Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Def Leppard All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon startrek startrek startrek  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on February 8, 2010
I've had a 32" Samsung LCD since 2006, and it's worked perfectly the entire time with an amazing picture. So naturally when it was time to upgrade to the larger set, Samsung was "ahead of the pack" in my opinion.

After 3 or 4 weeks of HEAVY research, I purchased the LN52B550 off Amazon January 7th.
Product arrived January 13th (very speedy and courteous delivery!), hooked it up with PS3 Bluray, Comcast HD, and calibrated with DVE (the older 2003 version). The picture was absolutely STUNNING! And I mean STUNNING! The 60hz is barely even noticible, even on fast action. It's simply not worth it to spend $1000 more on 240 hz! And BLU RAY looks beyond amazing!

I was also relieved to see I got the Samsung panel (on some Samsung TV's you have a 2 in 3 chance of getting a Made in Taiwan panel, and consequently a 1 in 3 chance of getting the genuine Made in Korea panel). If you google "Samsung Panel Lottery" you'll see what I'm talking about! This is an unfortunate side effect of ever-increasing price pressure on these LCD manufacturers.

2 days later, every research-intensive person's nightmare: The TV turned itself off after watching a blu-ray, and would not turn back on!
Called in a claim to Samsung, local repair shop came in and checked the Power Board and Mother Board. He ordered a replacement Mother Board that immediately went on backorder. It just arrived Monday 2/1 (2 weeks later!), and he finally came out to replace it 2/2.
When he was installing the new Mother Board, I checked on the old one just for kicks....Well wouldn't you know it? Made in CHINA. The new MB was made in KOREA. So it looks like the panel lottery isn't the only lottery we're dealing with on Samsungs! I am all for outsourcing and taking advantage of production facilities outside the home country, but ONLY if quality control is maintained~!

Now, thankfully (knock on wood) the TV is 100% Korean (Powerboard, Motherboard, Panel) and working beautifully. Just so you know I certainly ran to Amazon and dropped a quick $100 on the extended 2 year warranty, just to be safe. I would recommend this to EVERYONE!

Samsung TV's are absolutely gorgeous when they work, but I will definitely remember this harrowing experience the next time I jump into researching a new TV. With pricing on TV's spiraling downward, there are numerous ways that manufacturers cut costs, with quality control being one of them. So be careful out there! And BTW, I would've given the TV 5 STARS had this not happened.

Lastly, here's my calibration settings for the TV in case you're interested! Remember, these are not going to "pop" like the TV's you see in Best Buy (which are way too bright!). They are, however, meant to ACCURATELY reproduce digital media like HDTV broadcasts and Blu-Ray. And trust me, once your TV is properly calibrated, you'll never want to go back to the old settings! It makes everything looks surreal!

Enjoy!

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 3
Contrast: 92
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 0
Color: 51
Tint (G/R) G50/R50

- Advanced Settings-
Black Tone: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Color Space: AUTO
White Balance:
R Offset: 25
G Offset: 25
B Offset: 25
R Gain: 25
G Gain: 25
B Offset: 25
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: Off

-Picture Options-
Color Tone: Warm 2
Size: Screen Fit
Digital NR: Off
HDMI (Greyed Out?) Normal
Film Mode: Off (Also now Greyed Out)

-Sound-
Mode: Movie
Equalizer: Default (everything in the middle)
SRS Trusurround HD: On
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 4, 2015
It's been a few years now since I bought this television and didn't realize that I had never filled out a review. But what a better time to review an item after owning it for that long? I have had zero problems with the television. It's crystal-clear, bright and large. The speakers may not be the best but with the provided jacks you can easily attach it to abother sound system like a Bose.

I was a little concerned about ordering something so large online versus looking at it at a department store. But others I knew who owned this television had stated that they thought it was excellent. The item arrived at the home and the deliveryman had it set up in my living room within minutes. I would buy another in a heartbeat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2010
I am one of those people who have researched TVs for years. I settled on this one because the price was right for such a big TV, and Samsung is renowned for great quality TVs. I was not disappointed, this is a spectacular TV with sharp crystal-clear and vibrant images from good sources.
TV: Standard definition looks okay, and probably as it should. It is the only format that doesn't look stunning on this TV but it probably shouldn't anyway.

DVD: I have a huge library of DVDs and wanted a TV that could show they as well as possible. This TV does that when hooked up through my Blu-Ray player via HDMI cable. Some lesser quality movies need to run at 480p to look their best (you can change the setting on the player), but many upconvert extremely well and are hard to tell apart from Blu-ray, seriously.

Blu-ray: Flawless and crisp images from good discs, just spectacular.

PS3 and X-Box: Video games look and move incredibly, with no blurring at all, they look crisp and sharp and gorgeous. Resident Evil, Street Fighter, and lots of other games looked beautiful.

Notes: The content has a gigantic impact on the picture quality, DVDs, HDTV, and Blu-rays all vary in quality, so expect that some will not look quite as fantastic as others. I think the TV should be judged by how well it handles good content, and this TV rocks. So 95% of this time you will be impressed. Sound on this TV is great, if you are used to a home theater than setup a home theater, but the speakers work very well on this TV and are plenty clear and loud.

I have noticed no motion blur whatsoever in movies for both DVD and Blu-ray (even Transformers on Blu-ray). Watching football, I have a hard time deciding whether it is the content or the TV causing very very minor graininess (rarely), so I can say that there is virtually no noticeable motion blur with this TV despite its specs having a refresh rate of 6 ms while higher end models have 2 or 4 ms. But to clarify, football looks awesome! As well as everything else.

Based on my experience with this TV over the past three weeks, I believe spending a lot more money will get you only incremental improvements in image quality that to all but the most serious videophile, no one would be able to tell the difference between this TV and one costing twice a much.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2010
Ive been researching a new TV for the family room for months now, monitoring prices and going to every store to view side by side comparisons. I chose this TV and couldnt be more happier. We've been using it for 6 months now and I see a noticeable improvement in picture and sound quality over my older samsung.

I have this TV, a Samsung 1080p 40 inch, and a Samsung 720p 32".

I was initialy worried about not having 120 hz, because that seems to be the new rave, but watching this TV side by side with the 120 hz in stores I didnt see a difference.

I have this TV hooked up to a 5.1 surround sound, but for normal TV watching I use the built in speakers (*GASP*) and suprisingly they are pretty good. Some flatscreens speakers tend to "fart" at higher volumes, but this one stays crisp in my normal range of 25-35. We have a very large family room, and the sound fills the room. When im watching TV late at night, I dont feel the need to have my surround sound on and wake the neighbors so Its nice to have decent speakers built in the TV.

However, if you are watching movies with deep bass, then you need surround sound, just like you would with any flat screen TV but the built in speakers are more than adequate for the news, sportscenter, or your regular shows on ABC, NBC or HGTV.

My father is a videophile and came to visit and commented on how sharp my picture was and was wondering what the specs were. I showed him what they were and the price of the TV and he was shocked that the picture was as good as his $3,000 1080p 120hz Sony.

Funny how so far the only negative comment out of the 30+ reviews was dealing with shipping. This was the first TV I bought online, and I was REALLY worried about shipping. Does UPS just leave this on the doorstep? How does it even fit on the doorstep? I found out that amazon ships this to a local shipping company in my area, and the shipping company called me and set up a delivery date to ensure that I was home. They helped me carry the TV inside the house, I set it up, made sure it was working, and signed for it. It was very convenient and hassle free.

From now on, Im shopping for TV's in best buy, and then buying them online when they are cheaper!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2009
All I can say is this is a super TV. Beautiful picture,no glare problems, just out of the box, it arrived to me in only a couple of days, and me and the delivery guy opened it up, the box was in great condition and we looked it over, plugged it in and it came right on, there have been comments about the sound, but I find it to be just great, I have it in a small living room, so with just the sound 1/4 of the way up it is very loud and sounds great. I am sure with a sound system it would be much better, but I think you will still enjoy it,unless you are wanting the whole movie surround sound, and all I can say is Amazon is a great company to deal with, I had ordered the 46" before, but my friend had the 52" and I wanted it, they only charged me 49.95 to return it and my account was immediately credited, you can not go wrong with this company, AAAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++++. A Happy customer, Sherri :) Also Ceva was the delivery company and both times were excellent.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 26, 2009
This was my first Samsung and my first Big screen LCD T.V. The one I had before this is a 32 inch Toshiba Regza. I actually was all set to get the Toshiba Regza 46 inch with 240 Clearscan. But I could not take my eyes off the Samsungs at a Big Box retail store especially this one. The picture always seemed to be crisper, clearer, and more vibrant. Even more than Sony, Tosiba, etc. The deal I found off Amazon sealed the deal. The funny thing is that like a other reviewers, I purchased the 46 inch model and realized the 52 inch is what I really wanted. So I traded up. I thought that the 52 inch would have been excessive. But it's not, it beautiful and you get so much more detail and the experience is just amazing without overpowering you. I'm in awe of the picture, especially in Blu ray. Don't worry about the 60hz refresh rate either, I could not tell the difference between this and the 120 hz LCD's and I have a feeling that most people will not either. All my movies and PS3 games play beautifully on this masterpiece. But if you are sucker for having the latest technologies, be prepared to pony up for the extra 500 bucks. Otherwise, I say go by your own experience and take a look at this Samsung model at a big box retail store and honestly compare the LCD's..you'll see what I mean. Good luck.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2010
First of all, I would definitely recommend this tv. I debated for months between this tv and the LN52B630, but in the end the extra 60hz just wasn't worth the extra $$. It isn't a perfect tv, but at under $1,000 it gives you the best bang for the buck. Here's my take:

The good:
1. Only $960 as an open box item from Amazon's Warehouse Deals
2. 6 days between order and delivery
3. Delivery was hassle free and they helped set it up
4. Picture is amazing and was great right out of the box

The neutral:
1. The tv has a small line in the bottom left corner of the screen. It's behind the surface of the screen but it doesn't appear to be dead pixels. It's only about 1/2" long and as thin as a pencil line. That's what you get for buying a used, open-box item, but it is barely noticeable and doesn't affect our viewing experience in the slightest.

The bad:
1. Let's talk about the speakers...I read every review I could find on this tv before buying and I came to the conclusion that there are some audiophiles out there that need perfect audio. I am not such a person. I enjoy movies, watching tv, and playing a few games on my xbox, but as long as the audio isn't noticeably bad it's always been acceptable. That said, out of the box the speakers were ok...kind of hollow-sounding and tinny, but acceptable. Within a week they started sounding a little worse and started making a sort of vibration sound when you turn it up to regular volume. I wasn't going to get a speaker system right away, but I decided it couldn't wait anymore so I bought the Sony HTCT100 system (5 stars by the way) which solved the problem.

All in all I think that this tv is a great value. 120hz would be nice, but it isn't necessary. If you do decide to buy this tv, I'd go ahead and get an external audio system if you don't have one already.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 16, 2010
I did a lot of shopping around before I bought this TV. Amazon.com had the very best price I could find, even including sales prices at other local stores. The shipping was fast and they brought the TV in and put it where we wanted it, so that was very convenient.

I was a little nervous about the "red touch of color" but it really isn't noticeable at all. That might be a positive or negative thing, depending on who is buying it.

The picture is crystal clear. The images are sharp and there are settings to adjust the brightness. There are also a few pre-set picture settings for movies, daytime, etc.

Another thing that worried me from my research was the quality of the speakers that come with the TV. We have surround sound, but I hate it so I normally just listen to the TV without it (I did the same with the TV we had before). I haven't noticed any problems with the speakers on the TV- they sound fine to me. I'm not sure if they have been improved with the newer models or if there really was never much of a problem to begin with and some people are just very picky about the sound quality.

In short, I would recommend this TV. I would absolutely buy it again. I think it was a great value for the quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 4, 2010
This is a great value and everyone loves the picture. It's got a sharp picture with fantastic color. I have made a few tweaks to get it how I like it (surprisingly found the tweaks I did on my own match almost exactly to the calibration settings recommended here by several reviewers). The sound is okay - but I agree with a lot of other reviewers that surround sound would make a vast improvement. I plan to get a new surround sound system soon - will not mess with the old system I have that has never worked right.
Delivery could not have been better. I got a call less than 48 hours after I had placed my order that they were ready to deliver. The delivery company was very accommodating to my schedule. We had extremely cold weather the day of delivery along with some bad roads; the company kept in contact with me to let me know when to expect delivery. Two men brought the TV in, unpacked it, set it up then explained they couldn't turn it on because of the extreme cold and advised me to wait at least 2 hours before I turned it on. I used that opportunity to go purchase an HDMI cable (not included, so be prepared if you don't have one) and a longer cable for my DVD player and was then AMAZED at the picture. Great product and fantastic service as usual from Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2013
Have had this set for a couple of years now.

It has plenty of inputs including a VGA input and I use almost every one of them.

The only issue I have with it - and have found with almost every Samsung TV I have now tested - is that when connecting my MacBook Pro or my PC with an HDMI 2GB video card over HDMI, the picture is not so good. They both look great over VGA though. I actually took my MacBook Pro to best buy and tested the picture on several TV sets and got the same result. HDMI looked great on a monitor though. Go figure.

Overall I am very happy with the clear HD picture even in a bright room. I used it for quite some time as a monitor, too, and , other than the HDMI issue I mentioned, it works flawlessly and provides a crisp clear image.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse