Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 38 reviews
on December 10, 2010
This book doesn't have the greatest Xs and Os. It doesn't plan workouts or practice schedules. But it prepares you to coach like no other book I've read before...or since.

This book talks about why people coach. It takes a philosophical approach, and I think it's especially helpful for new coaches (like I was when I first read it) to prepare for all the things that you may not necessarily be prepared for, for things that you may not even know you SHOULD be prepared for.

I've read a few coaching books in the last few years, both for strategy and philosophy. This is the only football coaching book I didn't get tired of reading. I would recommend this to any coach, aspiring or veteran, to keep close to them at all times.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
It was the best of books, it was the worst of books. The first half of the book is timeless, hitting on principles from great people. The second half of the book are details that feel as stale as toast. When it was first written, it was probably the bomb. I wish the chopped off the second half and instead called it "Principles of Winning Football Programs".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
I was hoping for something that would help a first time coach in pop warner organize practice for 1st year tackle youth players. This is much more around administering a complete program.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Both my Husband and Son are Football Coaches!!!! They both are very happy with these gifts I gave them!!! They read them everyday and get quotes from them to relay to their players...Thanks!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2013
The book is more of a coaches philosophy on coaching football. No game plans in the book. I suggest to try the other books on game planning or strategies.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
My brother is the head coach for Tarleton state in Stephenville,TX and he loved this gift from me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
So good I stop reading the kindle version and ordered the printed version so I could take notes and copy the play so I could use them.
Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
Bought this for my coach husband. Even though it isn't newly released, he still is finding lots of useful information in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Easy to read.
Some stories were long winded.
Great advice, use a highlighter, you'll want to go back and reread the good stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2015
like a history book of great coaches past and present with lots of great info
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse