Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 437 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 483 reviews
on December 18, 2010
I am currently deployed in Afghanistan and have used this GPS during my combat patrols for about two weeks now. I have found that it performs perfectly. It is easily configured for MGRS, the metric system, and the compass can be set for Mils which makes calling for polar fire missions very easy. I love the fact that I have a 10-digit grid on my wrist. It cuts down on weight, not having to lug a DAGR around, and as I am taking notes during Community Engagements I can grab the grid right off my wrist as I write. So far it has stood up to the insane temperature differences from day to night. It has stood up to the dust (which gets into EVERYTHING - and has ruined two of my digital cameras [including a so-called dust-proof one]) with flying colors. The batteries last about 8 hours and it takes AAAs which are easy to carry. You can easily beam waypoints from one GPS to another. Several guys in my platoon carry the same one which makes it very easy. I am looking forward to using this when I get home to track my runs. So far I have found nothing wrong with this to speak of. I would definitely recommend it for whatever purpose you would use it for. I haven't tested its water-proofness yet; however, it stands up to my sweat very well.
3939 comments| 779 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2016
Great product. I'm a Marine grunt and use this in the field for getting MGRS grid and elevation. Pretty much all officers and NCO's/SNCO's in the infantry use this b/c it's so small, accurate, and convenient on your wrist or plate carrier. Lat/Long is default, but you can go into settings and change. Antenna is so sensitive that I've received satellite link inside a building, cloudy days, thick forest, and inside an up armor HMMWV. I have not tried using it in a very built up urban environment like a large US metropolitan city (I imagine you'll have problems getting link), but small towns or villages, and you're good.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
Fantastic functions and screen options for its size. Has many map options including MGRS.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2017
It took much time, research and comparisons before I settled on the 401. No gimmickry! Instead solid build, legible display in the brightest of sunlight, runs on ordinary AA batteries, no recharging cables, no internet necessary, independent and stand-alone functioning. Quick signal capture, responsive, sensitive. Certainly no fashion accessory or computer for dedicated athletes who keep detailed statistics, but perfect for this cyclist, hiker, skier or walker interested only in staying on track and current and average speed, distance covered, etc. Gadget is very light, bulky like a matchbox tied to your wrist. Function over form, very "Bauhaus". Non-techies could use it straight out of the box - even without reading the manual. Very pleased with my choice . . . and the price: two thirds to three quarters less expensive than the latest Fenix or Suunto-like trackers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
I also own the 201 and this 401 unit is a big improvement. First of all it reads the satellites and is ready to go the instant you turn it on. The 201 could take up to 10 minutes in some environments. The 201 would also lose satellite contact in densely wooded areas. The 401 doesn't.

I love the ability to customize the main screen with the four primary bits of information that are best for you (there are about 40 to pick from). In addition to elapsed time for my hike and total distance covered, I choose maximum altitude gain (I hike to the top of mountains), and current altitude. You can pick from many others--average speed, distance to next waypoint, and lots more. Another improvement is a backlight if you need it which the 201 did not have.

The only negative thing is that the 201 automatically saved each hike/run/bike ride that you made and you could look at these individually or by week or month or year and see totals. The 401 doesn't do that but you can save and download individual sessions to your computer if you want to. It is still an outstanding product and I'm glad that I bought it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
Conditions of use: trail hiking, moderate climate, all weather.

Reason for purchase: tracking hikes, to facilitate improvement in distance and time travelled.

This device is a fairly straightforward GPS unit that is easy to get started with. I do not have another GPS to track accuracy, though plotting the data to Google Maps results in a match with the trail maps. The size is a bit bulky, and I typically turn it on and then drop it in a pack for the remainder of the hike. While hiking, the unit displays some data such as move time, speed, and distance. It also has an altimeter and electronic compass; I deactivated the latter as I believe it was draining the battery faster.

Battery life: this device uses 2 aaa batteries, and I would recommend using rechargables. I have not tracked the drain rate, though I do not have to change the batteries more than a couple times a week for short hikes and once a day for longer hikes.

The software is the most confusing part. It took me a bit to learn how to manage the data in any useful fashion, and I prefer to export everything and then work with it in other programs such as Google Maps. There may be other programs out there that work better.

Overall I find this device to be a useful addition to my current kit, though I would recommend doing research into the alternatives before jumping to purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
The single best product I have ever bought. Made through multiple Afghanistan Deployments, Hiking in the Adirondacks, and general travel. I import the data to google maps and wipe it. Never quits, near breaks, has all the features and Marine Infantry Officer needs, none of the ones they don't. Not bulky.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
Works as expected (I had a 301 I gave to my son a few years back). This is a great product for backcountry skiers where we need to keep track of elevation and for navigating in complex terrain. Intuitive and easy to use. The only negative is that you cannot use it more than two days (10 hours total) in cold skiing temperatures without replacing the 2-AAA batteries.

As a side note, I had to fabricate a new wrist strap. The velcro on the original did not stand the use after only two weeks of use. But It did not change my recommendation. I am a heavy user under harsh climatic conditions, and they strap was not designed to stand that type of use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
Totally impressed with this simple and effective GPS. I'm planning on using it during my 2017 Elk Hunt in Colorado. I also bought a canvas cover for it, via the internet, to protect it while in use. I love how small, and compact this unit is. Locates satellites quickly and effectively gets you where you need to be. Very impressed so far!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
Held off for years ok this. I love it. Trying to figure the blue tooth transfer out. I used it to mark opfor grids, not so-awesome compass (slower than lensatic), shot azimuth in training. Still need to get used to using it. My battery drains a lot faster than my friends that have my same model but maybe it was the batteries I was using or the cold weather. Overall awesome tool.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 196 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here