Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Campus CEO
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
17
5 star
88%
4 star
12%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Kindle Edition|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 1, 2007
It's been 13 years since I graduated college - so I'm definitely past the typical "Campus CEO" age - still, Dr. Pinkett's book taught me so much. I've had a small, side business in addition to my full-time job for almost a decade, however I've never really taken the time to write a full business plan, research how to obtain investors or other funding, hire other employees, etc.

"Campus CEO" has taught me about all of those things, and more.

One of the greatest things about "Campus CEO" is its user-friendly approach and candid, conversational tone. I bought an extra copy to share with my children and recommend others do the same. Dr. Pinkett's book is inspiring and a must-read for anyone - not just those on campus - interested in learning more about starting a business.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2007
As an entrepreneur and teacher of entrepreneurship at the college level, I'm constantly on the lookout for quality materials for students. This book is exceptional. First, it's well written and easy to follow. Second, it's full of practical advice from someone who clearly has an intuitive understanding of the subject matter, as well as the experience of having done it himself. Finally, as noted by other reviewers, Dr. Pinkett's book is inspirational. Campus CEO is a winner and well worth the investment.

Steven K. Gold, M.D.
Author, Entrepreneur's Notebook: Practical Advice for Starting a New Business Venture
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2007
Rarely do you find a book that instructs and inspires at the same time; I found Campus CEO to be just that seminal work, framing cogent career paths for young people while modeling economic development, sustainable change and ultimately, community building for the change agents in our fast moving society. I highly recommend Campus CEO to all who wish to grow and who facilitate growth personally, professionally, academically, economically, amongst people and within communities. Kudos to Dr. Pinkett for providing both an engaging and enlightening read for students of entrepreneurship as well as a practical field guide for the pragmatic practitioners of social and economic change.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2007
I found this book to be a relatively fast and easy read. First and foremost, Pinkett does a great job of instilling entreprenurial confidence in his student readers. Beyond that, the author ties in his own past experiences well with each chapter. This real world dialog greatly aids in the books overall credibility. While the book does not provide all answers, it does not attempt to. Pinkett gives just enough information to get the reader's wheels turning. From there, the entrepreneur within is supposed to take over. While the contents of the book apply to all business enterprises, the author does a good job of really hammering home the unique opportunities young student entrepreneurs hold (particularly in the later chapters). For aspiring campus start-ups, I would recommend a combination of both Campus CEO and a more comprehensive entreprenurial MBA style of book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2007
This book is FABULOUS! I am just starting my first business and this book is full of suggestions and strategies on how to make your business a success. He speaks a lot about his own venture, which he started in college, and it got to be the multi-million dollar business it is today. I think the best part about the book is that he gives links and references on where you can put some of his suggestions into action, like finding a mentor, or applying for grants. Of course the book does give info specifcally for students, ie. expanding your business by leveraging one's professors. Overall, the book was great, highly recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2007
Dr. Pinkett book is truly inspiring. I found helpful & useful information on how to start and grow a business. He lays the fundamental out in a positive format. I must say after years of watching the Apprentice for the past 6 seasons, Randal was the most brilliant of all!!! There has been no one else who has come remotely close. I'm in the process of making it a must read for my teen-age sons!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2007
This book reads more like a cross between a guide and an inspiration story. Dr. Pickett, kudos to you. This book will inspire not only college students, but anyone with aspirations or thoughts of being an entrepreneur.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2009
This was a very easy read, and incredibly informative. There were lots of good sites to visit, and suggestions on where to get things for low or no cost. While the title looks like it would only be practicable for individuals who are interested in starting a business while in college, and indeed does talk about the things you need to be aware of on campuses, it also provides great information for anyone interested in starting a business.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2010
whether your in college or, high school, or already working this book is a must read for anybody thinking of starting their own business. It is very insightful and gives you a great breakdown of all the aspects of starting running and owning your own business. Randall nails it on the head with this on.!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
I haven't been a college student in years yet I can appreciate this book. Entrepreneurship needs to be promoted especially amongst people of color. This author is a good role model and a very good author. I suggest this book to ALL wannabe entrepreneurs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here