Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Color: Light Blue/Gray|Style: Trailer|Change
Price:$118.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,046 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,165 reviews
on September 26, 2016
We love this! Took it on two vacations & use weekly on trails at home. A bonus, when your 3 yr old gets tired from riding, you can strap him next to your 1 yr old & put his bike in the rear cargo area. '
review image review image review image
0Comment| 115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2011
Yes, "for the price". As with all my reviews, I want to qualify "what it is" vs. "what it isn't" so that potential buyers can put it in a frame of reference.

What it is:
Cheap, incredibly easy to assemble, solidly made. It'll last for a couple of years - enough for 2 or 3 kids to go on semi-regular bike rides. It's comfortable for one 3-year-old or two smaller kids.

What it's not:
Not made of heavy canvas or burlap, not going to last as a hand-me-down for three, five, ten families to use, not good for applications other than pavement, gravel or smooth packed earth. With the super-simplified hub assembly and plastic wheels, it's not likely to last you a million miles.

Impressions:
The wheels "snap in" to the hub assembly so there's no magic to this; there's no solid axle, no suspension, just two greased necks that slide in, 'lock in' to metal apertures, and that's it. The axle 'nub' is metal; but it's not going to have heavy wheel bearings. It assembles unbelievably easily, so while I am a fairly mechanically inclined person and work on my own cars, plumbing and HVAC, I was impressed how simple this would be for a non-mechanically-inclined person to assemble.

I've taken about half a dozen rides with my 3-year-old son seated in the center in the back. Every time I make a 2-mile loop around the lake in the near-by city park, I get two to four comments/compliments from joggers with kids in strollers, other bikers, etc. One guy on a bike paced me and said that the trailer looked great and asked all about it - where I got it, how much it cost, how well it works. It's not cheap junk, so you can put that out of your mind. For $80 it's a steal; I paid about $20 more and that was easily worth it.

However, the seating and sides are all plastic or polyester. Heavier kids will 'ride low' so if you go over rapid bumps or high roots, things you wouldn't really notice on a bike with 26" wheels, the kids could bump their bottoms. My son fits fine by himself, but when my daughter turns 1, it might be a bit of a squeeze to get a 1 year old and a 3 year old in there together. Realistically, I'm not sure I'd want to be dragging around something that's roomy for 2 kids anyway.

Finally, based on the mechanical construction, I would surmise that this one is good for occasional rides for 2-3 families with 2-3 kids. At most. That depends, too, on how big the kids are that you're carrying around, and how the trailer is stored (outside vs. in a garage). I guess that means, I wouldn't really expect to get any more than 1000 miles out of it, maybe double that if the rides are primarily with smaller kids, over smoother surfaces, and the trailer is stored in a garage.

Maybe I'm wrong. Who knows. My kids will probably retire before I actually accumulate 1,000 miles on my bike so... take it for what it's worth. Maybe this super-simplistic hub assembly will last longer than my old cars. :)
22 comments| 763 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
I'm a mother to 4. I put this together in less than 5 minutes with "help" from the younger 2. It took about 10 minutes to attach to my bike. Piece of cake.

While pulling this one of the wheels went off the curb. I almost panicked, but as soon as I noticed, it actually hopped back up the curb. I actually did it twice in a row. Oops! I stopped to check on things and the rim was scratched but that's it! Not bent, wheel didn't pop! I wouldn't recommend doing it on purpose, but it's still rolling beautifully.

With 80lbs total (my older 2) it takes a bit of effort to get up a hill, but at 5 and 7 years old they can ride they're own bikes while the 1 and 3 year old can have a nice ride. I'm not a strong biker, but I love this. You can still turn pretty tight.

It has some trunk space, so I threw the diaper bag in the back and did a few local errands. Saves stopping and starting the car. Buckles one or two kids. Will push you down a hill a bit, but because it has two wheels and a flexible arm attachment, it doesn't try to tip you over like the seat post pull behind bikes. (Kids don't help peddle like you might think, but they do lean to the side a lot;) I felt very safe with my kids in this. They loved it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
I was already on vacation when I unboxed this trailer to set it up for our first family bike ride. It was missing the coupler that it is supposed to come with so we had no way to attach it to our bike. I was so disappointed because I had no way to order a new one while I was on vacation. Pacific Cycle (the company that makes this) was closed when I tried to ask them for help but Amazon was amazing and came to the rescue. I went to a local bike shop, found the part, and had our bike and trailer ready to go within an hour and Amazon refunded me the cost of the part. The bike shop owner said that she keeps a lot of the couplers in stock from pacific cycle because many people come in to her shop with the same story- they didn't get the coupler in the box.

We liked the trailer a lot, so did our 17 month old daughter. We followed the same suggestion as other reviewers- we put a neck pillow behind her to straighen her back while she had the bike helmet on. The only other issue is that one of the back wheels is a little wobbly but I would order it again given the chance. It's a great price for something we will use every once in a while while on vacation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
So the product arrived as expected and appears to be of quality for the most part with one major flaw that has rendered this product useless to me. The wheels – I put the trailer together and took if for a short test drive. When I returned, I realized both tires had gone flat. I went to my local bike shop and purchased two new tubes and installed them – since then two additional tubes have blown on the left tire with extremely limited use (i.e. one test ride and one ride with my daughter). This leads me to believe there is a flaw with the cheap plastic rim that is causing the tubes to keep going flat….this is incredibly frustrating. I will be contacting the company to provide me replacement rims to see if that resolves the problem, but until then, I can’t recommend this product. At best, this has been incredibly frustrating. My daughter climbed into the trailer yesterday while it sat in the garage, but sadly, I couldn’t take her for a ride due to the flat tires.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
We love the trailer! it fits our 25lb child great, rolls easily, was easy to put together. It's not going to carry 400lb of rocks, but seems like 1-2 kids should be great.

BUT MAKE SURE YOU BUY THE CORRECT COUPLING IF PURCHASING AN EXTRA!!!

Apparently there is a new version, and after some date, the coupling mechanism is different. Make sure to purchase this one

New InStep & Schwinn Bicycle Bike Trailer Coupler Angled Elbow (SA075)

or you will be out of luck (like me). This is the new version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2015
First problem: the provided bike couple requires a large flat surface where it connects to the bike. It took some improvising to make it sorta work on my Scott mountain bike. It would be helpful if InStep would provide adapter kits for their trailers instead of saying their product fits all bikes. Lame.

2nd problem: I loaded my two little girls(2 and 4) into the trailer and took them on a 10 minute ride and while sitting in my driveway after the short test ride, the right tire popped! How does that even happen? I inflated to the recommended 35 psi and did everything the instructions said. Fail.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
So much better than a child's seat on the back of the bike! If the floor was of a sturdier material (it's basically made of the same material as the sides & top), I would have given it 5 stars! Also love the fact that it seats 2 so it can accommodate a growing family! It also folds up for easy storage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
I have two kids and they enjoy riding in this trailer. We got it since it is meant for two kids and it was cheaper than the single child trailer. Note that this can also be converted to a single child trailer, so you could save some money and buy this one instead of the single child one. It is bigger than the single child one though.

Putting it together was simple and it came with one coupler to attach it to my bike. The instructions are clear and the include instructions for bikes with quick release wheels.

I do wish that ti was easier to adjust the sizes of the safety harnesses though. This way when the kids fight about which side they want to sit on it would be easy to change their position. Also wish there was a more supportive headrest as when the fell asleep their heads bob down.

I would recommend this product to a friend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2016
Tire popped during first ride. I was careful to inflate to specifications so I see no reason why it no longer holds air. Just spent 10 minutes on hold with no answer. Emailing their customer service now for new tire. The trailer itself handled fine during first ride. It just fits on a standard sidewalk. Can be bumpy so take bumps slow.

*update* Customer service response was good via email. Don't call. They mailed a new tire right away by overnight mail. When I pulled the old tire off, the inner tube was split a good inch or more. I suspect it happened when I first pumped it up and perhaps it was not aligned right? They should ship them with some air to avoid this. Even 5 psi would be sufficient and there would be no danger on an non-pressurized flight of over-expansion due to shipping.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 301 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here