Your Garage World Book Day STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Book House Cleaning Bosch Bosch Bosch  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Size: 4U Rack Space|Change
Price:$136.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 74 reviews
on July 8, 2015
This is the second Gator case of this model. My first one is a 6U, and I just bought this 8U because I needed a tad more space. Both cases are extremely solid and sturdy, but very lightweight.

I totally dig the rollerblade-style wheels -- they're soft to help cushion bumps in the sidewalk, yet strong enough to survive asphalt without hesitation. I've read that some people complain that the telescoping, luggage-style handles are flimsy, but they seem fine to me. The larger 8U model does seem to twist at little easier (since it's bigger, of course), but I don't have any complaints.

I've also read that you have to send off for the second set of rear rails, but both the 6U and the 8U I bought had them already installed, so apparently Gator did a little update.

Overall, I'm VERY happy with this case. I have a few thousand dollars worth of gear installed in these, and I trust them completely.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
Case has a fatal flaw. The rack rails are mounted too far forward by design. As a result, if you try to mount any standard 19" rack equipment...ANY standard 19" rack gear...the inner lip of the lid makes contact with the faceplate of that gear and causes the whole lid not to fit correctly. If the rails had been mounted recessed about a 1/4" then it would be fine. But they're mounted flush and that's a problem.

Also, the rails are mounted rather flimsily with rivets into plastic. Mine wobbled. I immediately sent this thing back for a refund and am looking elsewhere. It's a shame, because this would have been a good case for me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2017
This is a rock solid rack. I've seen complaints about little plastic flakes left inside from the manufacturing process and how they destroyed really expensive gear. What a load of BS. Yes, there were a few scattered flakes inside, but not enough to damage anything. I just vacuumed them out. I'm really impressed the quality of this, the protection it offers and how light weight it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2016
This case is awesome. I have mounted 12 wireless mics, power conditioner and 2 storage drawers in this case. I transport it weekly for church service at a hotel. Would definitely buy this again. Installing everything was really simple and did not have any issue with the rack or screw holes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
So when i first got the case i was excited to have it. Upon further inspection and installation of my equipment i realized the lids don't have enough space to accommodate larger devices that stick out past the rack mount. The wheels seem of pretty good construction but the handle for the case seems like its a little flimsy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
This is the 6 U model....Don't let the photos fool you....it's a beast in size. CHECK YOUR REQUIRED SPACE NEEDS BEFORE YOU ORDER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
Awesome build quality, lightweight yet very protective. I trust my PC and rack mount gear in this. And it's sexy too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2016
The clamps don't match up all the time requiring me to switch covers from one side to another. I want to return it. Poorly made. Very disappointing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
Makes carrying my rack mounted gear easier. (I should saying rolling.)

I wanted this for a couple of gigs using Ableton Live9 with hardware synths and a rack line mixer.

I am using this under "mild" conditions. So I have no comment about everyday "rodie" use.

4 stars as they should have just provided the rear "rails" that they say you can get for "free".
Free? Not really. You must pay $9.99 for shipping and handling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here