Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 81-90 of 382 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 770 reviews
on July 7, 2009
This computer is a really good buy. Everything works and is just as advertised. I haven't used the camera or mike yet but I'd be suprised if there was any problem. It boots up fast and shuts down equally fast. Good screen, good keyboard, good battery run time (6 cell). I'd stay away from the blue model as there have been many key board problems. The black, and white models seem to be best picks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2009
I bought this for my husband, who was in serious need of a new laptop. I researched all the makers. Even our computer guru friend recommended the Acer. My husband loves the small size and light weight. He primarily uses his computer for e-mail and skype. The built-in camera works perfect for his confrence calls overseas. His only holdback is that now he wants a plug-in cd/dvd-rom for ease of downloading software.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2009
I got my netbook May 28th and on June 10th I was already calling to get it repaired. The computer turns off 30 seconds after I turn it on.
I called the customer service and get someone in India. I sent the product in and when it returned it still dosen't work. Same problem. I don't believe they did anything to fix the problem. I didn't get it to work as soon as it returned.
I have to send it in again. When you call you get someone in India who has to read a script to attempt to fix.
I bought the computer a little over a month ago and have had it work less than 2 weeks.
I feel I should get a new computer or some kind of compensation for all the inconvience I have been through.
I can't afford to lose the 300 dollars I paid.
Can't we have costumer service in this country since people here are unemployed.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2009
I don't have anything negative to say about this little guy. It is convenient in almost every way. I've loved taking it to school with me. It is easy to type on, easy to carry around, and it does everything that my other laptop would do and then some.
The only thing that makes it a little inconvenient is that it has no disk drive because it's so small, but you can buy an external drive at Wal-mart for like $40-50, so it's not all that bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2009
My Acer Aspire One's mouse pointer causes me a lot of trouble.

One problem is that the pointer freezes and concentric circles radiate from it. This is not the same kind of thinner concentric circles you can get if you set the computer to show where the mouse pointer is when you touch the Ctrl key. These thicker circles occur when I'm not touching any key but am moving the mouse pointer. The computer freezes for about a minute while the thick concentric circles are around the pointer's point.

The other problem is that the mouse pointer moves by itself and wherever it goes, it thinks that's a command. It doesn't wait for me to click on a mouse button.

So I'll be typing an email and suddenly the text I am typing appears in the middle of a word a few paragraphs higher in the email.

Or I will delete a spam email in the inbox, and if I don't immediately move the pointer off the Trash icon, the emails below the spam also are dumped into Trash. I have to go into Trash and move those emails back into the inbox.

My brother, who recommended this computer after buying one for himself, is also annoyed by these features. Neither of us has found any way to disable the concentric-circles-computer-freeze feature, or to make the mouse pointer remain where we put it, or to set the mouse pointer to only do things when we click on a mouse button.

Aside from the mouse pointer, the Acer Aspire One seems to be a good computer. Its small size and light weight are very handy.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2009
I've had way too many problems with this product right out the box. The screen did not work properly, then the SD Card slot, the the bluetooth. I've gone back to my old computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2009
I bought this for my wife because she wanted a 'laptop' that she could use on her lap without disturbing her pug. [yeah, the dog<g>]

I was looking for something small, light, simple, and with a decent battery life. The first 2 laptops we've had to be tethered to an outlet every hour or so.

This little Acer is everything it is cracked up to be. It really is, for everything my wife does on and off line, as fast as our bigger laptops. The battery, even after a couple months of use, *does* last 5 hours. It is light as a feather especially compared to our Dell & HPs with the wide screens.

I thought the size of the screen might bother us as my wife and I are both in our 60s and wear reading glasses. Not so- the screen size wasn't an issue. I used it daily for a week and never noticed the size of the screen.

The wi-fi hooked up in seconds to the internet and in minutes to my home lan.

The only possible negative to using this as our only laptop is the lack of
a cd/dvd. That's easily solved with a USB player- and then you don't need to lug around, or power up one on the computer.

Great little machine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2009
It is a pretty, fast (1 giga), and portable computer. It is a whole computer, you don't need a laptop if you have this one. There is an issue with the sound, bur I got the last version of the controller and the problem is gone. Anyways, it should not have this problem!
In addition, Mc Afee makes this computer slow, so change the antivirus ASAP!
I like it very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2009
We LOVE our Acer netbook! What a great little computer. Even though the keyboard is compressed, I can still type very well on it, even though I am a big guy with big hands. I've been travelling with it and the compact size is really nice. It fits in the front zipper pocket of my American Tourister rolling carry-on bag perfectly. I bought one of those tiny little miniature mice for it and that was a good investment. So far, no problems with the computer and I would recommend it to anyone needing an inexpensive, compact computer that still has plenty of horsepower.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2009
I bought this Acer Aspire One Mini to take on vacation trips with me and leave the huge 17 inch laptop at home. I love it. The 160 gig hard drive is plenty big enough for me and the keyboard is still large enough for my big fingers. I cleaned out all the unnecessary programs I didn't need and installed my own security software for free. I also installed my own Microft Office 2007. The internet comes up quick and the 8.9" screen is just the right size. I will be taking my first trip in May and am looking forward to cruising the net on a small very capable machine. I bought a portable DVD drive from Best Buy for less than a hundred bucks and it was recognized by the mini with no problem. I look forward to many hours of use since the mini lasts for all the six hours advertised. Even after sitting in the closet for two weeks the battery still had five hours use left on it. Great little machine. Buy one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse