Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on December 16, 2010
This is the 3rd camera I have bought from Sony. I use to work for Apple Retail as a manager when we sold different video cams and I can say that Sony leads in cameras and camcorders, Samsung leads in TV, Apple leads in phones, computers, and mp3. Sony did great on the optical zoom on this camera. You should ignore the digital zoom on any camera, look at the optical only. I gave this camera 4 stars only since it is 2010 and any camcorder should have at least at 5 or 6 megapixel still feature (this cam only has 3 which is ok). Since I strongly believe we are going away from dvd and blu-ray format toward a hard drive media hub format, I think this camera is the way to go. I personally bought the Western Digital Media Hub that comes with HDMI, network, rca, 1TB capabilities to backup my data and connect to my tv $200 plus a redundant backup of a cheap 2 TB WD Costco HD $100. It may seem like quite an investment but think of the mini DV tapes or SD cards if you choose a format different this a HD camera. You will spend well over $300 in the first year in tapes or cards and you won't have the great features that come with a media hub (no tapes or cards to mess with).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 5, 2017
I had a the same camera for years. Mine developed a problem, but I think it was my fault because i tried to run a 64GB disk. They are only rated for 32GB. I still had 5 batteries plus many other accessories so I wanted to get the same camera. I found this used one and it serves it's purpose plus I got it for less than I paid for a couple of my extra batteries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2016
Got this camera about a month ago. It works great I use it to make YouTube videos. Everything works just as expected

The good:
Camera works perfectly for being used. Even came with a bonus memory card.

The bad:
When received had to remove previous persons photos and videos from the camer. I guess that can happen when you buy used.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2010
Purchased this camera before our World Series trip to Orlando. Quickly picked up on all all the functions. The zoom is excellent and the anti-shake works very well as long as you are not fully zoomed in.

The best feature for me is the super slow motion setting - allowing me to video my team as they swing and throw at super slow motion. The video in this mode is crystal clear and I am able to see minor flaws in swings and in pitching.

I also ordered a wide angle lens for my recorder to use indoors at my daughter's volleyball games.

Downloads video easily.

The software that comes with it gives you minimal support. If you want to create anything fancy for your DVD or Blu-rays, you'll need to purchase better software.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 4, 2011
This camera shoots HD very well for a consumer camera. I use it for "Prosumer" tasks and it has given me absolutey no problems. Also, the Hard Drive size is very very convenient. And it is difficult to find this much hard disk with a lens this long. This has been one of my best purchases ever on Amazon.com.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2012
Great camcorder for the price. Large storage, and good quality lens. Will not run out of room on the HDD, even for HiDef movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2011
I bought this camera to take videos my grandchildren.Camera is so tiny and to use is so easy.Auto focus is very fast.120 gb hard disc memory is wonderful.We can take long videos.summary I prefer this camera to everybody.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 17, 2010
VERY NICE AND EASY TO HANDLE. THE TOUCH SCREEN IS A BIT TOO SMALL FOR MY OLD HANDS AND THE STILL PICTURES CAN OFTEN BE BLURY. OVERYALL, A GREAT CAMERA FOR THE PRICE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2011
I purchased this handycam for a recent trip to Egypt and I couldn't have asked for a better item to take. It was easy to operate even for those of us who are electronically challenged and I loved the still photo feature! So I didn't need to take a separate digital camera. The photos turned out beautiful I have gotten so many compliments on them. I would highly recommend this item!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse