Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 149 reviews
on September 8, 2017
This is a poor quality printing done on some sort of Espresso Machine-ish book printer. The cover has an incredibly blurry picture [which I had thought from the Amazon preview was just the computer not rendering the image properly], there is not title/author information on the spine [I had to make my own spine label for it to be shelved in the library], other than the city and date printed there is no title page verso [which would contain more information], and finally NO page numbers.

Buy a legitimate edition of this book, and skip this printing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
This classic book has so many things to say about life that underlining passages is a necessity. This is a book worth re-reading. How much of the writer's life is madness and how much is truth is for the reader to judge.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2017
A classic I thought I would love but sort of have mixed feelings about it. Hard to describe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
Good product. Good Price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
Great writer, great writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2013
On a first glance, Notes From the Underground seems to be a short/small book, but even after reading a few pages, I was already blown away by its greatness!

Incredibly modern for its time: I could see how inspiring this book might have been to Kafka and to many important existentialist thinkers of the 20th century, such as Sartre and Camus.

I especially loved the first part: Dostoyevsky knows how to penetrate deep into the human soul (even though I don't believe in souls) and, in words, describes the human condition. He opens the eyes of his readers to a world where its darkness can blind one's sight forever, and still...You keep reading, even if you can't keep reading. This is not an easy read and yet, you can't escape from temptation.

There are books that change you, maybe because of a particular character, or even just a single sentence. The books you'd never forget; books that make up your nostalgia; they are a piece of your youth; something unforgettable. And then...there are books that not only touch their readers, but they become part of history; an important milestone; they change every writer who comes after them and change the whole path of literature. The irony is that most of their writers had no clue about the importance of their work!

Notes From Underground, for sure, is one of these books. Dostoyevsky, for sure, is one of those writers.

I would definitely recommend this book to any literature-obsessed-mind!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
Excellent portrait of a person who desperately longs for recognition by his peers. Inferiority-complex and ressentiment are words we use to describe his condition. Try as he might, he only experiences humiliation.

Refusing to accept his role at the bottom of the social ladder he finds his own victims to vent his frustration upon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 13, 2016
A great classic read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
can be compelling reading. The Russians excel at paranoia and it's carried out to its logical ending here. You won't be comfortable reading this but you won't put it down, either. It couldn't have been easy to have a man gush forth such vitriolic hatred for so many thousands of words, but the author makes it work. Not a story to affirm your faith in human nature, not a happy ending, no romance, do reconciliation with his fellow man. Not for those who have an essentially rosy view of humanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2017
Classic. Speaks for itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here