Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 256 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 271 reviews
on February 8, 2013
A light duty pick set is not only incredibly useful, but its instructive to read through the reviews to see how others are applying them. I've fished wire out of a harness, found bolt holes covered by dynaliner and also combined a pick with a screwdrive to guide an inside snap-ring out of a transmission part. I had previously broken three sets of Stanley's doing next to nothing and I'm so glad to find the Sheffield working perfectly in the advertised application.

Update April 2016: Three years later, still working perfectly, no breakage.
review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
I used to maintain 2-way radio and Microwave Systems for AT&T before I retired and as such, I have a lot of experience of laying on my back, sticking my fingers into bundles of wire hidden inside of dark rack-bound or cabinet-encased wire bundles. Now I just sit at home and lay on my back trying to maintain my Ham Radio bench which has some serious hidden wire bundles. Some things never change.

These picks are of fine quality and absolutely required when working with bundles of fine wire while attempting to isolate that one particular wire that is giving you fits. They work very well. You do have to remember that the picks are metallic, not insulated and one should at least be aware that vigorous activity with the picks could pierce a wire's insulation or short an exposed a wire. It would be best to de-activate the system before use of the picks/hooks.

I'm glad I purchased these tools and could have really put them to use when I was working with commercial radio systems.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
When I was having my new louvers installed, I noticed one of the workers using a tool with a hook to pull the spring clip on the window screens on to the posts in the window frame - I asked him where I could get one and he said I could find a set at any hardware store - so I went to Amazon and found this - I am so glad that I had it on hand when my handyman came to caulk and paint the window frames after the louver installation as we had to take all the window screens off and replace them - he even asked me where I had gotten it because he wanted to get a set for his wife - and HE was glad that I had this when he returned to finish up the job - he told me he had cut his finger on the spring clip the previous time and decided to let me re-fasten the spring clips with my handy hook - these are made in China but seem to be made well - please keep in mind that these hooks and picks are the "mini" size - they are just right for me but if you have large hands/fingers, you might prefer getting the regular size set (I did see a set with four mini and four regular size hooks and picks)

On the product card, it says that it is "Ideal for separating wires" and "Removes small fuses and "O"-rings -
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I don't have much to complain about. I've been using a set of wood handled picks for the longest time, and I swear the short, square handles were made for children.

These rounded, textured, hard rubber grips are worlds better than my old wood ones. In fact, they're so good, they encourage more aggressive tugging, scraping, pulling, and picking. But nothing yet that's caused me to dull, snap, or bend a point.

They come packaged in what possibly be used for a storage case, were it not such an annoyance to open (it's very much reusable). I'm quite sure they'll end up finding a home rolling around in a tool drawer, instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
I really liked these ones, they are handy and small, so won't take too much space from your tool box. The materials on the other hand are kinda flimsy, I'm not using them for heavy stuff and that's why I give them 4 stars. The construction and materials could use some love from the manufacturer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
I never had the opportunity to use this hook and pick set. Before opening the package, I could clearly see that three of the four tools are useless. The photos are provided as a visual aid.

I understand the strategy of increasing profit by reducing QC; however, this is unacceptable. It's obvious that this is not shipping or handling damage since the new package has never been opened. Fault clearly lies upon the manufacturer (insert China quip here).

As per instructions given on the package, I will be promptly returning these tools for a refund.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2014
These are very handy tools. I have used them for everything from fishing out a dead mouse + mousetrap out of my cinder block foundation (long story), to delicate work on my car's interior, to random stuff around the house. I really think every home mechanic or homeowner should have a set of these. I originally bought them to help with my car stereo install, but they have been irreplaceable for other tasks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
Every once in a while I buy myself a few little extras & this was one of those items. I thought they'd come in handy once in a while but I've only had them a few days & have probably used them darn near a dozen times already.

For the value they cannot be beat & I've already yanked on one of these pretty well. Handles are comfortable & secure. Like mentioned in another review, they are stout enough not to bend or feel flimsy while using them yet they are small enough to use in tight spots.

I should have bought these years ago...very happy to have them now. Definitely a must have tool.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
These pick & hook sets are useful for a host of tasks in / around the house. We have used the picks and hooks to fish for cables which disappeared behind drywall, to work on landscaping power tools (mower, chainsaw, etc.), the car engine and dashboard, on arts and crafts projects, etc. The possible uses are frankly exceptionally diverse. While I find the price / quality ratio certainly acceptable ($10.29 – 01.14.2014), one should not have the expectation that the fine endpoints of the hooks and picks will endure tasks requiring significant force. Let’s be reasonable in our expectations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2016
My intended use was to utilize these picks to help remove the 'core' of a bolt i had broken during a car repair. I had drilled the center of the broken bolt out and also used a Dremel tool for some additional delicate work to make it as thin as possible.

Although the metal bolt sleeve was very thin (I [Bozo] even ground into the threads of the hole in several places) the 3 curved picks in the set broke, against very little force during the first 15 seconds of use. I knew I did not need to worry about ruining these after this first attempt so I decided to use a hammer with the straight pick. It bent like a piece of cooked spaghetti! The cheap plastic handles are not durable or comfortable, but that is not really an issue; you will not be using these very long before they completely fail on you. I ended up using a tiny Craftsman flat head screwdriver to 'pick' the sleeve out. Most of it curled up and came out like aluminum foil, but the tools in this set were worthless against this thin material.

If I had been able to see these in person, I would have recognized the lack of quality and not purchased them; but we do not have that option buying things on Amazon. So please, trust me on this . . . I like almost everything I've ever bought from Amazon, but these are worthless. Save your money, find another option on Amazon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here