Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99



on February 12, 2014
The subject tells all I wanna say.

At the 1st few times using it, I'd worry if the strap or bearing would fail. After more than 2 years using it, I can tell you it is incredibly robust.

The heaviest gear I'd carry on this strap is Canon 5DII, 70-200mm f2.8L IS II, 580EXII with various Lumiquest gels, Big Bounce. I run around happily for a full day, though I'm tiny in body build.

Deducting 1 star due to:
1. The strap is too long for my size, I have rolled a lot of it inside the shoulder pad, making the shoulder pad very thick.
2. The should pad often slide out of position, to my back or near my butt. Not a big problem, just not looking elegant.
3. At the spot of the strap that the bearing and weight usually hang around, there're one or two tiny steel wire poking out. Kind of sharp, but I've never gotten hurt so far. Just need to keep aware of.

My other serious promateur friends saw me on this strap, changing from their Black Rapid to this one due to the steel wire giving peace of mind protecting his gears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2010
Quick assess to my camera is as advertised. Carrying the camera upside down and low has proven to put the camera at no more risk than any other carrying position I have tried. In fact , I would contend it is at less risk since unlike the traditional strap I never need to remove the Sun Sniper from my neck or shoulder to take a picture so the chance of dropping the camera when doing so is eliminated. I have used the strap to comfortably carry lenses as big and heavy as the Sigma 120-400 on a D-SLR that also mounted a battery drive. When walking, you will want to keep a hand lightly on the camera to keep it from moving around, but it is easy to adjust the strap to a length that makes resting a hand on it comfortable and ready to bring the camera up for a shot.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2013
This strap is a huge improvement over every other strap I've ever owned. And I bought this model for the steel cable that runs through it, as I do a lot of international travel, and I felt the added security was worth it.

However, it's not perfect.

My biggest complaint is that, unlike some competing models and brands, there is no "stop" at the base of the strap, where the camera rests. This means the shoulder pad is constantly slipping off my shoulder. (A stop would cause the weight of the camera to center the strap back on your shoulder where it belongs).

Second, the placement of the elastic "shock absorber" portion is a bit awkward. I would have preferred that it was placed under the shoulder pad area, so as to be invisible. Not a big deal, though.

Lastly, the shoulder pad, while comfortable enough, looks a bit awkward, thanks to the placement of the strap adjustment. It forms a sort of an upside down 'V' over your shoulder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 14, 2011
California Sun Sniper Steel-Steel Reinforced Padded Camera Sniper (Black) I love it! Used for the first time on an extensive, activity packed tour of Turkey, involving both urban, countryside and sailing activities. The steel reinforcement gave me security. The adjustment straps allowed me to hold the camera off my fanny where it was out of the way when moving through crowds, or not swinging wildly while trekking. It was easy to pull the camera up quickly and upright for picture taking. I was able to fire away at photo ops that presented themselves quickly. When passing through security screening at the airport, a German officer made me pull the camera (and strap) out of my bacpack. He checked the camera and the belt, smiled, and told me he loves his. "The best camera strap I have ever owned." he stated. I concur.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2012
It is a very comfortable strap. Of course, the strap can't save you from yourself. If you carry the camera on your back, someone can still yank the camera off your head and knock you down. The gauge of wire in the strap is thin, but it is to stop the casual thief, not the crazy guy in the alley (been there... I pleasantly handed the camera to the big man with the bigger knife). It is more comfortable than the Pacsafe version, which is pure cord (although it is a thicker gauge. I have this also). The other Pacsafe strap connects to the eyelets of the camera by a cloth cord (stupid). Get it for what it is... a comfortable camera strap that will stop the lazy thief. If you want complete protection, stick to garden parties with Ricky Nelson and stay out of alleys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2011
Comfortable and well constructed with suitable materials used in the construction strap padding, shock-absorber, and webbing , however I found the provided lug and swivel connector for camera or lens attachment employs plastic retainer materials which is subject to possible failure requiring replacement with a a standard all-metal swivel snap lock and d-ring connector.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2011
This strap delivers!

I have been using an old strap I found in a shop many years ago because it was the only one I found that was small enough and long enough to satisfy me. I generally don't like wearing my cameras around my neck, it doesn't feel good and you look like a doof. However with my old strap I had to transition from across chest to over neck when starting to shoot and vice versa. This strap solved my issues!

Now I am 6'2" and I have a long torso. So any strap that doesn't extend past 50" is not going to work for me across the chest. This sun-sniper is nice and long and its not even at its longest adjustment! My D700 sits right by my hip and tucks behind my butt while walking perfectly. Awesome!

The strap itself is very comfortable, the shock absorber works as intended and the shoulder strap is well padded and although its a stiffer padding than I'd like... its better in the long run. The nylon strap looks and feels of quality, the carinbiner glides effortlessly on the strap. The steel wire that runs through the main strap does not make the strap stiffer and awkward to use like some other safe straps. It also adds a level of security not only from thieves but overall durability.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 19, 2011
I love this camera strap. It is functional and comfortable. I have not taken it off of my camera since I put it on weeks ago. I love the fact that it has steel inlayed in the strap. I felt perfectly safe walking around with it on my trip. I wore it while hiking in the rainforest. My camera never got in my way, I never felt the weight of it. I would definality recommend this strap.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 4, 2015
No matter what you pay you can Not get a better camera strap. I will not take a camera in the field on anything but a Sun Sniper strap!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 15, 2011
Love the strap- it is very comfortable and gives you very quick access to the camera. A steel bolt attaches to the spot for your tripod and the camera glides along the strap itself. No need to ever take off the next strap. Added bonus of having the connection at the bottom is allowing unobstructed access to all the camera buttons. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here