Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Women's Block Sandals nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Electronics Gift Guide Introducing Fire TV Cube Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon theaffairS4 theaffairS4 theaffairS4  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on April 15, 2013
I purchased my TrekDesk about 6 months ago but it sat in it's box for a few months before I got around to pairing it with the Confidence Power Plus Motorized Electric Treadmill (also bought from Amazon). I was pretty skeptical at first - especially after reviewing the most negative review video.

I work mostly at home as an IT consultant and have lived a very sedentary life as a result and have put on at least 50lbs too much and really needed to make a change in my life. If I was going to do this - I really needed to 1) keep it under budget (we have 5 kids at home etc.) and 2) I needed enough space to hold all my stuff (I use three monitors with my PC) and it had to hold it all steadily. It's now been 8 weeks since I started using my new desk/treadmill and I wanted to tell my experience.

Pre-workout and building courage phase:

Once I received my treadmill I was finally forced to open the box for the desk and to begin to build it. I was pleasantly surprised at the build construction. From the negative video - the guy makes it look like it will fall over and collapse by barely touching it so I remained skeptical still. It took me only about 45 minutes (in total - in between visits from my little guys asking if they can help every 2 min.) I am only 5'8 (got shorter due to paratrooper days in the Army :) and found that I the default height of the lowest setting fit me perfectly. With the treadmill in place I stand very comfortably with my hand easily being able to reach my keyboard and other items I need to use without issue. There is at least enough room to raise it another 10 inches for those less vertically-challenged like me.

I proceeded to move all three of my 27inch LCD monitors, two laptops, a speakerphone and still have plenty of room for water bottles and other misc. stuff that adds up without being too cluttered. In the end, found that not only did I have enough space for all of this, but it was all quite stable (unlike how the guy in the video tries to show you that it is all very unstable and cheap). In short - I am very pleased with the construction. The desk is foldable like a folding table and can be easily moved - love that too.

Now I have my TrekDesk next to my old fat guy desk in my office so I can easily switch as needed.

Now on to actual use..

Week 1: Ouch! My feet are killing me! This will take some time to get used to for sure.. Typing and talking - well not too easy to do at initially. It took me a few days to get used to it if I concentrated. I started off at a speed of 1.0 to get used to things ending at 1.2 for the week. I would run in 30 minutes 'sets' as long as I could stand it - but I had to take frequent breaks too.

Week 2: OMG my feet HURT. I am using regular gym shoes but really have not gotten used to the standing bit. I have increased my pace from 1.5 to 2.0 though and I sweat pretty strongly at this setting. I where shorts and tank while working - that's pretty cool huh? By the end of this week I was starting to get more encouraged though.

Week 3: Ok - feet are beginning to adjust and don't hurt so bad. I have some soreness in my legs and back but it was ok since I was actually feeling pretty good about it. I have started to really get into drinking water. So far - the desk hasn't broken down at all - everything remains functional and stable. The treadmill I bought has been holding up as well. The noise level is quiet enough that I can be on my USB speakerphone (Using MS Lync) and no one on the call complains and when asked about it they tell me that they don't hear anything :)

Week 4: Now I am starting to feel like this is a habit. I decided to go out and buy a FitBit Ultra (yes Amazon as well) so that I can keep track of my steps, calories, and distance. I have also started a push program that when I pause I do some sets of pushups in-between meetings etc.

Week 5-8: Using the FitBit has really made a difference now as well. At the end of week 8, according to the FitBit, I am averaging over 10,000 steps a day (over 4 sets of 30 minutes at ~2.0 MPH), burn close to 2,000 calories a day, and have greatly reduced my calorie intake. I am now losing weight at a clip of around 1.5 to 2 lbs a week and have not felt this good in a long long time. I now have loads of energy and when I wake up tired, once I get going, I wake up and stay awake all day (before I started I was tired all the time and really had a hardtime staying focused.).

I really have to credit the TrekDesk people with making what I consider an economical but well designed product, as well as low cost Confidence Power Plus Treadmill and FitBit. I spent around $800 for all of this and I consider it truly a life change for me. Please take the negative reviews with a grain of salt. If you have the money - then naturally you can spend more but for me, I am very happy with this purchase.

On a last note - I built a small stand for the middle monitor to sit on that is open in the middle with two 10 inch sides and the top is 18 inches across - both being 10 inches deep. This lets me reach the treadmill controls and be able to see the timer on it without issue.

I hope you find my little review informative!
364 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
on February 4, 2015
I researched various desks, and the TrekDesk provided the most space for my double monitors and office supplies. Yes, it is an investment, but so is your health!

I canceled my gym membership, because I never had time to go to the gym. I was getting about 2,000 steps per day. Now with my TrekDesk, I am hitting my goal of over 10,000 steps per day by noon! All while working!

I started out at 1 mph. Then, I moved up to 1. 5. I sometimes get to 2 mph, but I have found the best pace for me is 1.8 mph. At this pace, you can still type and operate your mouse very smoothly. I'm sure everyone has their own "perfect pace", but remember to start out slow.

Wouldn't it be great if every classroom and every office in the country offered these as an option for students and staff? Imagine the productivity and healthy benefits!

I want to convince everyone that this is a great purchase, and I have not regret it for one moment.
review imagereview imagereview image
21 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 8, 2009
I have been waiting for months for the Trekdesk to be released. I ordered mine minutes after receiving the email that it was available to order (I was on the waitlist). I had lofty expectations for this product. Now that I have been using it for a few days I can safely report that Trekdesk has met all my expecations. I am thrilled with my new office routine!

Let me start with the bad to get it out of the way. I am nit-picking here. These are fairly minor complaints.
THE BAD:

- Assembly instructions could be more helpful. It took me 45 minutes to assemble the desk, although I admitedly am not much of a handyman. Others could probably assemble it in half that time. The instructions were detailed, but do not have drawings/pictures which would have been very helful to me. The video helped some, but I wish it also was more detailed in showing assembly steps. I was surprised at the number of parts to assemble...and the number of screws. It would be helpful to have the different size screws in separate bags instead of all in one bag.

- Difficulty accessing the treadmill control panel under the Trekdesk. I believe Trekdesk recommends a treadmill with a side panel instead of the panel in front. However, my treadmill has the front panel, which sits under the Trekdesk. I can't see the treadmill display without performing gymnastic contortions. Also, must reach under the Trekdesk to press the start/stop buttons on the treadmill. However, after a few hours I was used to the routine. I haven't changed the speed or incline on the treadmill since the first day anyway, so no need to have easy access to the control panel.

- cord control. They should add features for tying down cords somewhere. Between the computer, monitor, phone, printer, etc....lots of cords running from the desk.

- Not a full-time desk. I found that I like to alternate between a chair and the treadmill during the day. I work/walk for a couple hours and then spend a half hour sitting at the desk. However, I have only been using the treadmill for 2 days and noticed that today I spent a lot more time on the treadmill than I did the first day. Ok, you have probably guessed I am not the picture of fitness (yet).

Now for all the good stuff...
THE GOOD:
- solid construction. When I ordered I was a little worried this would be a cheap product because the price was a fraction of other treadmill workstations. However, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the desk when unpacking the box.

- packaging. Speaking of unpacking..no way this desk will be damaged during shipping. All parts are fit into layers of custom-molded styrofoam.

- video tutorial for assembling.

- adjustable height. I am 6' 3, and the Trekdesk fits me perfectly when I am on the treadmill. I could still raise it a couple more inches if I wanted to.

- customer service. I emailed customer service with a question and received a response and helpful instructions within an hour.

- large desk. Plenty or room for a work area, even with a laptop docked and a monitor/keyboard/mouse.

- the best news of all is that it works! I feel great during and after work. I have been working from home for quite some time now, and have been feeling more and more lethargic sitting in my chair all day long. What a difference the Trekdesk makes! I had more energy today at work than I have had in a long time. It only took minutes to get used to walking while typing away at the keyboard or using the mouse. The setup feels quite natural now. I use all the accessories that came with the desk, especially the cup holders. Those are a nice touch. Overall, I have no reservations about recommending the Trekdesk. It has been well worth the purchase price to me.
230 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
on August 9, 2013
I'm a full time telecommuter and I struggle to get over 4,000 steps a day. On the day prior to receiving the Trekdesk, I walked just under 4,000 steps with a goal of 10,000. The following morning after having setup the trekdesk, I started work at the same time as normal, but by 11am I had already walked 4,700+ steps.

Needless to say I was astonished, and exhausted. I took a 30 minute break, sat down, had a meal, and then went back to "work". By 3pm, I had already surpassed 11,000 steps and by 5pm I had just under 13,000.

On Monday, I had more strength after having rested over the weekend. I started my normal day but found I had more energy and could stay on the treadmill longer, so I kept right on going. At the end of the day on Monday I was at 14,600 steps +.

Tuesday was the same story, except now I'm starting to get the hang of it, I'm able to type and talk and walk, and even chew gum at the same time. I'm also topping over 16,000 steps a day.

I have a Jawbone Up, and in order to track my steps I put it on my ankle since my hands are stationary. I haven't lost any weight, but it's clear that something is happening since my legs are much more firm than last week and my pants are starting to slip a little.

Can't say enough good things about this product. Get it, use it for a week, then decide for yourself.
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 3, 2015
I invested in the TrekDesk August 2014, and while it took me time to adopt to a rhythm of using it, I found clear benefits from Day One.
1. I was no longer sitting at my desk for long periods of time with no movement
2. I was standing so had a different perspective of my working environment
3. My Shoulders and Lower Back no longer ached at the end of the day
4. My posture improved
5. My Attitude improved movement helped me feel more positive about my job
6. My energy increased, the more I moved the more energized I felt
7. My RA Symptoms (in combination with diet changes) improved
8. I now walk 5miles per day that I otherwise could not find the time to do
9. Improved my Motor Skills (who knew my coordination was so off)

I chose a manual treadmill that was very low cost to pair with my TrekDesk, using a manual treadmill gave me more control and confidence that I wouldn't fly off the back and I believe it was a great choice.

I am now on a campaign to get one at our Corporate Office for staff to experience for themselves.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 8, 2015
This desk has been amazing, starting with the easy assembly. I love that it's adjustable; one of my concerns as a tall person was getting a desk that would be uncomfortable to use because the height wasn't quite right. The work surface is huge, so I always have room to spread out my projects and even have a laptop open off to the side, in addition to my desktop computer. It's also nice and steady - even when I bump into it while walking, it doesn't budge. I walk while I work on average 3-4 hours per day, and have no trouble typing; on occasion I'll pause my treadmill, but I still prefer to stay put and work standing up. I've lost quite a bit of weight too, and love that using this desk allows me to combine work time with workout time, leaving me more time in the day to spend with my family. Best of all, I was chasing my toddler around a few weeks ago and noticed that I could keep going and going without getting winded like I used to, and I know I owe it to my time using the treadmill desk!
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 29, 2013
My Work needs: I must work at the computer 8 hours or more a day. My health needs: I have fibromyalgia, had a hip replacement 6 months ago and arthritis in both knees. These 2 needs do NOT go together and I am always behind in one of them. I shopped around and this product was the only one priced in a range where if it didn't work for me-- it was OK. Also I already had a treadmill that was not getting much use. I got the TrekDesk in about a week. It came in a very large box. I de-boxed it no problem and put it all together myself with no help at all.... leisurely and slowly, a few hours. I even moved it to the treadmill and made the adjustments all alone. I do have my own drill and I am handy with tools. But I think anyone with basic tool knowledge who can follow the pictures can do it just fine. The first day I got it, I put 1.5 miles on it and every day after that. I really can work on complex legal documents, email and use the phone. I'm building up to more time. 1 MPH is comfortable. I can work at home some days so it's great for those days. I'm so glad I did not let the negative feedback influence me. It is STURDY, just the right weight. I'm 5'6" and use the #4 height slot for my Nordic Track treadmill. I cannot fathom anyone regretting this purchase. Tip: DO use the drink cup. I put my water on the top and right away I hit it with my hand (I've done that even without a treadmill). It aint' the prettiest thing you've seen but it has fabulous bone structure and a great personality. I really like the paper stand accessory that comes with it. I would make the metal paper tray accessory optional. It's very heavy and I don't think many people would use it. I suggest a book holder accessory instead with a flexible arm.
9 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 12, 2013
I debated long and hard before submitting my purchase because of the hand full of reviews that claim this product is horizontally unstable. My husband finally made this purchase for me because he was tired of my inability to make a decision. I just could not bear the thought of disassembling this and packing it back up to return it if it was in fact unstable. I AM HAPPY TO SAY THAT THESE CLAIMS ARE TOTALLY FALSE. I have to assume that those that have had problems with stability have not assembled the TrekDesk correctly. I have been working from home for 9 years now and I was becoming so weary of sitting all day. I'm happy to say that I love my TrekDesk, I love walking through my work day, and my TrekDesk desktop is totally stable. I actually got up on it to change I light bulb, which basically makes me an idiot but nevertheless it held just fine. :) I love the accessories, the quality of the product and I do find that I am more alert and focused while I am walking/working. Since I do in fact type, it took me a couple of weeks to get used to keying while walking. The ONLY thing that I find less than ideal, is the size of the TrekDesk. It's a little bigger than is necessary. I think the work surfaces to the right and left are larger than they need to be which translates to it taking up more space than I would like. Other than that, I love my TrekDesk and I love that I am moving.
14 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on September 29, 2013
This will come flat packed, the desktop is in 2 pieces and requires a drill driver to attach the braces. Literally over 70 screws required to put together. I like the desk though I find it has a few weaknesses. 1, I'm 5'6.5" and I had to use it at the shortest possible height with my Treaddesk treadmill. 2, When I walk and type and mouse, my hands transfer a tiny bit of weight to the desk which then shakes my monitor. I ended up trading monitors with my husband and it's base transfers less bounce but it still happens. 3. The surface and legs basically remind me of a portable banquet table you'd pick up at Costco. I realize there is a cost to create a specialty item like this but it seems very expensive for an extruded plastic table top with folding metal legs. I do find the copy holder/paper sorter and cup holders to be nice bonus items. All this said, adjustable height standing desks are insanely priced and the diy things people suggest from ikea don't work because they don't wrap around. You'll find your back aching if you don't have a wrap around and you are constantly reaching forward for your mouse. I wish they would include some kind of lock stop or foam inserts to tighten up the legs so they didn't transfer every tiny hand motion. I wish it were more solid.
4 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on February 3, 2015
I have had this desk for a few months now and I LOVE IT! My office is situated so I have my trek desk and my normal desk - but I actually never use my normal desk anymore. My husband has a different model treadmill desk but even he prefers mine. I spread out when I work and I absolutely love the size and shape of the trek desk. If I don't want to walk for whatever reason it just becomes a standing desk. I have been walking between 5 - 10 miles daily and feel a million times better. I was starting to suffer from backaches etc sitting all day (I'm a writer so I am at my desk for hours). Several friends come over and insist on trying my desk - people think it'll be hard to walk and type at the same time - but it's not! It feels so natural and getting that left/right brain action going only helps, in my opinion. I truly believe treadmill desks are the best invention and want to get one for each of my kids too - start 'em all right while they're young.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 74 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here