Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 748 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,034 reviews
on May 7, 2017
So, back in the early 1900s something is discovered. The powers that be decide we shouldn’t know about it and the secret is passed on from President to President.

Finally, after over 100 years of studying their discovery, it recently woke up. New people are drawn into the big secret and things quickly get out of control.

I found myself very intrigued by the plot. It would be awful to be trapped underground with something ancient and evil through and through. As the characters fall for it’s trickery, they meet some bloody ends.

I’d love to see this as a movie. The action is relentless and the author pulls no punches when throwing horrific things in your path. Watch out for ceiling vents and corners. You never know what’s waiting to jump out at you.

Chilling reading served up just the way I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2016
We are counting down to the Halloween season and this is just the right book!
I have read the LT 'Jack' Daniels books by this author and thought I would give this book a try. I found the explanations for the creature or demon to be very interesting. You have a group of professionals from fields such as military, science, religion, medical, and finally linguistics. All of these characters have secrets in their pasts. Which of the characters would benefit the most if the creature learns to communicate? There is also the traditional Biblical debates in the book which I found to be reasonable when they are trying to determine the origin and purpose of the creature. This could be the difference in whether a reader enjoyed the book or not. If you do not believe there is supreme being /beings responsible for the origin of good and evil on our earth, you will find these debates tiresome or maybe comical. But, I like the story, I like the characters, and I highlighted several of the passages in the book.
Great Job Konrath/ Kilborn!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
I loved the premise but the characters’ actions just stretched credibility too far. When the creature starts talking, they don’t pull up a chair to listen. No, they go play raquetball. have a date. They spend chapters talking to each other, debating religious theory.

The way Bub ‘tricks’ them into letting him out- so beyond transparent.
They spent the whole beginning throwing up because he was so freaky and disgusting.
But yet, they’re more than happy to trust everything he says.
Then when the typical horror starts happening, again, I didn’t understand their choices at all.

*** spoilers ***
So he’s very dangerous. He can reanimate dead things and turn them into more of himself.
What do you do? I’ll tell you: you pickaxe your way out and run like hell.
Then as he comes out of the hole too – that you dug for him – you say pretty much “oops”

Maybe one character I can see doing it? That’s the more expected thing.
But ALL of the survivors? Their only concern was for their own lives. Not one person thought, we cannot let this thing get out and eat grandma/my sister/my mother. Not a moment of guilt even or a second of ‘well, maybe we should take our lumps to save the world?’
It was presented by every character as the only logical choice: they can’t nuke this place because I’m in here.

I couldn’t empathize with anyone in the book.

I loved the premise and the beginning, but it let me down so hard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Just a cracking good tale. Satan has been discovered-in an apparent coma, in South America and sent to a crypt in the American west. His keepers face a life sentence in a nuclear hardened shelter observing him. And, then one day he wakes up!

Is that fun, or what? Konrath always serves up the macabre with flair and he doesnt disappoint this time.

I rated this a four on the star bar as the characterization is a bit thin. I havent read Konrath in a while and dont recall if this is his strong suit or not. Too many characters for a story of moderate length and not enough development of any of them.

Basically I would say read this for the originality of the plot and quality writing.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 13, 2015
Maybe not a thinking man's horror book, but loaded with well-defined characters and a storyline that moved at a brisk pace. Lots of memorable passages including the bloodcurdling for example "Bub twisted the sheep in half only a few feet away from her, a tangle of intestines stretching out between the pieces like hot mozzarella on a pizza" and "There could be no worse death...Or no greater death" to the wickedly funny like "I'm not a soldier. It's not my job to fight the devil. I know exactly what will happen. I saw Jurassic Park..." and this exchange " "I see you mean to distract me by playing on my weakness." "What's that?" "Spandex." So long as you keep in mind this being capable of making a good B-grade horror movie, it made for an entertaining read, and the more I read of J A Konrath the more I can say I've come to know what to expect and generally look forward to his books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
I really enjoyed this book. It had mystery - what was this demon and where had it come from. It had romance between Sun and Andy - not overpowering lust. It had suspense - would they be able to get away before being killed by the demon or by the nuclear bomb. Mostly it had horror!! I did not expect to love this book but I did and so will you I bet!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
Great Book. POSSIBLE SPOILER. I love the concept of the book, which is that several individuals are brought to a secret military base to investigate true evil, but I thought the true origin fell just a bit flat. I have recently discovered J.A. Konrath/Jack Kilborn and have been tearing through his books. He's a great writer and really sucks you into the story telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
I must say that I was intrigued by the title and even more by the intro. The story is about a mysterious thing that was found and it had egyptian and mayan markings on it. It is stored in an underground facility that the government has been sending misfits to for decades. It was found in 1906 and has now woken up to resemble what most assume is the devil. Through different events, linguist Andy and doctor Sun have found that their lives got the attention of the government and now they must go here. They work to figure out what this thing eats and what language it speaks. Well, each of them learn you can't trust the devil no matter what.

The characters are easily enough believable and the events and action is good. It's not a complete page turner, but it is still a good read. I liked Bub and even Sun for the most part as well as Andy's light heartedness. So, for the price, it's definitely better than some books I've paid $9 or more for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
Konrath wondered why this book seemed to perform so lackluster. I have some thoughts.
The reason it can fly even with broken wings is, it's Konrath. It has a great plot. It develops well. Believable characters the reader identifies with readily. It builds relentlessly. Konrath is one of the very few writers that can build a climax than couldn't possibly be worse…then it gets worse. Even when Konrath goobers, it's a really good goober.
Why 3 stars? I read too many other Konrath books. A 4 star is almost always a given for Konrath (this is his only 3 star I've read, IMO). His conversations between the Rabbi and the Priest. Quite good and well researched, but he has both use inferior conclusions. Would two guys supposed to be world class use such weak summations? And Konrath has both men—supposedly men of Faith—misunderstand Faith. The essence of Faith is not believing a divine fairy tale because it has God's name on it. It's much more fundamental than that. Faith is believing that God never lies, and that cles Father of Lies is the Other Guy; therefore God's Word is inerrant and infallible. Are there Jewish and Christian holy men that are that are ultimately this vapid? Sure, but they aren't world class. Nothing this insipid in Maimonides or Aquinas, I assure you. The quality of Konrath's research belies any plea of poetic license. The word is Goober.
OK, Konrath is not a creationist, he's writing a horror thriller, not a Sunday school book, so I'll give him that. But, the fulfillment of Fox Mulder's childhood dreams? Aw, geeze. Once a body reads astrophysicist Dr. Jacques Vallee's critique on the implausibility of the weird Visitors being from Out There; then reads his book Passport to Magonia; the Outer Space Visitor theory is dead. These…Things…have been right here with us, from the very beginning. But, it might be objected, he's telling a scary story, for Pete's sake, ease up. No, I'm sorry. It's like asking me to believe in a hot water balloon, that could be filled with boiling water, yet fly because all the bubbles rising to the top would somehow lift the balloon. The story has got to engender "the willing suspension of disbelief," and when it's doesn't…geeze. How do I know this? I read too many of Konrath's other books. If you can believe that stuff, the guy is good. Goober, the word is goober.
Finally, the Ending. Jethro Gibbs needs to smack him in the back of the head hard enough to make him stagger. I'm talking about the last couple paragraphs or so. Ever try to break wind silently on a crowded elevator, but it comes out a loud squealer? And everybody turns and gives you…The Look? Tolkien was a superb story teller, and he believed and practiced good endings. He invented a word, eucatastrophe, which means a potentially bad ending, but with a good outcome. For some excellent examples, read a half-dozen other Konrath books, and pay close attention to the Endings. Eucatastrophes. And then you read…this. Sorry, it's that word again…goober.
Konrath is one of my favorite writers of horror and thriller genres. Few writers can honestly, really, scare the willies out of adult readers. He can. He does. He even did in this here goober. But in this one, he kept repeatedly jerking it away from your brain. Then, in the last couple paragraphs, he whacks it in the head with a sledgehammer. Goober.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
Take the plunge into a story full of the creepy imagination of an obviously twisted mind - Konrath is a modern day version of Poe at times, but his character Bub is all that Satan desires. This book gives new meaning to the old phrase, of "I'm from the government and I'm here to help you."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse