
2. The tripod holder sucks. The fabric pocket that is meant to hold the base of the tripod isn't deep enough for going over jumps on a snowmobile, but, walking around you should be fine. Also, the top part is lame too. Lengthy stretchy chords with a tiny annoying plastic buckle thing? Come on...
3. I guess the laptop opening could be bigger. My 15 inch macbook was a little tricky. But it still fits and is protected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
I have had this backpack for a couple of years now, and I absolutely love it as much as the day I bought it still. I have travelled many places with it, it's just a hair too big for some airport "free item" containers but just a small fraction of a corner sticks out of their test bins. I havent had any issues getting it on a plane for free despite this. Doesn't scream "steal me" like many other tech bags do, and it is very durable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here