Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop now Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 119 reviews
VINE VOICEon July 30, 2015
The best computer I've ever owned. I used my original MacBook 17" until it died and the local Mac place insisted that it could not be resurrected. I was stuck. I didn't want a "new" Mac with the dubious new OS (I like Snow Leopard, 10.6.8). I didn't want a PC (Windows 7? No, thank you. Windows 8? Are you mad??). So I was VERY happy to find a reasonably mint MacBook on Amazon!!! The screen works, the keyboard is intact -- I mean, it looked new! I had an SSD installed which makes performance pretty snappy. And at a very reasonable price! I'm completely happy. I should buy another one before this second one dies -- this really is the best computer I've ever used.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
We have had so many issues with this refurbished MacBook. 1st thing was the battery died within the 1st month and so we ordered a replacement on Amazon. Now the fans inside are overheating the system until the computer freezes. I downloaded a fan controller and it worked for a little while but it got real loud because the fans were turned up. Now it won't turn on and I feel like I wasted my money on this one. Save your money and buy something newer or from a store with a warranty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
This was one of my best purchases ever. When my trusted laptop suddenly expired, I was suddenly in dire need to replace it. Once I found this item, I asked several questions via an online messaging service. When I decided to hake the purchase, it was already late in the afternoon in Brooklyn, less than an hour from the seller's daily cutoff time. I requested expedited overnight shipping. In less than 18 hours from my first inquiry, I had the flawless laptop in my home on California. I have used it nonstop since it arrived, including traveling with it internationally. This was absolutely excellent service. Thank you so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2007
I replaced my Sony Vaio SZ laptop with the MacBook Pro 2.4 so here is my review:

First of all it wouldn't be fair to compare Mac OS X and Windows XP/Vista. At work I am using XP, on my Vaio I had XP and Vista (for two months). XP is OK but after my Vista experience the Mac OS X is such a relief.
I have Tiger on my MBP and I will upgrade it to Leopard. Just watch the "Leopard - Guided Tour" on Apple's website and you will wonder why do people torture themselves with Windows?

The design the speed, and the build quality of this laptop is great. I upgraded the RAM to 4GB - it took only 5 minutes - I found a good deal on Amazon. I have no issues with the screen (Matte - LG panel).

Pros:
- Mac OS X
- Great preinstalled software package you don't have to waste your time with uninstalling the junk like on a windows laptop.
- Size / Weight compared to other 15.4 laptops
- everything regarding to the operation - fast, quiet, illuminating keyboard, magsafe power adapter ...
- multiple options to install other operating system - I have Bootcamp / XP on it I only use it for my games.
- I found all the other softwares that I needed for Mac.
- wide range of custom designed accessories - you can spend a fortune on these :-)

Cons:
- only 2 USB ports
- no multimedia card reader
- no docking possibility
- can be hot - I would recommend iLap that will solve the problem
- fingerprint reader would be nice on a $2500 laptop

My conclusion:
I don't take away stars for the cons because I knew all these things before I ordered my MBP and there weren't unexpected problems. So for me it is 5 stars and I just love it...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
Wasn't happy at all because it only worked for a few hours before the battery went dead and I had it plugged in. It wasn't charging and I bought a new charging cable to see if that was the problem, even had it taken to a computer diagnostic shop and they said it was a BAD computer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2008
I got a 2.4Ghz MacBook Pro 17 inch this week and it's been a pleasure so far. It replaces a 5 year old PowerBook G4 17 inch, which I loved. I bought this one in order to be able to run Windows apps, not just apps for OS X. Boot Camp works splendidly and my copy of Windows XP that runs in that partition is stable and fast.

Configuration was pure pleasure. OS X 10.5.2 came preinstalled. With the included Migration Assistant I was able to move an image of my old PowerBook to the new MacBook Pro via FireWire 800 -- all automatically. It was slick. When the job was done, all of my programs and data were on the computer and everything looked just as it had on the old one.

About the only configuration hangup I had was that I had to find and rerun the driver installation program for my Oki C5300 network color laser printer in order to install the printer on the new box. But once I did, setting up the printer was easy. All in all this was the easiest time I have ever had configurating a new computer -- by a bunch.

Those of you who are current pre-G5 PowerPC Mac owners should not be put off by having to run your old PowerPC apps on a new Mac box with an Intel chip. Apple's Rosetta program, which is built into OS X for the purpose, runs PowerPC apps fast and seamlessly. I am running Microsoft Office X for OS X, which I bought for my old PowerBook and all of its programs thbat I use, Word, Excell, and Entourage, seem to run at least as fast on the new computer as they did on the old one.

I decided to buy the 2.4Ghz model because it was on closeout, plus Amazon offered a $150 check to those who bought one. What's not to like?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2008
I must say that this is an excellent notebook. It's build is solid. I've traveled with it around the Chilean Patagonia and had no problems (be sure to have one of those nice silicon cases if it rains!). I've been a PC fan for the past 20 years and used Linux as an alternate to windows in many cases. But the MacOSX is really a nice operating system. If your going to spend many hours of your day in front of a computer, you'll really appreciate the aesthetics and usability of this Mac. The screen is the best I've ever seen.

Also, if you still need windows or Linux (you won't for the majority of apps), you can install Parallels or the excellent, and FREE, VirtualBox. Both work great with Windows and Linux (try Ubuntu).

As a computer scientist I'm seeing many MANY people making the switch from PC to Mac these days. Personally I'll be sticking to the mac for a long time!

Some downsides on this mac:
- Only 2 usb ports
- They keys quickly get shiny in high usage places and look opaque on others. (not too nice)
- Track pad right-click doesn't seem to work well sometimes.
(I hear those new large ones that work like the iphone touch screen are pretty awesome though)

If you're thinking about switching from a PC to this notebook, it's really a great option. No regrets at all.

Sebastian Beca
Computer Engineer and Optimization Consultant
[...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
Very happy with my purchase. I did a lot of research and was nervous to purchase an older model laptop but my daughter loves it. She's a senior in high school and has a lot papers, college aps and reports to do and this laptop has been able to handle everything. Seller shipped immediately and I was able to get before Christmas so very happy with seller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2008
I've never owned a Mac before, but when faced with the option of upgrading my current laptop to either Windows Vista or Mac OS, it was a no brainer. Vista has the opposite effect of upgrading due to its increase in speed/ram requirements, and laptops running at the required speed and ram (2+ GHz and 4G ram seem average) cost a pretty penny more than desktops. So I will leave Vista for the desktops, but I'm loving my Macbook Pro. The features that are uber nice are: break-away power plug, already had to use this feature multiple times! Blue tooth included (at least in this model), and backlit keyboard. You'd have to really pay some change to get these with a standard Vista-based laptop. Not to mention, this laptop WILL run Windows XP if I decided to go back. Overall, I'm impressed with the OS and how everything (including utility software) is included from the start and how it is integrated into the OS. Very nice. Also, the thing doesn't make a noise most of the time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2007
Got the Macbook Pro yesterday and I'm very impressed with the craftsmanship and attention to detail. The unit does get a bit hot like any laptop and the sleek exterior needs getting used to especially when you are trying to pick it up from your desk.

Installed VMware Fusion and Windows XP and I have to say it ran without a glitch. It is actually easier and faster to install XP in Fusion than to reinstall my Toshiba laptop with XP preinstalled.

My only gripe is the unit I got had Tiger 10.4 installed and not Leopard. I called Amazon and they kept referring to the description and insisted I got what was described. This item has been around since June 2007 and I don't think they have updated the description. Based on the Amazon's description, it has 10.4 Tiger and iLife 06 among other things. I got 10.4 Tiger with iLife 08.

According to Apple, they have not shipped MacBooks with Tiger for more than 30 days. To their credit, they offered to take back the unit even though I had opened it.

If you have been monitoring this item for quite sometime, you will notice that this item gets a Sales Rank of 2 to 3. Within a 2 month period, I have seen Amazon put - "Hurry, 1 left in stock - more on the way." If that is so, then there is no possibility of old stocks in the warehouse. Makes me wonder if that is just a marketing gimmick.

If you accept the excuse of Amazon that it was sold as described, then be prepared to get old inventory and wait a week to get the Leopard upgrade from Apple for $10.00 more.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse