Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Toshiba 26CV100U 26-Inch 720p LCD/DVD Combo TV (Black Gloss)
Your Garage Amazon Fashion Learn more Editors' Picks Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2010
I bought this LCD/DVD TV combo for my wife so she can watch her movies on DVD in the kitchen and she loves it. It's just the right size and weight to be moved around to suit her viewing needs. The speaker are very loud for this unit and I sometimes have to tell her to turn it down a bit. The picture quality is good but not as good as my Sony Bravia unit. The colors don't seems as rich to me but my wife said she doesn't notice any difference. So given that, I gave it 5 stars. I don't know about the longevity of Toshiba. I have mostly own Sony TVs. If there are any issues, I will keep you posted. BTW, there were NO dead pixels too which is great. Given the price, it's a good bargain.
77 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2010
720p is good enough for me. Note: 1080i cable comes in as 480i on this TV.
Super convenient DVD player on the side works well. Remote works well. I have digital cable and with this tv I experience a slight delay when changing channels - no more than about 1 second on the regular channels, 1-2 seconds on the HD channels. Takes about 9 seconds to power on.
Overall a good TV for the price. I got mine on sale for $299.99 at Frys
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2010
I needed a new television after our 14-year old, 26" Magnavox CRT died (it had a wobbly picture the last two years), and I liked the price of this Toshiba.
It was a cinch to set up. It's very light compared to the huge CRT TV and easily fit in my existing TV stand.

Every house should have this TV. Clear picture and sound, sleek design, sturdy stand, Energy Star rated and when it's turned off, it uses zero vampire power.

Coolest features:
-Closed captioning when in mute mode
-press mute once, it changes the sound by half; a second press moves the volume to zero
-a red indicator light tells you when it's off; a green light when the TV is on
-You can adjust the screen size. Now I can actually see the score when I watch Yankee games!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2010
I have been a Toshiba owner for years. I have found that they make really good television sets. I currently have 3 to include this model. I purchased this because I wanted a larger screen to replace the 19inch Toshiba all-in-one that I have owned for 2+years. I have a substantial dvd collection and this television is not just for my use but also is in my home office/guest bedroom. It is a breeze to setup. Take it out of the box and screw on the the base; plug in and scan for channels. That is it. The screen quality is great but not superb. I have it connected to basic digital line and not hdtv-which I imagine will make all the difference in the world. It is not heavy to pickup or move around either. DVD quality is better than the picture quality. The television is fairly thin for an all-in-one which I really love.

Few Cons:
It only comes in black. My 19inch was white which matched the decor perfectly. I would have even settled for silver. Not sure why there are so few available options in sets other than black or silver. There are a number of manufacturers who sell silver but from a personal quality point of view, I prefer Toshiba (or Samsung).
The stand does not rotate. In other words, if you want to move it around, you have to physically pick it up and move it. I solved that problem by buying this base from Amazon: Sanus Systems TV-LCDB Swivel Base for 13" to 30" LCD Displays. Take the base out of the box; set your television on it and move it with ease. Great base; works well with the color and not expensive.
This may sound petty to many; however, the 19inch had a remote that lit up in the dark and a finder on the television when you misplaced it. Not sure about you, but I have misplaced the remote a few times, and awaken in the middle of the nite to watch a little Sports Center.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2010
Great TV for kid's bedroom. This is second of this model that we have purchased and enjoy
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2011
I was looking for a smaller LCD TV to put in my computer room. My previous one, old and decrepit, was a 19 inch. I narrowed my choices down to 26 inch ones due to price since I also needed a DVD player and it only made sense to get a TV with a built in DVD player and not deal with cords and multiple remotes. Toshiba won out on the basis of reviews... it sounded like it was just what I wanted.
The TV arrived today. I had already put up a mount and run the coax cable to it. I was extremely pleased to find that the entire process of attaching the TV to the mounting bracket took less than 15 minutes, and most of that was spent trying to find the screwdriver!!! I did it alone and had no problems with lifting the TV or getting the screws in the right places.
Setup of the TV was a breeze. I canceled the chanel find since I have satellite, and the rest of the menu popped up and was very user friendly.
The picture is PERFECT with no adjustments needed except for the aspect ratio, which is personal preference, and best of all, sound is wonderful...way, way better than I had expected. My room is approximately 14' by 14' and this TV is a perfect size and the sound is just right at half volume for the room. It was very bright this afternoon in the room where I put the TV and the picture was great... I sort of expected it to be too dark when night came, but it is still perfect! Crisp and sharp with GREAT blacks!! This TV is 720p while my main TV is 1080p, but with this smaller size and great contrast and sharpness I don't even notice the smaller amount of pixels.
I also really like the half mute feature. I had never seen that before on a TV and it is GREAT for a phone call or sudden visitor. I have used it several times already.
I have not used the DVD player yet, but I expect it to be a breeze as well. The remote is extremely user friendly, and I haven't even had to open the instruction manual which came with the tv. I did glance thru it and it seems extremely well written and complete, unlike the one that came with my last LCD TV purchase.
I may miss a slot for an SD card, but with the USB slot, it will be easy enough to put photos on that instead of a card, as I do like being able to use my TV for a photo show when I have guests. With my set up, mounted on the wall in a corner, I might have had an issue with using the DVD and/or other hookups on the side, but, fortunately for me, they are on the left side of the TV and not the right side which is against the side wall. Something I never thought of when purchasing the TV. Controls and hookups on both my living room LCD TV and the old flat screen I replaced were on the right side which would have been difficult in this room corner. I'm lucky, I guess??
If you are hesitant, buy this TV!!! It is perfect for a medium sized room or a bedroom and looks and sounds GREAT!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2011
I had a 15 inch Toshiba before I purchased this TV and while it was a reliable, good quality little TV, I got tired of squinting. I have a relatively small bedroom and a 32" would have be okay, but too big for me. 26" is the PERFECT screen size. The built-in DVD player is super convenient, the picture is clear and bright, excellent for gaming, Blu-Ray compatible (just tried this out last night!), and the sound is great. Most of the time I have the volume set anywhere between 10 and 15. I know with a lot of TVs you have to crank the volume all the way up to get any sound out of it; not the case with this one! If you are looking for a great TV for your bedroom, look no further.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2011
I got this TV for the dining room. It's a great size, is loaded with features and has a nice picture.

However, the first DVD I put in it suddendly stopped playing and wouldn't eject. I tried both the remote and the button on the side of the tv, and it flashed "NOT AVAILABLE" on the screen. I got it out by using the same trick I used to get a disc out of my Macbook pro - turn the power off. Next hold the eject botton on the side of the TV, and turn the power on while still holding the eject button - keep holding it until it ejects. Since then, it has worked fine. I could find no help in the manual whatsoever about how to get a stuck dvd out. It's not even covered in the troubleshooting section. I couldn't find anything on Google either. Since then, the DVD player seems to be working fine.

The only other minor complaint I have is that the base stand is really big - too big. It's about 21" across, larger than the one for my 32" LCD. This is annoying because it is bigger than the cable box the TV sits on top of which looks bad and makes it wobbly. So I'll have to build a shelf to cover the box that's big enough for the footprint of the TV.

Other than that, it's a good TV.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2010
Perfect for the office. It's in-close viewing, so maybe it'd be only so good for a small office or bedroom. Audio is great, and Roku comes thru loud and clear.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2011
I bought this TV for a grandchild based on research on Consumer Reports plus their customer reviews. The item arrived on time and in excellent condition. The packaging was appropriate for shipping. Installation was straight forward and required little skill and the directions were clear. The TV worked perfectly from the time it was turned on and required no adjustments. I mounted it on the wall and its only problem is the dvd player is high on the side of the TV and when mounted at a good viewing height the player is hard for a 9 year old to reach. However a small stool solves the problem.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here