Industrial Deals HPC Design the future with O'Reilly Media Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

  • Customer reviews



on April 10, 2015
A wonderful all around "walking" lens! I have this mounted on my Samsung NX300.

Pros:
Very sharp pictures
f2 aperture: Beautiful bokeh
Fairly fast auto focus
Compact profile with the camera. Very easy to slip in and out of a large pocket or bag, on the fly.
Wonderful to do street photography and even some portrait photography.

Cons:
Auto focus is fairly fast, but can be confused/slow at times.

It is a pleasure to shoot with this lens and the NX300.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2013
Just an incredible lens. I keep it on an NX100 permanently. I keep the pair within arms reach. Read the DXOmark data about it if you don't trust real world feedback. This from a guy with an 85f1.2MK2 mounted on a 5DMK2. There is, of course, no substitute for the Canon gear but I can't afford to risk the Crystal Ball in all the situations I can wisk the Sammy in to. Yes, I have an EOS M with the 22f2 as well but the 30mm on the 1.6 cropped sensor is 48mm which is as close to a 50mm on a full frame as you can get and it's sharper than the f1.8 Nifty Fifty. NX100's are cheap and you can mount a veiwfinder on them when a viewscreen is washed out. If capturing a moment is important and you can't bring your big guns to bear this little jewel will bail you out.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2016
It's a compact, bright, sharp lens; but I had to send mine back after 3 weeks because both manual and auto focus suddenly stopped working. No focusing at all! I updated the camera's firmware as suggested by the manufacturer, but that didn't help. I'd like to think I just got a bad sample...but the lens is so extremely lightweight that I'm skeptical of its durability. I didn't re-order--in part because when I compared images taken with this lens to those taken with the 20-50mm kit lens that came with my Samsung NX3000, it was hard to see any difference in sharpness. The kit lens was also very good. The main advantage of the 30mm lens appeared to be its wider aperature for better low-light performance. But the 20-50mm lens also did well in low light, up to at least ISO 1600.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2013
Pros:
Fast focus
Nice bokeh
Crisp and clear picture quality
Small

Cons:
Sometimes hit and miss focusing
Not completely silent focusing motor
Because of the way the NX300 mount is; the pancake lens sticks out a little more than usual
Lack of iFn

This is a fun and great lens to use. The pictures are clear and the bokeh are smooth compared to the kit lens. There is almost no noise when focusing with the 18-55 mm lens and with lens there is a noticeable but not annoying noise when focusing. It is way quieter than the 20-50 mm kits lens. Focusing was quick very and accurate most of the time. There were a few times in low light and low contrast areas where the camera missed the focus entirely. Turning on the AF assist lamp will help help fix the problem. There is no image OIS, but since the lens is quick and has a large aperture, using a faster shutter speed will solve the issue. iFn is not available but since this is a simple prime lens it is not needed. It is a great overall lens and every NX camera owner should get one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2016
I purchased the white 30mm lens to go along with the kit 18-55 lens. As you might expect the pictures are sharper with this lens when compared to a kit lens. This lens is very compact and can actually fit inside of the holster-style camera bag while the kit lens is attached to my NX300. This lens really outperforms the 18-55mm lens when it comes to low light situations thanks to the wider aperture. Over the past several months I have found my self using this lens over the 18-55mm simply becuase it is smaller and lighter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2014
Prior to this lens, my only experience with prime lenses was with an old Pentax DSLR I had. Compartively speaking, this lens exceeded all of my expectations. In fact, I havent use the kit lens I received with my nx300 since i bought this. Its incredibly sharp and has fast autofocus (compared to some other NX lenses I've used). Most importantly, though, is the fact that nearly every pic I take with it looks great. If you have an NX camera - this is a must own.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 16, 2013
Very good lens
This lens is very sharp for video the only complaint i have is the auto focus is a little slow.
I use this lens mostly for Photos and it does not disappoint.
The quality of images in raw and jpeg are excellent.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 12, 2017
Amazing lense. Takes the most beautiful pictures. The F2.0 makes all the difference in quality of pics. Plus it's super small and with my nx 300 camera. Can put it my jacket pocket with the lense on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2016
Razor sharp images from edge to edge, very small and easy to carry. 4 stars instead of 5 because it is a little slow to focus and the focus tends to hunt a little. You expect it to be great in low light because it's a fast lens, but the focus system can't keep up so you end up manually focusing in low light anyway. The good news is that on the NX500 camera, and certainly the NX1, and maybe others, manual focus is very fast and easy when you turn on focus peaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 25, 2016
I was hoping for something that would be an all purpose but, for me, 30mm isn't far enough away when I'm just taking regular day-to-day shots. I find that I need to step back quite a bit to get what I want. I'm looking for something that would do scenery landscapes, skylines, etc. Any ideas? The first photo is taken with the 30mm, the 2nd photo is with a 18mm-200mm at 40mm. Not much difference, but I like the versatility of an adjustable lens 4612 4600
review image review image
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse