Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 451 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 534 reviews
on July 22, 2016
I use this to make my own mocha mix: 1 cup Hershey's Cocoa, 1 cup dried milk, 1 cup instant coffee, 1 cup sugar and process in food processor for 3 minutes, using blade, or a good blender. Add to mug with half heated milk and half boiled water. Add heaping tablespoon for large mug or heaping teaspoon for small mug.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
I purchased this cocoa on a lark. I was looking for cocoa in bulk and saw the special dark version and thought it sounded good. I was pleasantly surprised after making my first pan of brownies. The brownies were very dark, almost black, and the flavor was somewhere between Devil's Food chocolate and Oreos. I joked that the brownies looked like black tar heroin. This is truly pharmaceutical grade cocoa.

Many of the other reviews complained that this wasn't as good as the silver can Hershey's cocoa and if that's so, I can't imagine how good it must be.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
The product itself is fine - just what I expected. The packaging gets an F. Twice I have ordered six boxes. Each time, one of the boxes was broken and cocoa powder spilled around the other boxes. When I run out of the latest order, I will look elsewhere to purchase. If I can not find another source, I will have to resign myself to paying for six boxes and receiving five.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2013
Please note: DARK chocolate, and also note PACK OF 6. Unless you use the stuff regularly, this might be a larger quantity than you want. For me, it's perfect. Each of these "cans" (they're really plastic containers, with a plastic sealer before you open them) will suffice for three batches of brownies or fudge, or about three months worth of mocha coffee. That's a good year and a half worth of chocolate - well within the sell-by date for me.

As to the quality of product, well, this isn't anything special. It isn't on the level of that organic, free range, each-bean-autographed-by-the-picker type of chocolate. But it gets you home.

Well-packed on arrival, which was on time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2014
Credit Hershey's for volunteering on containers of its Special Dark Chocolate Cocoa that its Natural Unsweetened Cocoa actually has even more antioxidants (due to the way it is processed).

Perfect way to get the healthy cacao antioxidants without all the counterproductive, fattening sugar in chocolate bars.

Smoothie: Just combine with milk (or yogurt or kefir), some fruit (bananas or frozen berry mix), ice, and whey protein powder, with or without stevia. Bingo: super nutritious power smoothie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 16, 2014
This is cocoa. It is not chocolate, it is a component of chocolate. You need to learn to work with cocoa to achieve maximum enjoyment.
Cocoa is bitter and a bit gritty.
How you proceed depends on your desired results.
Hot Chocolate is a good place to start. If you like the packets, then you want sweet and creamy. About 2 1/3 to 1 ratio of sugar to cocoa is about right.
Try 2 tablespoons plus one teaspoon of sugar mixed with one level tablespoon of cocoa. One cup of hot (NOT boiling) milk and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract, plus a dash of salt. Mix well in a mug and enjoy.
Hershey's is a good cocoa and a good value in this offering.
Cocoa can also be used in baking (brownies, chocolate/devil's food/mocha cake, for example,) and chocolate or fudge confections and candies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 8, 2012
I'd never used this before, or heard of it, so compared to regular Hershey's cocoa (which I managed to run out of) this had a noticeably stronger and better chocolate flavor to it when I made a "Hershey's Collector's Cocoa Cake" recipe from a Hershey's cocoa package around 1988. I've made that recipe dozens of times. This time I tried some and was surprised at how good it tasted, and I'd been buying Penzey's cocoa for several years. I liked this product just fine, no complaints at all!
---
We made the chocolate mousse recipe printed on the back of the container and it turned out GREAT. It's basically cream and gelatin with cocoa and sugar. Totally easy and more importantly COOL to prepare in the summer months. Serve it in wine glasses and it looks really fancy. The cocoa, again, carried the day. Deep, intense chocolate flavor. Pleased but puzzled to find a top-quality chocolate product from Hershey's, for some reason. Exceeds my expectations by a noticeable measure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
i dont have too much point of reference here as to how this compares to other higher priced brands. But i can say that this works well for most chocolate recipies. A point of advice is that if you prefer a deeper chocolate taste then mix 3 parts of this cocoa with 1 part of the dark cocoa and it will be perfect. That mix will also allow you to use a little less of the total cocoa that the recipe calls for (maybe one 10th) as a result your baked goods will be significantly moister. ( All baking cocoa will impact the final moisture content of baked goods)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2013
I buy 6 of these at a time because this is the best unsweetened cocoa available, and at the lowest price. I do prefer the regular cocoa, and not the "Dark" cocoa, as the regular has more of a natural, fresh and clean flavor. The Dark is too strong, bitter, and odd tasting. This cocoa has all the benefits of "chocolate" cocoa, but without the sugar, or other unwanted ingredients. I put this in coffee, and use Equal to sweeten it. I also use this for anything where I would normally use "chocolate," such as sprinkled on cheese and melted slightly in the microwave (it's delicious), or to make a hot chocolate drink, but without sugar. Keep the extra containers in the freezer, and they will last forever.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
The cocoa is wonderful. The packaging, not so much. I use a lot of this, so I put it on Subscribe and Save. Twice I've received it with one of the containers open. Not only is that container useless, everything else in the box is covered with the powder. I'm taking it off Subscribe and Save and putting it back on the shopping list for my local grocery store.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 41 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here