Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 71 reviews
on January 27, 2017
As a comprehensive and well thought out view of Druidry, I recommend this book. It gives a view of Druidry based on the AODA (Ancient Order of Druids in America) system of which Greer is the leader. While this book provides all the information a person needs to start on the path of Druidry, I would recommend also reading one of the fine books by Philip Carr-Gomm or Emma Restall-Orr to see a slightly different perspective.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
Excellent book, clearly written. It provides concrete information about druidry history, current practice, symbolism, and the ogham, Throughout the history section, I felt like the author offered a discerning, academically-sound analysis of what we know instead of taking the classic everything-you-ever-heard-is-true approach. Enough detail was provided about the three rays of light, three circles of manifestation, and three elements of nature that you can actually DO something with the knowledge, instead of needing to pay someone else for more information. A book worthy of my time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
Greer lays out the basics of modern druidry, including detailed background on the druid path, as well as providing guidelines and practice for individuals to follow to being their path as a druid. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in Celtic-based neo-paganism.

Personally, I lean more towards the Heathen path, but that doesn't mean there weren't some good tidbits for me to pick up from this book. Greer describes in detail some great meditation and breathing techniques, as well as techniques designed to pull positive energy in and keep negative energy out.

Not that I have anything against Wicca, out of the pagan books that are commonly recommended, it tends to dominate. It's always good to find information about alternative neo-pagan paths. The only reason I didn't rate this book higher is because, as I said before, I think my path heads more to German neo-paganism, rather than Druidry/Celtic neo-paganism.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
This book is well worth the buy. Unlike so many other authors, john makes sure to explain that this is modern druidry, not ancient druidry. He doesnt try to pass off anything as ancient knowledge and even explains that some of the main texts of modern druidry is questionable when you consider whether its ancient or not. He gets you to understand that this is not important. druidry is a way of life, not a religion or a set of dogmas set in stone. Feel welcome no matter what your religion, its about reverance for the earth,land and changing the way you approach modern societies wasteful ways that everyone just accepts as "The way to be". This is by no means an ecofreak book though. It offers ways to change but doesnt act snoody or self rightous.This book is full of mystiscm aswell. It has several elemental charts, including the druid elementals, in depth ritual instructions and wheel of the year info aswell. It lays down the basics of druidism and at the end of the chapters it has a list of suggested reading. On top of this it has a section on the Ogham alphabet, instructs you on the divinitory meaning and such.
It also covers meditation. Color breathing, thats all Im gonna say, you need to read the rest lol.
It lays down the paths, earth path, sunpath, moon path. And it gives you the 1st degree corriculum, so bassically you can get started right away on your path to druidism. btw i am a follower of the witch path and this is a great way to suppliment that or any religious path.
I would reccomend this book to all who are on spiritual paths in life.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
Brilliant. An easy enough read to be of real help to the novice practitioner but with multiple layers unfolding with each reading and with continuing practice of the druidry path. Its beauty is in its simplicity and straightforwardness while not only allowing but actually promoting the customization of its teaching and rituals in ways that mesh with your own beliefs, experience, and path of choice. Well done, Mr Greer!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
This is an extremely practical book with exercises as simple as spending 10 minutes outside aware of your surrounding or picking an object and studying it for 5 minutes. When I ordered this I was curious what Druidry was and this book explains it very well. Common beliefs they used to hold as we'll as the historical progression of modern Druidry. This makes for an easy read and has many practical exercises that will bring you closer to the earth. I've barely started and I'm already starting to see the earth as a much more beautiful place.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
I bought this book not to become a Druid candidate, but to learn a little about the elements of what appeared to be a self-empowering nature-centered spirituality. In this respect, the book fulfilled all my expectations.

The book addresses three major topics: The history of the Druid Revival, Druid philosophy and symbolism, and Druid practice. Each topic was covered in enough depth to be able to get a good idea of the basic principles involved, along with many of their interconnections. Yet it was not so advanced that the ideas were hard to grasp or required a lot of previous study and reflection.

John Michael Greer is an excellent writer. He writes clearly and concisely. His structure flows easily and logically, and it is certainly clear that his knowledge of the subject is both deep and wide.

I came away with a better idea of the elements necessary for a psychologically healthy spirituality. Being natured-centered, Druid philosophy is systems based. Study, meditation, reflection and ritual form another part of the spiritual tradition. Finally, active participation is required in order that we live in alignment with our values.

We would all do well to live by these principles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
I bought this to see if AODA was right for me as It is a sister organization to OBDD. This book is used as their introduction lessons. There is lots of good information in the book and it is designed to carry you through the first year of training. It gives you a list of other reading material that you should read along with meditations and rutual. If you are interested in AODA this will be your first year of lessons.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Informative but less of a handbook and more of a history with brief sections of practice. If you don't know anything about Druid practice and the spirituality it's self it would be a good starting point.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
I'm new into druidry & found John Michael's book great for finding a place to start. He explains everything so clearly without a lot of talking in circles. His examples are easy to understand & he also explains the reason behind something instead of telling you to just do it. I've read many of this authors' books & find that as far as earth based spirituality, he is easy to understand because he also puts in reasoning with spirituality & he encourages you to read other authors for broader understanding. He gives many references a person can search out. Each one of his books has something new in it that wasn't in another of his books. So I encourage you to read more than one book from this author. He knows the subject he talks about deeply because he lives this. Watch some of his youtube videos as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here