Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on January 2, 2012
I have had this similar model for over 4 years out in West Texas in the middle of nowhere - off-grid home.
Except for a replacement voltage regulator(approx.$60.00)issue, that could have been my error, the unit has worked flawlessly.
My guess is that I have ran the unit 500+ hours.
55 comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 14, 2014
I am on solar and wind power. There is just times it is cloudy and no wind. so this has been a real life saver. I hooked a timer in the fuse line and ran a wire into the house.
This allows me to turn it on from inside for up to 90 min on a timer. Real help when your like me and don’t want to get out into the snow to turn it on. I also use it to feed power into my outback charge controller. I find you want to set the delay in winter months up to 10 min. warm it up before you hit it hard with a lot of power draw. I do keep it limited to 10 amp for each of chargers. this way i don’t blow a fuse and the rest of the power flows right past into the house.
I live in Minnesota. So it gets a real work out in January. I keep the start battier in the house and run a wire outside to the unit. Works well. Also one boost capacitor on the unit to allow for more power when cold to help start it. I also use a big tractor battier they have more power and cost less.
so if your like me and not wanting a battier to go back due to weather keep it inside and use a boost capacitor. or you could use a heat pad and hope it works when you need it but being on solar and wind i try not to waste my power.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 21, 2013
We purchased a Briggs & Stratton 7000w generator 7 years ago. We had some issues with it. Insulation in the top came loose and dropped down over the engine causing it to over heat. Replaced the top with a new one, but the motor was never the same. We brought a new 7000w generator this year. A few design changes (including the top) made it a better little generator. It's the right size to run as a stand-by power source, we don't need one to run the whole house-just the essentials. It test runs every week and runs well.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2013
Please keep in mind that this unit (with it space constraints and required 600 CCA) we measured the Battery opening to 9" High, 5" deep, and 9" long. Much smaller then a normal car battery which was needed to attain 600 CCA.
An AGM battery was the ONLY option, and at $200, not an inexpensive one.
Other then that, Unit installed great. Came pre set for NG and adapters for LPG were included.
All in All a great Unit, Just wanted to let everyone know about the surprise.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 13, 2012
I am so glad I got this. Our power seems to be going out more often. I did not want to pull out a generator and hook it up. This one is working out great. It runs a test once a week for about twenty minutes. I had my electrician hook it up. It has come on several times that I know of. I had to replace my refrigerator before I got this and I believe it went bad because of all the power outages we experience in this area.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 16, 2012
If you use Propane to heat your house, get one. Easy to get installed by a local electrician. Haven't had a reason to run it yet for a long period but test runs have been fine. It's quieter than the smaller portable unit I had previously
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2012
Don't waste your money, like others have reported my unit started burning oil after only a years and then one day it finally died. It did not operate at all during these 4 years (no blackouts), but it only went through the routine weekly exercise automatically (automatic mode). Despite never having to use it, I always changed oil & filter regularly every year.
I have purchased now a Generac 7kw unit - I am hoping to have a longer lasting unit this time.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2012
Where to begin. Product description states "fully automatic... automatically start the generator". If you don't purchase the automatic transfer switch for this unit it will not do anything but sit there. It will not meet the power needs of even a tiny house with an HVAC system and water pump. Does not come with the battery that automatically starts the generator even if you DID have the automatic transfer switch. After spending an additional $600 to have it installed and finding out the load is too much for even the HVAC system, I still have to purchase and install a battery just to have a functional kitchen, 2 light circuits and well pump (with no heat or AC).

Deceptive advertising at best.
77 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here