Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
9
V.I.O. POV.1 Point-of-View Video System
Price:$539.99+ Free shipping


on October 15, 2008
After several attempts to piece together a workable helmet cam for paintball, I broke down and bought the V.I.O. POV1 Point-of-View Video System. It's a very nice compact setup that works very well for my needs. The video quality is great at the 640x480x30fps setting; you can see paintballs in flight. Higher resolutions up to 720x480 are also available but record time drops a bit as file size increases. The heart of the system is the recorder; it's a seemingly rugged completely digital device with very handy LCD screen and audio built in for in the field playback. The size of the recorder fits a paint pod and carry is easy in a pod pack. (Besides the cost) the biggest down side had been the wireless remote control. The intent is you can start and stop the recorder without having to unpack it from a pack. It's simple but has let me down a couple times resulting in some great missed footage. Unless you can monitor the recorder to make sure it starts, you're better off turning the recorder on and off directly. Over all we are very pleased with the camera and it's quality.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2009
Me parecio un buen equipo, con muy buena resolucion de video, buen tiempo de grabacion y se ve muy resitente a golpes,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 31, 2011
This camera is superior than others in having the lcd screen and small profile camera head, but don't be fooled into purchasing anything from V.I.O. or it may cost you.

Price: costs a LOT more than the competitors

Accessories: you will need them and WOW will you have to pay top dollar to get them. $90 just for a mounting kit.

Repairs: They don't do them. Something breaks, buy a new one.

Firmware updates: You have to BUY them too!

Professionalism: Ended up getting the wrong extension cord from their website because it was incorrectly labeled as compatible for my camera. Also took almost a week to get my email to customer service answered.

Design flaws: POV1.0 Camera head opened under normal use. Head can be easily unscrewed when removing the a/v cable because it is not fixed closed. (it is threaded to open for no apparent reason and attached to where the a/v cable attaches. If camera head twists open, the fixed wiring will pull away from components and render the camera head useless. ($200 replacement part). No warning in the instruction manual and they do not repair or have refurbished parts. Customer service first said the product was used improperly. When I disputed this and it was clear that it opened while used as directed, the supervisor intervened and stated that the user tampered with the product and voided the warranty. This design flaw was fixed for the POV1.5 when they created the tethered head, but they claim this change was done to "make the camera easier to use" not because of a design flaw.

Design Flaw #2: Camera will not stay secure in the mount on its own. I had to add tape around the body of the camera to secure it tighter in the mount so that it would stay fixed upright. Camera head would not stay upright on my helmet and video would be ruined because camera was shooting at a crooked angle.

There are plenty of helmet cameras out on the market for half the price. For the price of VIO cameras, there should be much better customer service. This is not the case.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2008
I've had one of these units for almost a year now and I love it. It took me a couple tries to get the aim right on my ski helmet but when I did it captured sick powder and took my tip eating falls in stride.

This spring I started using it for kayaking and I was super impressed with the image, no fog lens and waterproof nature of the whole unit. I took several gnarly swims and the camera captured everything.

Some hints for success:

1) Trust the double sticky Velcro that comes with the unit. It really does work
2) Spend time with it, get used to it and know how to aim it before trying to capture the "must have footage". I think it took 2 or 3 tries per helmet to get the aim perfect.
3) When using the remote, set the audio "beep" as high as it will go so you can hear it.
4) Keep the unit in your jacket pocket not in your backpack for warmth.
5) Zip ties - Use them and love them. One of the best features of the POV is that you can mount base plates on all your sporting helmets and leave them there while the camera c-clamp slides on to whatever you're doing that day. Once you have your aim dialed in, zip tie the hell out of the plate and you'll never have to mess with it.
6) Purchase a set of AA rechargeable batteries - They are great for 90% of your usage; It saves money and the earth. On long trips without recharge options I use the Lithium batteries and take lots of sets; 5 sets for a Grand Canyon trip and 5 2G cards.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2008
I've been using this unit to capture some sailboat racing on Puget Sound.

The mounting hardware that this unit ships with provides a comprehensive solution to just about any mounting challenge. I've used the semi-round mount with the c-clamp on railings on the boat, and I've used the universal mount on other surfaces like an instrument housing and the rear stanchions.

Someone else commented on setting the audio beep as loud as possible. This is a good tip, as sometimes I've wondered if the unit got the command from the remote. Likewise, it's taken me a few trial and errors to figure out aiming.

The CPU and camera head are completely submersible - up to one meter for 30 minutes according to VIO. I've taken some underwater footage in some streams I was fishing, and my sailing footage has seen the equipment sloshed through salt-water waves and foul weather alike. I just rinse it off at home with cold water.

The best part is the new firmware update, which now accommodates up to an 8-gig SD card.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2009
I review products for motorcycle mags and I recently did 6 helmet cams for RIDER. I installed/tested some that were more expensive (XtremeRecall and ChaseCam) and some that were cheaper (think skateboard cams for your kids). The only one I kept personally was the POV. It's certainly, hands-down, the most convenient and durable. The 8-gig upgrade rocks....7 hours non-stop, very cool, indeed. Now with their new 12-volt conversion, I can hard wire and ride without worrying about batteries.
The web upload for vids is great as well....viewers don't have to download long files. (of course, you can't download vids even if you want to....one teeeny down side, I guess)) One cable, small recorder, on-the-fly viewing, wireless remote, excellent optics.
Their help staff is excellent. I'm thoroughly impressed by the quality and value of the POV. It's a keeper.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2008
Well I can't say enough about the POV.1. I purchased three of the units in August and until then I have never heard of VIO, Inc. I purchased them under the assumption that they will work for me. It was not until I got back to Afghanistan after being home on R&R Leave that I realized just how good these units are. The video is DVD Movie quantity and I used the system in my HUMVEE to record our missions. I attached the unit to my helmet and my weapon and yet again got great video. I put the units through some really hot days and they stood the test and captured the video. When I recently came home I decided to use these cameras in my civilian career as both a Firefighter and Instructor and an avid rock climber. There is no better system out there then this. For the price of the system and the new recording times (up to 8hrs) NO one can go wrong with the POV.1.

A lot of companies make accessories for their product that are cool and not really practical; VIO has introduced Accessories that are not only very practical, but cost worthy. You can't go wrong.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2008
We started using the POV.1 camera system for television in extremely high
risk applications. We needed the camera system to be broadcast quality
and rugged enough to be placed on the outside of an open desert race car
in long distance races. All previous camera platforms had been destroyed
by silt (micro dust) and vibration. The POV met our demands and to date,
has not failed once due to elements or mechanical failure. We now deploy
15 cameras per race on the worlds most sophisticated off road race
vehicles. They have survived crashes, rain, mud, silt and everything else
we throw at it...its perfect! The support and customer service within the
company is world class as well. We are big fans.

Fred Helm, Director
Best In The Desert TV
Pinned TV
BBR Films
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2011
I quickly discovered that the last thing on the engineer's list of design considerations was "Preserve the video". I get as many "Invalid Clip" errors as I get "Clip saved successfully" messages. One would think that if I record 15 minutes of video and suddenly lose power while recording I would still have 14.9 minutes of the clip available. But NO. The entire clip is gone with no hope of recovery! All that remains is the designation "Invalid clip".

One might also think that the image quality is exceptional given all the claims made by the manufacturer. But NO AGAIN. Take a clip of an approach to a car from the rear. Then try to read the license plate on that car from the recorded clip. It is illegible. Even taking a single frame to Photoshop and applying all of Photoshop's magic tricks cannot bring the plate into a readable state.

The manufacturer offered no explanation or apologies for the poor design.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here