Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 77 reviews
on July 8, 2015
This is the second Gator case of this model. My first one is a 6U, and I just bought this 8U because I needed a tad more space. Both cases are extremely solid and sturdy, but very lightweight.

I totally dig the rollerblade-style wheels -- they're soft to help cushion bumps in the sidewalk, yet strong enough to survive asphalt without hesitation. I've read that some people complain that the telescoping, luggage-style handles are flimsy, but they seem fine to me. The larger 8U model does seem to twist at little easier (since it's bigger, of course), but I don't have any complaints.

I've also read that you have to send off for the second set of rear rails, but both the 6U and the 8U I bought had them already installed, so apparently Gator did a little update.

Overall, I'm VERY happy with this case. I have a few thousand dollars worth of gear installed in these, and I trust them completely.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
This case probably knows how cool it is already; it just has an air of badassery about it. I found it chillin' on my porch like, "whatup?" NBD

I use this for my live stream rig, including Blackmagic ATEM, Nady Mixer, and power supply. The fact that it rolls is just a bonus, 'cause it gets pretty heavy.

Lids on both sides makes access a breeze. Plastic feels super durable, and the wheels are like little inline skate wheels, so they should last forever. 10/10 would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
My thanks to the many others who previously posted reviews about the annoying plastic shavings from the factory. When the two cases I ordered arrived, they had the same plastic shavings, a product of the various holes drilled to accommodate screws and rivets for the rackmounts and latches. First thing I did after unboxing the cases: took out the vacuum cleaner, connected the hose attachment with the narrow nozzle thing at the end, and cleaned up all the little shavings. It's kind of surprising that they don't do this at the factory so the customers aren't inconvenienced with it.

In any event, so far, so good. I like that the cases are shaped so be stackable, and they have rubber feet on two sides so you can store them flat or upright without scuffing them on the floor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2017
This is a rock solid rack. I've seen complaints about little plastic flakes left inside from the manufacturing process and how they destroyed really expensive gear. What a load of BS. Yes, there were a few scattered flakes inside, but not enough to damage anything. I just vacuumed them out. I'm really impressed the quality of this, the protection it offers and how light weight it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
We purchased this rack for our church a little over a year ago. I was/am happy with the overall quality. It's solidly made and the front and back lids attach with latches that ensure they won't come off accidentally while at the same time being easy to remove when needed. When I first saw the handle I thought to myself, "this seems flimsy". Sure enough just after a year (the warranty is for one year) the handle broke. The retractable part on one side where it slides into itself when closing came apart. The purpose of ordering this particular model was for the rolling capability.

To give you an idea of how often it gets used... we currently rent a space in a civic center for our church and have to break everything down after each service. The rack is stored in a closet about 100ft from where it's setup. Twice a week it gets taken out and setup on a table and then after the service the reverse. So that's four trips a week. And this is all indoors on a hard, smooth floor... no bumps, etc.

After checking Gator's website I found out even after the one year warranty runs out they will still supply parts. I requested ([...]) a new handle.

I received this email within 30 minutes of requesting the replacement handle:

------------------------------------------
Hi Josh,

I will be happy to ship this out to you

Thank you for using Gator Cases!
------------------------------------------

I'll update this review and let people know how it turned out.

------------------------------------------

UPDATE 4/29/2013

Sorry for the delayed update. Anyway, I ended up receiving the replacement handle in less than a week. The old handle was riveted. A guy who attends my church offered to replace the handle because he had a rivet gun. He said it was pretty simple, but it did require removing all equipment from the case. The handle has been working fine so far. No signs of failure yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2016
This case is awesome. I have mounted 12 wireless mics, power conditioner and 2 storage drawers in this case. I transport it weekly for church service at a hotel. Would definitely buy this again. Installing everything was really simple and did not have any issue with the rack or screw holes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
I'm building an amateur radio GO box out of this case, and it should do the job nicely. I'm mounting a single shelf in the middle of the rack to hold my radio gear.

The case seems well-built and sturdy. I wasn't expecting single-wall construction; under the lids the edges turn inward into a lip. The box and lids are full of plastic chips that I'm sure were made when they drilled the holes for the hardware. It would be nice if they got vacuumed out before it left Gator; I don't need all those chips clogging up my radios.

Mine came with front and rear rack mounts, which is nice. it also came with a ton of screws! I didn't think it was going to come with screws, so I ordered some. I'm going to return the ones I bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
This is the 6 U model....Don't let the photos fool you....it's a beast in size. CHECK YOUR REQUIRED SPACE NEEDS BEFORE YOU ORDER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on August 1, 2017
I nice case but the interior molding interferes with the shelves if mounted in the highest or lowest bracket potions.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2017
Rough and tough. The bars are spaced well and my amp and light switch box for perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here