BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now FFII_gno


on November 29, 2012
I purchased this set for myself as I recently taken on the hobby of paining matreshkas. I was very happy with the quality and craftsmanship. The wood was smooth and even. The tops and bottoms are a good fit. My only complaint is the size difference from the first and second doll- it looks like an in-between matreshka is missing. Overall, no enough for me to take a star off.

This set was the largest set I found in this prize range. I paid $33.50 plus $8 something in shipping cost but have seen it after for $30.

FYI: before paining make sure to prime the wood (I use a spray version from my local craft store). The sprays are not very even and keep splattering so maybe next time I will try buying a brush on primer. For paints I purchased regular acrylic paint set. Also don't forget to glaze the final project, it really gives matreshkas a professional look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
These are the best. They are extremely well made with attention to detail, hard wood, expert sanding and finishing. They fit together very tightly, and have a small pencil mark so you can see how the wood was lines up for the best fit. Nice to see such good workmanship!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
What a perfect unique gift for a child. We painted these for our niece and made each one a member of her family. The smallest one was their cat. She LOVED it and played with them for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
Nicely smooth finish, good fit for each other, dolls have more shoulder than some blanks I've gotten. Very happy with purchase. Will be making gift with them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
really good nesting dolls at a reasonable price, arrived ahead of shipping time quote and in good condition when received. Pieces fit together well and were easy to carve on as well as paint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
Amazing and beautifully made!
Will have to sand them for easier opening, they are incredible! All the dolls match and fit ideally inside the next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
The wood is very smooth and it was easy to trace a pattern on the dolls. They are exactly as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
My son LOVED painting this set of nesting dolls. Lovely quality wood and fabulous fun for all of us. Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
The biggest is indeed really big comparing to the second doll. The wood is really nice and the surface is really smooth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2012
The two outer dolls had a bit of trouble of opening, needed to be sanded a bit more, but otherwise a great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here