Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 89 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 101 reviews
on November 19, 2015
Thich Nhat Hanh has written so many books that it's difficult to believe that he can continue to produce fresh thoughts for readers on such a personal and meaningful level. Those new to Buddhism rarely think of prayer and Buddhism as synonymous, nor that it has a place in this philosophy or religion (this issue continues to be debated). Thay, as he is called, writes clearly and beautifully. He is inclusive of the whole of humanity and all that exists on our planet. Many tease about "touchy-feely" books, but this is not that. It is a thought-provoking introduction of the power of prayer from a Buddhist master and practitioner. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2012
I ran across this little treasure during a recent visit to my local Buddhist bookstore. Needless to say, I immediately began to read it and had a hard time putting it down. In my opinion, it is a well written summary of prayer, that can be applied and appreciated by every religious tradition or spiritual path. Thich Nhat Hanh hits the nail on the head every time he addresses an aspect of prayer that many people, even those with long spiritual tradition, may not be aware of. I not only much recommend this book as a "must" for spiritual literature -- no matter what religion or path one follows -- but also will use it with my students.

Ven. Fajian Shakya MelChiZedek, OHY, OLB
Lotus Zen Temple
Lincoln, Nebraska
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2017
I loved the book. Even if I have knowledge on prayers as per the Catholic and Buddhist practitioners I found the book inspiring and I learned something new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
A book I just return to from time to time when I need to re-focus my life. I like it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2017
Thich Nhat Hanh's perspectives on prayer and on the divine make total sense to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
Thich Nhat Hanh brings to prayer what he brought to Love in two of his most famous books. I have given this book numerous times as gifts to my friends and to those in need of support during difficult times. Dr. Solomon Katz's new book Beauty as a State of Being needs to be read with these to come to understand the underpinnings of meditation as a way towards "mastering Mind and the Spiritual Path" Solomon Katz's book is a new release and is A Deeper Currents Book with the ISBN number 098911127X.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
Sometimes reading an entirely different perspective on a topic we have explored and practiced for years is what is needed to finally make it REAL. The simplicity of Thich Nhat Hanh's words opened my heart and my hope!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Sensible, informative, but his writings speak to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Anything Thay writes is beautiful, meaningful and simple in its wisdom. I have bought 10 of his books and am slowly savouring each one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
This is a beautiful gift box set. I purchased the book alone several months ago and loved it. I have since lent my copy out several times and purchased this set for myself to keep at home. It is one of my favorite books. I love Thich Nhat Hanh's writing style.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here