Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,872 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,046 reviews
on November 7, 2009
I can't think of anything negative to say about this product. I did a lot of research on Oral-B's products as compared to Sonicare before buying this unit, and I'm happy as heck with the choice I made. It's easy to use, easy to keep clean, very well constructed and is a very effective oral hygiene tool. Also, since my bathroom is small, I really appreciate the small footprint of the recharging base.

When I was making the decision to buy this model, I went back and forth as to whether to go with the SmartSeries 5000 with its separate "Smart Guide," (as opposed to the only slightly-cheaper 4000) but I'm glad I opted to pay the extra money for this additional gizmo. Aside from the fact that it doubles as an unobtrusive bathroom clock, I actually find that the visual guidance on brushing times, brushing mode, and brushing pressure help me to use this product to its full potential. Also, in case you were wondering, the cheaper AA-powered brushes you can get for a tenth of the price of this product simply DO NOT COMPARE.

UPDATE as of September 16, 2014: I am still using this product, and have had absolutely no problem with it.

UPDATE as of December 8, 2015: The poor thing finally gave up the ghost. Still, it had a good run. I'm buying a more current model.
1313 comments| 715 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 28, 2015
I've been using this brush for almost a year, and I'm totallly sold on its value. I switched from Sonicare to this brush after reading a summary of a study entitiled "A randomized 12-week clinical comparison of an oscillating-rotating toothbrush to a new sonic brush in the reduction of gingivitis and plaque". After 130 brushers were randomized to two groups, 65 to Sonicare and 65 to Oral B oscillating and rotating model (O&R), their mouths were judged by the Modified Gingival Index (MGI), Gingival Bleeding Index (GBI), and the Rustogi Modified Navy Plaque Index (RMNPI) after six and twelve weeks of twice daily two minute brushing sessions. Those lucky mouths in the Oral B O&R group had it all over the Sonicare group with respect to plaque reduction at 6 weeks, and were significantly better off in both gingivitis and plaque categories at 12 weeks.

Personally, I had my first dental check-up within 2 months of starting with this brush. You know the part where they dig and scrape (D&S) during the part of the exam you dread? My D&S time dropped from the usual 45+ agonizing minutes to less than 10. On the next six month exam (9 months into Oral B use), D&S was even less time-consuming and not dreadful at all. I get compliments on my teeth (as in 'your teeth look great; what whitening system to you use?').

Full disclosure: I use POH black floss as well which is a great way to clear out that which all that O&R can't remove from between tooth crevices.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
Pros:
- The best electric toothbrush on the market.
- Great cleaning.
- Reasonable value (I purchased it on sale).

Cons:
- Pricy.
- The SmartGuide device is gimmicky. It's a useful gimmick, but a gimmick nonetheless.
- LOUD!!!

Snapshot conclusion:
- The versatility of the Oral B system, when compared to the "you can get it in any color as long as it's black" mentality of the Philips Sonicare line, is what makes it a superior product. Both offer essentially the same level of cleaning and features for about the same price, Oral B just makes executing the full potential of cleaning easier for their customers.

The Oral B 5000 is better than the 4000 and 3000, though all are great. If you're on a budget, go with the 3000. It gives you the most important features that make Oral B better than the Sonicare and a very obvious notification light for when you're brushing too hard.

Don't sink to the 2000 or 1000: if you can't afford the 3000, stick with an old-fashioned brush and settle on drip coffee for a week instead of the nancy fancy-pants drink to deal with the price difference.

If you're considering spending the extra money to get into the 4000, spend a little more and step up to the 5000. It's worth it.

THE REVIEW

I was in the market for an electric toothbrush after talking to my girlfriend about her experience with her Sonicare. Her teeth are super white and she claims that her dentist looks in her mouth for a few minutes for cavities and cuts her loose without much more than a few seconds with the scraper during her routine checkups.

Considering the amount of correlation between heart disease and oral hygiene surfacing in long-term research studies, I take my flossing, brushing, and rinsing routine seriously. Still, though, I always get stuck in the chair during my checkups... suffering the scraper at the hands of the only back alley dentist I can afford without insurance.

My consideration for an electric toothbrush was as a long term investment in health maintenance rather than simply acquiring a new gadget. Lucky for me, the Oral B 5000 delivers on both fronts.

After a lot of research, I settled on Oral-B. I didn't ask my dentist: trust me, she's more likely to know how to dispose of a body than what kind of electric toothbrush is best... which is an opinion often purchased with manufacture incentives and kickbacks to the dentist.

What I learned is that in terms of cleaning potential, the Philips Sonicare and Braun/Oral-B series devices are about equal. What sold me on the Oral-B is the action of the brushing head. I like that it oscillates in addition to simply vibrating a lot since dental tools are rotary in motion (at least the ones I've seen).

Another significant advantage is that Oral-B has an extensive selection of brush heads depending on your needs so the user can work the best tool in and out of their mouth.

After using the 5000 for a few days, I can say that my teeth feel SUPER clean. Granted, I'm a bit OCD: I've been using the "deep clean" mode three times a day. I figure I'm going to get as much as I can out of the "60 day challenge" as possible. I'm also aggressively attacking my personal problem area for plaque: behind my lower incisors (former smoker). After a month or so, I'll go to the regular two 2min daily brushings.

The MSRP is absurd on the 5000. I would NEVER pay $150 on a date with the luscious naive 19 year-old of my mid-thirties dreams, let alone a toothbrush. I purchased this on sale for a great price, and after all was said and done, the only reason I purchased the 5000 over the 4000 was because the 5000 was only five dollars more. I figured the extra money was worth having another silly gadget in my Batman collection.

I feel there is something more important people get with the 5000 series when compared to the 4000: it's called the Triple Pressure Control System. What this does is adjust the speed immediately depending on how much pressure you're applying so that you don't damage enamel, especially with whitening (i.e.; LOADED WITH SAND) toothpastes. You can hear it working (trust me: you know when the brush is moving at full throttle as optimal pressure is applied), and it's nice to know that the toothbrush takes all guesswork out of the equation for me since I've always been a ham-fisted brusher.

While I could purchase two "2500" models from Costco for a little more than I paid for this, the price of admission is totally worth it for the 5000's features. Also, the 5000 has the "deep clean" feature, which adds 15sec to each quadrant, so you can go nuts with the toothpaste of your choice.

Who doesn't like THAT?!

The SmartGuide is interesting, but unnecessary. The visual cue for brushing too hard is nice, but I've found the red light built into the handle and the motor spooling down are adequate reminders without the need for the extra red flasher on the guide's screen. However, the motor's rapidly adjusting throttle, in addition to the SmartGuide, isn't included in the 4000 model.

One thing that I like about the SmartGuide is that it shows what mode you're using, which is great because it's one less thing I have to memorize. With a little experience, I've learned how long I have to get to my teeth within the timer's intervals, but the SmartGuide accelerated that process.

All in all, it's a nice additional feature that's a little cheesy and embarrassing for adults, but would be great for children, or me after a long night of drinking with the guys.

Something that isn't nice is the volume of this toothbrush. It sounds like I have an angry teenager's Honda in my mouth. Considering the results and ease of moving the toothbrush around my admittedly cramped mouth (all four wisdom teeth pulled), 4-9 minutes a day of this racket is a decent compromise. The only way to cut down the noise and vibration is to add mass to absorb it, which adds size, which makes it harder to use.

Given my research and experience, I'm glad I purchased the 5000 instead of the 4000. Between the pressure control, the "deep clean" mode, and the amusement of getting caught saying "don't take that tone with me, pal. Relax, we're just brush buddies" while brushing under the influence; there is a lot more than $5 worth of advantage over the (slightly) lesser 4000 model.

The 5000 is about $15 better than the 4000, so if you can snag one within that price differential, do it. You'll love having it in your mouth and all over your face. Do it.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
I've had this toothbrush for 3 years. It finally bit the dust. I'm debating on ordering the same one again, since I'm so familiar w/it, or upgrading. What's Bluetooth going to do for me that a non-Bluetooth won't? A "how to brush your teeth" app may be fine for a child, but I've been doing this for a long time. I think I can get along w/out it. Lol. Besides, I can do w/out adding another app on my phone. 🙄
My dentist has noticed an improvement in my gum care since I started using this. There's a warning light that flashes when you're brushing too hard. (Which I definitely needed). You can switch to different modes of cleaning w/o any problem, during the brushing. It recharges within hours. All the different brush heads fit and work well. I even tried some cheaper knock-off brushes and they worked just fine. In the beginning I charged it once a week. Then gradually, twice a week. Now, 3 years later, every other day. Time for a new one. I've read some reviews where this toothbrush lasted 6 years!
Although it doesn't come w/a travel case, that's never stopped me from taking it w/me. I just wrapped it in a plastic freezer bag and put it in my suitcase and was good to go.
Toss out your manual toothbrush! There's no comparison! Don't even compare it w/those battery operated ones. This is 100 times better!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
I'm really glad I opted for this model with the Smart Guide. It's an excellent feature, and really convenient, as it reminds you to spend at least 30 seconds in each of the four quadrants in your mouth. It's useful so that you don't cut corners.

Aside from the Smart Guide, this is overall a really powerful electric toothbrush, fun to use, really, really makes your teeth feel clean afterwards, and the battery lasts a really long time.

For regular maintenance, every six months I let the battery drain to empty, in order to maximize battery life. I set a notification in my calendar application to repeat every six months. Once a month I have a reminder as well to change the toothbrush head, and these are very affordable:
Toothbrush Replacement Heads Refill for Oral-B Electric Toothbrush Pro 1000 Pro 3000 Pro 5000 Pro 7000 Vitality Floss Action,8 Count By Sekmet

Overall, a really solid toothbrush system. Sometimes I don't bring it with me traveling, opting instead to brush with a regular toothbrush, and I can really notice the difference, in a positive way, how using this electric toothbrush really makes a positive difference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2015
Buyer beware.

I should preface this by noting that I actually really like the brush. Teeth feel great, easy to use, very handy timer. There are 5 modes, though truthfully I keep it on the default first mode. I should also note that when I purchased the brush Nov. 6, 2014, the box said oral B professional but the actual toothbrush body is labeled triumph. Other reviewers mention this as well. I kept the brush despite this because, whatever. It's probably essentially the same brush.

Back to the buyer beware part. A year after purchasing and continual use, my brush seems to hold a charge for roughly 4-5 days of regular use and not the 10-12 days it started with. I have no problem with this as that's to be expected of any battery. What IS an issue, however, is that roughly 9 months after initial use my brush started to randomly slow down to nearly stopped, then speed up to crazy fast, then die. My brushing routine became A)turn on brush, B) brush for ~15 sec, C) brush dies, D) hit power, get no response X4, E) go to step A, X number of times. Exhausting. Fast forward to just past a year of ownership and the brush no longer vibrates. It turns on and battery shows full charge, but the brush won't move. Lazy brush.

So beware. When it works it's great, don't get me wrong, but for $100 I expect you to last for more than a year. Waste of money, and certainly not what I expected from oral b.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2017
I bought this in 2011 and was (and still is) my first and only electronic tooth brush. Immediately after first using it, the sensation is a bit strange on your teeth/gums but your teeth will feel cleaner than a standard tooth brush. There have been times I've taken just the brush w/out the base charger on a week long + trip and the battery finally dies down, and have had to resort to manual brushing. I immediately then miss the cleaning action of the brush when it is charged and look forward to having it charged again. For a six year investment and still using it, I would say it has been great. I've used all the brush heads that Oral-B makes, and the 'floss action' is my favorite. It offers a good mix of brush stiffness (vs being too soft or hard) and leaves my teeth polished and clean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on October 3, 2015
Replaced my old 5000 with a new one, expecting it to be the same or better. But apparently Braun decided to remove the auto-ranging power supply, so I couldn't charge it while I was in Europe for 10 days like I used to.

If you never travel internationally, it's a 5-star product. But if you do, beware, you'll be brushing your teeth manually when the battery runs out.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
This toothbrush is beyond awesome. I have heard from others that the battery eventually does die but I found myself purchasing & throwing away the lesser model Oral B toothbrushes that you can buy in the supermarket or drug stores, on an a monthly basis anyway. I love the timer that not only tracks the 2 minutes that dentists recommend brushing (it begins the moment you turn the brush on - sends a wireless signal to it, so no need to press anything on the timer), but it also keeps tabs on how often you brush and will drop your stars if you don't brush at least twice a day. It's like seeing the dentist in-between seeing the dentist - you feel a sense of obligation to keep your 5 stars up when you notice them on the timer/tracker in the bathroom every day. I also love the red sensor notification on the brush when you are brushing too hard; I am a habitual hard-brusher so this helps as I see the light at least 3-4x every time, so its a helpful feature to take note of while brushing so you can ease off the pressure. I feel this brush cleans 5x better than a regular brush and at least 3x better than the standard battery operated brush. Heads are a little pricey but I think the cost is well worth it in the end; I have noticed considerable difference to my teeth & gums after only having used this a month or so. If it breaks, I will buy another for sure - bought the others in my family the lesser models & they like them, but the tracking feature and pulses aren't as good as they are with this one, so I probably will break down and buy them all this model eventually - cleaner bills of health at the dentist will be worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2017
If I could give it "0" stars, I would. I bought two for my kids for Christmas. Seven months later and neither unit will charge. Originally, I put one charging unit away and had them share the same one, so I got that one out when the current one stopped charging, but it's not working either. I tried everything...switched outlets, moved it around on the charger, cleaned everything, and even tried my toothbrush charger (different model, so that was just a last-ditch effort). Nothing. It is unacceptable that these stopped working after 7 months of use. I have an older model and it still works great after 10 YEARS! The quality of the Oral-B toothbrushes has really deteriorated over the years. This was a big waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse