Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Ricky Martin All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno



on July 31, 2013
Flip Mino Video Camera - Black, 2 GB,1 Hour (1st Generation)

After many years of faithful service, my first Flip suddenly died on me, and a repairman I talked to said that it wouldn't be worth repairing. That presented a real problem. The Flip could have been designed for me and my needs, but should I replace it? That was the question. Buy an item that hasn't been made for years and whose support will gradually dwindle away to nothing? I decided that much as I loved the Flip, it would be financially imprudent to invest in another one. The asking price was just too high, which should tell you something about the desirability of the Flip even though it is no longer being manufactured. Anyway, I replaced it with a Samsung Sports Cam. That was a mistake. With the Flip, I could push a button or two and then send a half-hour video to my friend through E-mail. With the Samsung, I couldn't send videos by E-mail, Oh, I might have been able to send one lasting a second or two, but that would have been the maximum. And I would have had to consult its manual to get that far. No, the Sports Cam has its strong points, but sending videos by E-mail is not one of them.

To make a long story short, my need for a simple camcorder kept growing, so I came to Amazon again to see what the prices were for used Flips, and I found this one. I was lucky that day, because the other times I had looked, I couldn't find one for a reasonable price. Anyway, I bought it, and now I've taken my first video with it. Excellent in all respects. Well, I was concerned because the Flip came with absolutely no instructions, not even one scrap of paper. Fortunately, I was lucky again, because although I was thoroughly confused by the instructions on the Flip website, I just kept clicking and clicking until I finally got everything I needed--I think. Along the way, however, there were several downloads that never finished downloading, so I just cancelled those downloads and moved on. What they were and whether I should have them, I just don't know,but my Flip seems to be working just as well as my old one did. Flips are still the greatest. I heartily recommend them, even used ones--for the right price ( I paid $35.00, now its $50.00).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 25, 2009
I love my new Flip Mino camcorder. I was mega-skeptical about how good
something this tiny could be, but I needed something quick, easy and
practical for sales-oriented website videos. I was amazed at how easy it
is to use the Flip Mino, and at the quality of the end product video.
Is it the "perfect" camcorder for every ocassion? No, but for those
impromptu, "down & dirty", on the spot videos it beats the heck out of
using a big camcorder...or a cellphone. I considered buying a Sony
"Webbie", but dollar for dollar you can't beat a Flip.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon February 16, 2009
I've had the old Flip Ultra for a couple of years now, and just picked up the newer Flip Mino. Both are fun and easy to use. The image and sound is pretty comparable on both - which is to say both are surprisingly good for a camcorder that is this handy and small. It's not professional quality but for video that is intended to share with friends and family it is just perfect.

The Mino fits better in the pocket, and has a few features like "delete all" and time stamping that I missed on the Ultra. I thought I wouldn't like that since I like the idea of having batteries handy just in case - as it turns out, the Mino will run for several hours on a single charge which is more than enough for a day's use. You just have to remember to charge it after you've used it a bit.

There isn't any zoom to speak of (digital zoom is useless, since all it does is blow up a picture and lose precious resolution) but what the Flip really asks you to do is rethink how you are capturing your images. Hold it close to your shoulder and step in to the action - to record people just aim it and talk to them normally and the image and sound will be excellent. If you always keep it handy then you can pull it out and move it up close and capture the action on the fly.

I know there are some other cameras out there that are slightly cheaper and have roughly similar performance -- I still prefer the flip for their sheer simplicity. If I want a slightly more complicated shoot I'm going to bring along a more fancy camera -- but for simple you really can't beat the flip.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 5, 2009
Update after 5 months:
I am totally enjoying the Flip Mino. I use it for training, fun weekend projects, and lately to liven up work meetings. I take it to work meetings where there is informal interaction and give a demonstration on using it to a few people then at the end of the day I see what I got. I've done this three times and created little <2min video recaps and people enjoy them. With the video editing software it's easy to do a quick video and send it out to the group. I'm glad I got the camera though the loss of the family interviews still makes me sick to my stomach.
I've had this for 5 weeks and it's been great fun. It was easy to use out of the box and connect to my computer. I trimmed the videos and made one larger video with titles and such. But the first big event came and I had a problem. I interviewed people at the family reunion. When I went to transfer the videos to my machine I manage to transfer 1 and delete the other 9. Now I'm not saying there wasn't user error involved. I thought I knew how to do it and wasn't reading the prompts carefully, BUT (1) there is no undo, when they are deleted that's it even if the camera is still plugged in, even searching through camera directories like a hard drive all that was there was the JPG thumbnails of what I used to have, (2) WHY would I want to transfer one and delete the rest?? I was just working with one at a time so I could watch them, name them something helpful, note what needed to be trimmed then move to the next video. I guess the intention is you transfer them all then change filenames later.
It's been 2 weeks and I just look at the camera and want to puke. Their tech support has been responsive, but I have no videos. I wish the story had a happy ending, I haven't told the family yet.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2009
I purchased this to use with students and teachers. The first time I opened it, I didn't even have to read the directions it was so simple to use. I used it to capture my teaching in a special education classroom. The mino is so small, the kids didn't even notice it. Next, I used it to video a mini-workshop by three teachers. Normally, they would have been nervous knowing and seeing a big video camera facing them, but the Mino is so small, it didn't cause a distraction to any of the participants or presenters.
I taped a Reader's Theater production and within 15 minutes of the conclusion of it, I had uploaded the entire 30 minutes production to the teacher's computer, installed the Flip software, edited and enhanced the video and posted it to the school's share drive.
Cons: it isn't HD, is only 2GB, lasts 60 mins and only has a 2X zoom
( this is the con that really bugs me) the USB seems a little flimsy, so I purchased the connecting cable, too.
Pros: lightweight, easy to use, easy & quick to charge ( also charges when connected to computer) easy uploading.. especially for people like me with Iphones that don't have video, easy and fun to use software for editing, the quality and clarity of the videos is amazing! The tri-pod looks like it wouldn't hold a fly, but it works great for placing the Mino in an out of the way spot for video capturing. Easy and durable enough for kids ages 4-400 to use!
I only wish i had researched and found out the Ultra was coming out this past April that has 120 minutes of video.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2010
When I first got this, I admit I was happy with it, using it to record anything that seemed interesting to me. The portability factor and the simple fact that it's so easy to use and to upload the vid to your computer was what had originally attracted me to purchasing this product. But early on, one of the main things that bothered me about this was the fact that it doesn't have any decent stabilization. And I understand, for something of this size and price, it wouldn't, but quite frankly the video quality that I get from my Leica C-LUX 3 digital camera or a Canon P&S digital camera (that takes HD) is going to be much better, trust me on this.

Pretty much you get this mainly because you want something aside from your point & shoot that takes video and that you can upload quickly to your computer and/or on to the internet. I, and am sure others will admit that you really don't need something like this, you just want to get it just because, since I'm sure most of the people like myself who end up buying one already have a digital camera that has video recording capability.

Not even 2yrs since I bought this, it stopped working. I press the button to turn it on but nothing happens, I flip open the USB and connect it to my laptop but no icon shows that anything is connected. This was a waste of money and I honestly would not recommend anyone to get this particular model - I'm not sure if the newer versions work better, but please steer clear of this one. Ultimately, if I could give some advice, I would just use the video function on your point & shoot digital camera (provided that your P&S takes HD), instead of purchasing yourself a Flip Video - it just simply is going to be better for you in all aspects.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2008
It's real small which is great, fits in a pocket. Takes clear pictures (I haven't taken any closeups yet). I have to get used to the idea that it's moving pictures (I'm used to still cameras) so my pictures all start out focusing on my feet or floor or something (have to edit that part out). I love the fact that the USB connection is built in; I can just plug it into my computer and not only upload the video but also charge the camera while I'm fooling around on the computer, don't have to keep track of where the cord it or anything (that built in jazz is brilliant). I'm not a good cinematographer and my vids aren't going to be interesting or breathtakingly well shot, I don't expect them to be. I just want to take short shots of people and places and things that interest me. The "software" that comes [in?] the camera allows you to upload the vid in a tighter format for easier emailing out, squeezes down the size vastly so your recipients' emailboxes don't get overwhelmed. It's just a nifty, handy little camcorder that can be tucked in a pocket or purse, whipped out when you need it. I think it's worth the money. No memory card needed or battery replacements. Maybe now my pictures won't come out so blurry because they will be moving pictures for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 7, 2010
I bought the flip mino in Oct for 99 dollars with free shipping from Amazon. I love it so much I also bought one for my grandaughter, then a neighbor saw mine and he ordered one thru Amazon also and my best friend bought one. That is how cool they are.

They are small, compact and extremely easy to use, they come with a simple video program where you can stream your videos all together and make one longer one.

The image quality is good though if I had it to do over again I think I would get a hd one. The sound quality is surprisingly good, sharp and clear, and the play back and transfer to your computer is easy enough, by simply plugging it into your usb port.

Mine holds up to 2 hours of recorded video and has a nice long battery life. The mino come with a closed lithium batter that recharges while it is plugged into your computer thru the usb port.

I won't go into item specifics, but will say it is easy, durable, light weight and takes good quality videos that are easy to transfer and send to others...

IT IS A KEEPER and I Love mine to pieces..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 22, 2008
This is the first video camera I've ever owned (I'm 58 yrs old), and I love it! Video quality is excellent (even in low light). I have not tried viewing it on a large TV, but the playback looks great on a 19" monitor. Best quality is observed at the "normal" size (about 8" diagonal) but the full screen version is perfectly acceptable. Audio quality indoors is good up to about 8 feet from the subject. Comments made by the person holding the camera while recording are extremely clear.
Battery life so far has been NO ISSUE. A continuous 30 minute recording does not even move the battery charge indicator bar. Beware of incredibly large files though! A 30 minute recording will consume 900 Mb, and I've found no way to share files that large. There must be a way to convert the files to DVD on the computer, but I'm not savvy enough to figure it out yet. The included software says you can edit the files too, but the instructions have thus far eluded me. I consider that to be a user problem, not a product issue. Just be prepared to dedicate a LOT of computer memory to file storage!
Another restriction is camera shake. Mino is so small and light that it's nearly impossible to hold steady. Pressing buttons to zoom or start/stop will almost certainly result in a shake, but most people will figure out how to clip the ends in editing. I did buy the little tripod which eliminates the problem.
Despite the few difficulties, I do highly recommend this camera after 3 months use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2008
I've got a nice Canon GL2 and I have some beautiful video of my family memories, and even a local tv show I produce with it, "Yoga In Wisconsin". But in the couple of months that I've owned this camera, I have shot almost half the footage, I have with the GL2. Because its out of your pocket and running in 10 sec, you can actually capture the crazy dance baby started doing, before he stops never to repeat it again. And the fact you had it in your pocket in the first place, when I would never take my $1000+ camera, 1 because it's to big and 2 I might break it.

Its easy to keep charged, and download video files. I'm on a mac too, so I do NOT recommend their software, I purchased Visual Hub for $20 and copy/covert them right from the camera (.avi file) to my imovie folder (.dv file) using the software. Way worth it.

The tapes, when I record them back, from my GL2 onto the computer look better, but they take almost ten times as long to get back onto the computer (to convert 60 min of video through Visual Hub takes about 7-13 min, and it takes more time for the clips to render thumbs in imovie) and not cost for tapes. You will want to burn DVDs of your movies though because you wont be able to go back to the tapes once deleted. I had a little trouble with it hanging up the finder and I had to pull it out because it wouldn't let me eject it. So I called Cust Serv and they helped me right away, and had me restart it with a paper clip. I've had to do this a couple of times but that has been my only compliant. It still had all the footage on it by the way after reseting it.

Bottom line, you have a little one, or a life that is worth remembering pick one up, it's worth it. (and an external hard drive too, your going to have lots of videos.)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here