Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: World Wide Rave: Creating Triggers that Get Millions of People to Spread Your Ideas and Share Your Stories
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Kate Voegele Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 17, 2009
Let me just begin this review of David Meerman Scott's "World Wide Rave" by saying that I admire and respect the innovative concepts that David teaches.

If you are in marketing or communications or public relations or, especially, the leader of an organization, today's world has gotten to be too competitive, too fast-moving, and too smart for you to cling to many of the tired old tenets of traditional outreach. You must ignore the old rules of advertising and PR, David writes ... and I agree completely. Success comes from people wanting to share the more credible information and stories they hear about you with their friends and colleagues. Conventional wisdom, as it is applied to marketing and promotion, is broken and far less effective in today's online world.

"World Wide Rave" is, I believe, one of the most important books about marketing in the Internet Era that I have read. The author is a man with deep credentials and perspective, and who, himself, has created world wide rave for his new approaches and ideas to marketing, and for his books.

David explains that we must "lose control," that we must understand that creating visibility in today's online world means releasing control of old approaches, like promoting messages, and capturing sales leads. The old PR agency idea of counting press clips is antiquated and silly in today's world. We can measure success but no longer through outdated business school Return on Investment (ROI) calculators.

Nobody cares about your organization or your products, David writes. What people care about are themselves and ways to solve their own problems. In order to have people talk about you and your ideas, he writes, you must resist the old urge to sell or hype your products and services. Today's style is rather one of finding "triggers" that stimulate attention and harness the power of the digital revolution. Rave is finding ways to get people talking about you.

"World Wide Rave" is filled with practical examples and guidance on how anyone can create world wide buzz about their organization or products or themselves. And, the best part is that we are living in an age when we have the ability to create rave ... or, a splash of significant awareness ... at little or no cost.

As an author and journalist, myself, who has studied and consulted on evolving trends of image-making and getting attention for many years, I would rank David Meerman Scott's "World Wide Rave" as one of the distinctive, trend-setting works, in the same category as Blanchard's "The One Minute Manager," and Beckwith's "Selling the Invisible."

After reading the 194 pages, I sat back, and thought, Wow!"
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
World Wide Rave: Creating Triggers that Get Millions of People to Spread Your Ideas and Share Your Stories by David Meerman Scott is an awesome book. A 6 stars book to those, who can think big, less stars to the others, depending on how small they think.

When I started reading the first story of David Meerrman Scott's book, in which he refers to the Harry Potter theme park and the marketing thereof, I thought, "This ought to be my problem, Harry Potter has already millions of fans..." A funny episode came to my mind, which happened on the first day the 4th book got delivered. I was at a supermarket, where I met a friend, whose 9-yr old daughter obviously could not be kept from reading. The relatively big girl sat in the grocery cart and read, while her mother pushed her around and shopped at the same time. When we met again at the cash registers, the girl was almost submerged in groceries, but - not even noticing that - she read, obviously in awe.

Spinning off my thoughts from there, I suddenly realized that this is what the author wants readers to do: Think Big! Don't confine yourself to little thoughts, like what the neighbor's business is doing. This is the 21st century and the bigger your horizon, the better the wave you can create. Why stop brainstorming in your backyard when the world and world's best campaigns can be your playground and inspiration?
Indeed, I must admit, reading the book I have had an idea, which I consider one of my best so far. As soon as I am finished writing this review I will get started with it.

The second thought that goes with this is, our goals should be to market our product to people, who will be as excited as the girl in the grocery cart. (Betting $10 that she got her mother to take her on vacation to the theme park.)

Meerman Scott's style comes across as authentic, which is so important because it proves that this is not recanned literature like so much nonsense out there. Scott's book offers a truly new perspective.

A must-read for people, who are looking to get inspired by the best ideas instead of the same-old-same-old step-by-step. Obviously, to create a world wide rave one must walk a new path. David Meerrman Scott delivers the ideas. Thank you.

Gisela Hausmann - author & blogger
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
This book is full of ideas, but lacks useful information. Yes, the difference is important. (E.g. To grill chicken, clean the grill off and then cook it until it browns. Compare that to a full recipe detailing how to prepare it w/ rub, when to turn it over, etc.) The book's examples of world wide raves are exceedingly short and merely paraphrase someone's success without detailing the steps they took to get there. For a complete newbie, by which I mean someone who hasn't even read online articles about marketing and the internet, it can be a good place to start. For someone who is somewhat proficient in what a marketing campaign needs (like a website, YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter), it's a complete waste of time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2015
I have been reading this book off and on while pursuing a medley of interests. I like the book and find value here. The main idea is that it is possible to start a "movement" by identifying and igniting those who already feel passionate about a specific idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
Probably a digital book that I enjoyed reading more than most. Scott uses multiple case study examples to drive his point home. Well, he has driven it home, at least where I am concerned.

The point, anyone can create an online world wide wave (i.e., an idea/ concept, etc., that catches fire through the online world).

Now I am left to answer for myself these questions (in no way a reflection on the quality of Scott's idea or the presentation of it in his book):
Is Scott's effect on me long-term, lasting (I certainly hope so, but am all too aware of human frailities)
How do I create my own wave - hopefuly of mega tsunami dimensions?

I am already working on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
There is one thing that Scott underlines throughout World Wide Rave: there is no guaranteed way to make something go viral. With that said, he offers several methods that have worked for him and for others. Some of the methods are easier to pull off than others and some may never work again -- especially as web services and users evolve.

As the title says the writing is very uneven. At times, the narrative is repetitive and it drags on and on. Other times, I found myself exclaiming, "YES! EXACTLY!" and wishing he had more to say on a subject. In each section, he discusses a technique then interviews someone who made it work for their campaign.

This is not a book that will appeal to seasoned viral campaigners but if you've got a new project to launch, there are some good ideas in World Wide Rave.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Absolute amazing! Person looking to spread their ideas would definitely want to study this book. Great insights into spreading your ideas.

Thanks David for sharing these stories with us and for inspiring us that it is possible to create our own world wide rave.

Here's to you creating your own world wide rave! Invest in this book, you will glad you did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
I'm just starting reading the book and I immediately see inconsistencies. It did not take Universal Orlando execs just 7 people or just two pieces of content to reach 350M people. They had Harry Potter, they had Universal Brand behind them, they had email list they utilized. And also I remember watching Trump's Apprentice doing a task with that so it is definitely not true they did not use traditional media and spend $$$$$. For a startup it will be hard to replicate this success with just 7 influencers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2009
I have been an avid reader of David Meerman Scott's blog for some time. I even have an Outlook task set so that I can remember to have my once a week look. As such, you won't be that surprised that I would be a fan of his latest book, World Wide Rave: Creating Triggers that Get Millions of People to Spread Your Ideas and Share Your Stories. For all of us who look to promote ourselves on the web better, and that should be everyone who isn't driving an ice cream truck - and some of these guys could use an idea or two - this book is an excellent starting place. Get your education here!

We all need something, some tool to bring our market to us. But more than that, we need to get them speaking about us in a positive manner and passionately spreading the word about our goods and services in a positive way. Your mind is this tool. Not in any esoteric way, but in a very practical and real way. David Meerman Scott shows us how everyone is looking for expertise and the best way to draw people to you is to share that expertise. Each and every one of us have something unique to offer and by offering this freely people (the market) want more and more and will be willing to pay.

David Meerman Scott provided many examples in the book of creating World Wide Rave but the one great example that really touched a nerve with me in the book had not so much to do with marketing online but rather a whole marketing philosophy. And it came from what most people would consider an unorthodox place. The "free giveaway" mentality is the Greatful Dead. First of all, the author and I split when it comes to his love of all things Dead - I have never really been that much of a fan but I have loads of friends who are among the faithful. David tells how the Dead have one of the greatest marketing systems going by simply allowing their fans to make bootleg copies of their numerous shows as well as taking pictures and video taping the experience. The author even listened to the concert he just attended on his drive back home. The Grateful Dead even incorporate this totally into their marketing plan! One can buy personalized photo albums of the experiences. By allowing the fans to make the bootleg copies they, the fans, share the copies and preserve their fond memories of the experience. And they share the experience with other fans and even those who had never been introduced to the band in the past.

The author is very passionate about his subject and throughout the book he urges the reader (yes, you!) to get started on creating your own World Wide Rave. One bit of advice that he did add that I thought was very interesting but extremely astute was that the reader should get on Twitter and keep everyone updated on what they are doing in real time. So if you want to know even more about creating your own World Wide Rave, get on Twitter and start following @dmscott. And while you are at it, tell him that @garydale sent ya!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2009
David Meerman Scott has written another winner describing how to successfully spread online thought leadership. He defines a World Wide Rave (WWR) as "a phenomenon that occurs when other people help to tell your story and drive action." Several, diverse WWR examples show that success can be measured in impacting millions of people or just as importantly, small, local markets / causes.
He defines the "Rules of the World Wide Rave" as:

* Nobody Cares About Your Products (Except You): an important revisit of the critical task of defining and creating "buyer personas;" the most important step driving the content creation as well as the selection of online vehicle(s)

* No Coercion Required : examples of cautionary tales related to questionable marketing tactics

* Lose Control: generating a WWR requires making your content free, easy to find, and easy to share; no registration forms for providing contact information

* Put Down Roots : get involved if you want to be taken seriously in the online world; start participating and sharing your own content and expertise by blogging, making posts on other blogs / discussion groups, sending "tweets," etc.

* Create Triggers That Encourage People To Share: sometimes this most obvious trigger is your own set of experiences that you implemented to address a personal or professional problem

* Point the World to Your (Virtual) Doorstep: the best search engine optimization strategy is creating great content that people want to share versus a comprehensive understanding of complex mathematical algorithms

Lessons and anecdotes I have taken to heart and am working towards implementing online (both personally and professionally):

* Creating an eBook (the white paper's sexier sister) and making it free online so you share your content / thought leadership with as many people as possible

* A WWR Is Not About Lead Generation: I'm not sure if I completely agree yet with this premise simply because I operate in an environment where you have to produce quantifiable lead generation results (i.e., people have to register for downloading our content); I'm working on striking the appropriate balance among different vehicles (i.e., webcasts require registration, podcasts and eBooks are free); I will grant Mr. Scott this: He walks the walk and talks the talk; See the YouTube video from the 2009 SXSW Summit where he describes making WWR a free download for a week on Amazon's Kindle 2 - (~ 7:35 into the video).

* Traditional ROI Metrics Don't Apply to a WWR: This is another key learning I wrestle with but to Mr. Scott's credit he provides some ideas and metrics on page 79 that can be useful in evaluating the success/failure of a WWR. In today's current economic environment (and the inherent battle for financial resources), measuring the impact of your marketing investments is paramount. According to a recent eMarketer article (March 23, 2009), Marketers Moving to Social Media, one of the biggest challenges with social media initiatives is measurement.

Lastly, a lot can be learned from this book not only in its content, but also in its effective writing style. The book is filled with 39 stories describing how people created their own WWRs. Each "rave story" is memorable and "sticky" (borrowing the terminology of Chip and Dan Heath -- authors of the best seller, Made to Stick). This is what I find makes Mr. Scott such an accessible and effective writer. He writes in a voice with "Made to Stick" traits. His messages and examples are simple, concrete, and involve stories with emotion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse