Industrial Deals Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on April 22, 2017
I have read 2 other of Henri Nouwen's books so I knew I would like "With Open Hands" --- now I plan to read more. They are not the kind of books you just read ---- there is SO much to think about.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon February 22, 2006
Henri Nouwen published many books that were very short, yet were/are quite helpful to the growing spiritual life of many. This book, a short book on the life of prayer, is quite useful at helping us open ourselves to the Holy One.

The book is really an exposition of one image-the life of prayer is a life lived with open hands. Nouwen then leads us to understand open hands are a necessity because open hands/lives mean we are not captured by fear, fear being the opposite of love, but open to God. As we open our hands to God we begin to accept the good gifts of life and live lives of hope. We are able to care for others because we are no longer focused on ourselves. This life changing power is revolutionary he says because it forces us to question the world around us and address that world.

While it would be overly reductionist to say the sum total of the book is stated above, gaining more requires lengthy reading, meditation and surrender to the image of open hands. If you want a how to book, this is not it. If you want something to help you surrender to prayer and experience prayer in its depths, this book is quite useful and I would recommend it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2016
This is a truly interesting and thoughtful book which a group of us decided to read and study together. I intended to simply read the selected section but quickly came to the realization that this book should be "digested" as a daily Lectio. I would heart-fully recommend it to anyone who wishes to pursue their spiritual journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2012
I read With Open Hands to get a better understanding of prayer. I walk away from it having gained a better understanding of prayer and of myself. One of the more stunning questions asked in the book was "Why do I avoid silence?" To answer this question is to open a door that will never be entirely closed. To allow yourself to be led through the opening and learn how beautiful the silence can be is to walk into eternity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 26, 2014
Prayer is conversation with God reflecting the needs and worries, the pain and grief, the joys and wishes of one's heart. 'Open Hands' represent the open mind and heart, the need to turn over our whole being to talk and listen to what is possible.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
Good reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2010
This book could have been simply called, "The Best of Henri Nouwen." Thoroughly powerpacked, it presents the very best of the imitable Nouwen. He and Forrest Church are giants: univerally appealing skilled writers who touch our souls ar core. The Dance is an extremely well-organized collection of appetizers for most of his revered works. In The Dance,life-changing insights are identified with subject line references titling the original book that provided the larger more in-depth treatment of the principle/idea/insight discussed. It addresses every spiritual principle and discipline in a creative, sobering, intimate,refreshing and simple manner. It is a book I will buy for my very best friends. And I will always keep my own highlighted, margin-marked copy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2014
This book is out of print I think. But this book was a very wonderful anthology of Nouwen's material organized in very meaningful ways. I have reread this book at least once if not twice and I have referred back to it a number of times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2018
The copy I ordered was not what I got. I ordered a second copy for a friend because I loved the book but what I got was inferior print with tiny characters that are difficult to read. It is the publication that has foreword by senator Mark O
Hatfield
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 22, 2017
This is a classic Nouwen text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here