BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment drwho drwho drwho  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



For those who're unfamiliar with the terminology, "dry camping" is done with an RV utilizing ONLY the resources within the vehicle; without external connections, such as water, electric or sewer.

After reading the heartfelt but negative reviews on Amazon about this coffee maker, I was hesitant to buy it. Fortunately my experience using this coffee maker has been positive. My wife is an early-riser and wants her coffee right away. Usually by 6 a.m. we have the coffee maker brewing in our motorhome. As long as we're at a campsite where there is an electric hook-up our Mr. Coffee, which cost less than half as much as I paid for this one, performs admirably. However, at many of our national parks, national seashores and at many big RV rallies, there are no electric hook-ups or the hook-ups are outrageously expensive. Not only does it seem to be a waste to run our 5.5KW motorhome generator to brew coffee, many of the campgrounds prohibit running generators before 7 or 8 am. Brewing coffee, using an inverter, quickly drains our coach batteries.

I thought, what the heck, I'll buy this coffee maker and give it a try based upon the mostly positive reviews. Before I actually brewed coffee, I washed the pot and basket and gave this coffee maker a test run on our three-burner propane gas range using plain water. The front burner is the fastest, so that's the burner I used. I centered this coffee maker over the burner and turned the burner to its highest setting. This coffee maker took fifteen minutes to pump all of the water out of the tank and into the carafe. If it had failed to perform, I was prepared to return it to Amazon for a refund.

Since then, while dry camping, I've brewed more than a dozen delicious pots of coffee on my RV's gas range. All have been as tasty as the brews that I make with our Mr. Coffee when we have electric power. Both coffee makers allow us to remove the carafe while it is brewing without spillage. Our twelve-cup Mr. Coffee takes about ten minutes to make ten cups of coffee. This coffee maker takes about fifteen minutes to brew ten cups of coffee, which is its rated capacity. Instructions with this Coleman coffee maker say to immediately turn off the heat when the brewing is complete, which is what I do. This coffee maker won't keep a carafe of coffee warm for a long time, but we usually drink what we brew right away.

At this point I have no complaints aside from the fact that this specialized coffee maker cost me more than twice as much as its electric equivalent. However, I have already saved much more than it's premium price by avoiding electric hook-up charges at RV rallies. Even more important, my wife is happy to get her first cup of coffee right away without having to wait until "quiet time" is over, so we can start our generator. Whenever I'm at a campground with electric hook-ups, I'll still use my Mr. Coffee because it doesn't consume our expensive propane and is slightly faster. But for all other situations, this coffee maker makes a tasty brew without requiring electric power and it uses the same paper filters. I have uploaded a photo that shows this coffee maker in action; brewing on our propane gas range. Amazon moved the photo to an obscure location on the page, but it's still there.
review image
99 comments| 210 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
This is the second one of these I've bought - really like them. Fresh, drip coffee in the RV even when I'm out in the sticks and no shore power. The last one I had started to get rusty at the bottom, but it worked fine until we had the carafe handle pointed the wrong way and melted it. Was looking for a new carafe, but the cost of a whole new unit was only $10 more, so bought that instead. I will keep my eye open for a carafe at Goodwill so I can have the second unit as a spare.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2017
I totally agree with most all previous reviews regarding the pause-and-pour cutoff. Better designs have been made on charmin. But, Methinks that most people have no clue of what temperature the water is they start with. They see "start with cold water" standard drip coffee maker instructions and think that 30 degree stream water will do better. Or,water from their motorhome water tank. Our first test was to run hot tap water thru it with 1/2 cup vinegar to clean it's pipes. 24 Minutes tank to pot. Next batch used the gold filter with freshly ground coffee. 23 minutes tank to full pot. Our use is during power failures,and unwilling to waste 12VDC power available to run 750 watt load versus natural gas stove. Medium flame, coffee was superb [our mix blend]. Hint to Coleman...... using the pouring nose of the carafe to shut off the flow valve is just lazy engineering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2016
OK gonna give this a 5 but there is but 1 problem. OK the problem. I don't know if mine is missing a spring or what. But the little lever in the back that the pot hits to let the coffee pause/drip MUST be above the lever on the drip chamber when closing the coffee grounds holder whatever chamber. That being said (and it's not a hassle to do. A flip of the finger while closing is all.) It performed flawlessly. I use it on the center burner on my camper stove turned sideways. This was more stable and allowed me to see the flame to insure it's being centered. I used the stove on 4 then bumped it up to 5. It brewed a good pot of coffee in about 20 mins total. Once it started gurgling. I gave it about another minute then shut off the stove. It continued to drip for maybe 2 more minutes.

It's not my Mr. Coffee. But it don't take 1.21 GIGAWATTS of inverted power to run either. All said. I will be buying another to put away for when this one dies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
We already have a Coleman 14 cup percolator and purchased this Coleman drip coffee maker as an addition because we camp with a large group and we used to always run out or waiting for coffee in the morning. We used this drip coffee maker on our 25+ year old Coleman 2 burner propane camping stove. It uses regular basket type filters. The coffee maker worked great and the coffee was just like home, but it does take a little longer to brew.
My suggestions would be make sure the stove is level, fill the water to about 1 inch from the top of the reservoir, and turn the stove on high. It will take around 15 minutes to get the coffee brewed. Make sure to turn off the burner once the coffee is done as you are just wasting propane at that point. The only negative about this unit is that the pot is glass, so you have to be careful. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
We got this "camping" coffeemaker some months ago & have used it a few-several times. It's definitely the best we've had. High quality (Coleman), very well made, and easy to use. We use it on the stove in our 5th wheel camper, & just remove the metal burner cover & set it sideways (to fit-it isn't small) centered over the burner. Works like a charm. Only do it where you can watch & aren't moving or at a slant, depending on your stove. Easy to clean, just turn it off Immediately after it brews as it says, if it's over open flame. It does have good quality hard plastic on the exterior, tho that hasn't been a problem for us. It is solid metal underneath where it sits over the open flame. I would love the stainless carafe to keep the coffee hot longer, but we're very happy with it. Costs a little more, but very worth it. Wouldn't want anything else. You do get what you pay for. Nothing negative to report here,and would definitely recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
I bought this for camping obviously, and it was awesome. Easy to use, and makes good coffee. It takes a little longer than an electric coffee maker, obviously, since you're cooking over a flame, but it was worth the extra time to have drip coffee while camping. This is by far my favorite camping item now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
I *have* to have my coffee in the morning. My hubby needs his morning coffee even more. Trust me on that one. So what to do when we go camping in the great outdoors? Suffer? I think not!

Camp coffee, Cowboy Coffee or perked coffee all have their own appeal. However, they truly don’t make a ‘decent’ cup of coffee. By ‘decent’, I mean Colombian, regular or decaf, made in a drip coffeemaker, smooth and rich, no acid taste and no grounds to gag me or get stuck in my teeth.

Because coffee grounds stuck in your teeth is not a look you want to sport anywhere, even camping.

Enter in this handy dandy (and very cool) Coleman Camp Coffee Maker. Absolutely replicates your home fresh brewed coffee every time!

The coffee maker is so easy to use; a kid can operate it. Well, except my kids. The teen would rather mope around and lament about not having data, and the 8-year-old gets too easily distracted by shiny objects.

Just sit it atop one of the burners of your camp stove, and you’re in business! Make sure, though, that you don’t have the flame too high – I noticed in some reviews they had issues with the plastic part of the coffee maker melting. Not sure if they got defective ones, but I had no trouble with this one, and there was no melting of plastic at any time. You don’t have to have the flame at full blast to make this coffee maker effective. In fact, it might mention that in the operation instructions, but who reads those?

The coffee maker has a swing away basket in which to place the filter, and water is poured through a hinged lid, just like any other drip coffee maker. The ingenious part of this coffee maker however, is that the water is stored in a metal reservoir just under the carafe. When the gas is lit, it heats the water and forces it through the drip system. It takes a bit longer to brew than an electric coffee drip coffee maker, but the wait is well worth it.

Believe me, it’s worth it.

One thing to note is that it does have a lever that will keep the coffee from spewing all over the place if you want to sneak a cup in the middle of the brew cycle (for those of you who don’t have patience) - however, you *must* make sure you put the carafe back into its spot perfectly, or that fresh brewed coffee you plan to show off (and drink) will run out all over in a wasteful manner.

That would be tragic if you need your morning coffee like my hubby does. Just sayin’.

Be the envy of your friends and camping neighbors! Or invite them all over for some fresh brewed coffee. You’ll suddenly have a ton of new best friends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2016
Works well even without Coleman grill if you know how to make the heat get where it needs to be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2016
I was skeptical of this before I bought it but I am glad that did. I had read some negative reviews about melting baseplates and warping plastic. I had none of those issues. The coffee pot worked flawlessly. It took maybe 12 to 15 minutes to brew a whole pot. I do wish it came with the stainless steel pot instead of the the glass. The stainless steel pot is available as an aftermarket upgrade though so I might buy it. Once the water goes through the system and you turn the gas off, there is not really anything to keep the warming plate heated. I definitely recommend buying a steel vacuum bottle carafe to keep the coffee hot after it is brewed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse