Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Bowflex SelectTech 552 Adjustable Dumbbells (Pair)
Style Name: Dumbbells Only|Change
Price:$259.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 4, 2015
I got to say you guys aren't really fair with the way you kill it. People these are adjustable and you got to be careful when using them. Seriously.

░░░░░Lets break it down, Pros/Cons mixed░░░░░
❖ Number one complaint people have is that they aren't sturdy and I disagree, they are very well made and safe. You cannot drop them. It gives ample warning in the manual as there are moving parts and it simply isn't designed to take that much abuse. I often do work to failure however have till have the strength guide the dumbbells to a light landing on the floor this really shouldn't be an issue.

❖ Another complaint people have is that you have to put them back on their stand at an exact angle which is true but I really never noticed as it really isn't that difficult.

❖ Another complaint I have seen is that the weight is off I tested this and it was off by a couple of ounces, that rumor simply isn't true.

❖ Another complaint that comes to my mind form # of people is that they are too expensive (if you can't find a deal) and too bulky with the lower weights (as the length stays the same) however you get used to adjusting to the size really quick, at least I did.

░░░░░BOTTOM LINE░░░░░
I am very happy with my purchase and am seeing great results so far. If you can find a good deal and trust yourself to never drop the things you should have no problems.

***If you like this review, please mark this review as helpful below! Also, feel free to ask me questions by leaving comments. I will promptly reply. Thanks for reading***
44 comments| 1,290 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
I was really pleased with these Dumbbells initially - simple to use and compact for a quick home workout. As you can see from the photos, they were well taken care of and used exclusively on soft carpet, not concrete. I never threw the weights or slammed them after a set, so not heavy use or abuse. Unfortunately, the mechanism that holds the weight on the handle is plastic. In less than 2 years, it somehow broke on both of my weights. It is amazing that Bowflex would use cheap plastic to hold the weights in place. After calling customer service - she was very nice - we tried to work on a resolution, but they would not honor the warranty. To replace the part was $56/each (I needed 2) plus shipping..of a weight. I would be in for more than half the cost of a new set to fix the defective piece of plastic....no, thanks. For this price point, I would have hoped for a better product design and Bowflex to repair/replace a defective product. My advice - pick another weight that will last.
review image review image review image
33 comments| 225 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
I got these adjustable dumbbells since most of my workouts are done in the garage ever since we had our first baby. With very little time to get to the gym I needed these to maximize the time I do have to workout now. I found these to have no movement when I changed the weights. I’ve used different sets of these in the past and that was my biggest complaint. I would feel the weight discs moving when I did curls but not with these. I highly recommend the Boxflex brand. I also upgraded to a new test booster called Tritestin by Biotek Nutrition – Testosterone Booster Boosts Test Levels and Increases Strength, Muscle Mass, Fat Loss, and Overall Male Performance which increased my energy and sex drive to super high levels. I had to figure out something since my sleep patterns are way off which causes my energy levels to drop big time and affects my sex drive. The combo of the new equipment and the test booster is exactly what I needed to stay motivated and still get good gains without going to the gym.
0Comment| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
So far, so good.

I was debating purchasing these or going for the 100lb dumbbells. I went with these and a core ball to do a lot of my dumbbell work from the house. That said, these things have been great for the time I've had them. I really enjoy the quick-change ability as I tend to do multiple muscle groups in a superset, and the varying weights on each side of the dumbbell is an AWESOME feature. Seriously, curls and tricep extensions with these things take on an entirely new life. Back load the dumbbell and watch the tricep extension work a new section of the tricep. It's great.

I will probably buy the stand within the next week or two. It's a bit unnerving having to squat each time, although it does provide the automatic leg workout :-) The connectors have held up well and I'm still using the 40-50 pound setting on the curls. I figure once I get to the point I have to go to the next size up, I might just by the individual dumbbells and keep using these for other lifts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
I thought these would be gimmicky at first but I knew someone who used them and said it was a good buy so I figured I would try it. The weight changes are fast and seamless. My only complaint, but one which I knew about ahead of time, is they are obviously a little wider than a normal single weight dumbbell, and that really isn't too hard to work around and well worth the trade off for the amazing flexibility they offer if you are tight on space.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Comes ready to use! I also purchased the selecttech dumbbell stand. Super easy to use, just spin the dial and lift up.

Each side of the dumbbell can be a different weight. Some exercises can benefit from this. Make sure the arrow pointing the dial lines up to the number on the dial. This is a sure way to make sure you pick up the correct weight.

The weights seem to be held on strongly and if the dial matches the arrow, i do not see why the weights would fall. I have read some reviews saying the weights can become loose. Not if you are choosing the weight correctly.

These are great and very convenient!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
I was shopping for set of new weights and was thinking whether I should go for 5 lbs or 10 lbs increase per dumbbell. That's when I thought that it would be great to have both sets, but both sets are going to get pricey. Oh, and then before I know it, I'll need another set of even heavier dumbbells. That's when I came across this set and thought that it might be a very good idea to get just one set, which will work for my needs today, and will work for my needs in the future as well.

PROS:
- solid construction
- ability to quickly go up from 5 lbs to 52.5 lbs, and 52.5 lbs is more than enough for majority of people
- a lot of weight variations to select right weight
- does not take a lot of space. Just think how much space a "collection" of various dumbbells sets would take in your home gym

CONS:
- you have to turn dial on each side of dumbbell
- size... these babies are big and long
- little disks treble during use
- because of the length, some exercises where your hands have to be close to your body are difficult to perform without hitting yourself
- unlike regular dumbbells I would not drop these on the floor, even carpeted floor. Although construction is solid, I would still be cautious to damage weight shifting mechanism

Overall there are great dumbbells, and having just one set is so convenient.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
I purchased these dumbells knowing what I was buying. I've had the same ones before and they are fantastic. It looks like they've improved upon the design, these look, sound (the clicking from turning the dials) and feel newer and better.

I received the dumbells 2 days before expected. I think It's because I lived so close to where they shipped from though. They shipped from Austin Tx, and I received them in a city just a few hours away.

They are in fantastic condition and I'm already enjoying them. Not only that, but my roommates love them as well. If you're on the fence about buying them - GO FOR IT!

Few other things to consider: Each dumbell goes up 2.5lbs each turn all the way up to 52.5lbs;lowest is 5lbs. It's a grand total of 100+lbs when the package is delivered, so be prepared!. The turning is very smooth, the stands are very sturdy and the handles are comfortable.

Absolutely no cons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
These weights have met and exceeded my expectations. They are durable and easy to use. Nothing about these feels cheap. It's nearly an entire dumbell set that takes up next to no space. For those with limited space or need a portable gym, look no further.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2016
These are great dumbbells for the average person who wants to exercise.

I wouldn't buy these if you want to do serious bodybuilding because you probably want more weight. That's just my personal opinion.

Pros:
- Easy to use
- Great grips
- Effective weight trays

Cons:
- None I have found

A wall poster showing how to do a variety of exercises would be an added bonus!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 235 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here